We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very tasty”
Review of Nemrut

Nemrut
Ranked #32 of 646 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
“Very tasty”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I was first introduced to this restaurant when a distant relative visited. He tried it out and raved about it. He was right. Hearty, well cooked, proper kebabs. Yum.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shutyourcornflakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    76
    14
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top Turkish Tucker”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

The mezes were mouth-watering and our kebabs from the open grill smelled and tasted exquisite. The platter of baklava and cream was the perfect finale. The staff are warm, friendly and funny. I'll be going back as soon as possible!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Borodin_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Tasty Turkish cuisine with a welcoming atmosphere and excellent staff”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We were welcomed by staff and taken to our table; the service was quick for drinks though the small restaurant was full. There was a good selection of wine! We shared several dishes and each one was lovely. The main courses came with bread on the side and great rice and salads to go with the dishes. Watching the food cooked on the open barbecue was really great. Excellent vegetarian selection and REALLY tasty food. Each dish was very different to the others in flavour and the portions are quite large. The staff could not do enough for us and catered well for our large party of 12. Will be returning frequently.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Summerlover327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Unpretentious, no frills, but food makes it well worth second visit!”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Four of us visited last night for first time, as described looked like a kebab joint from outside and cheaper cafe inside, however food was excellent, well cooked and tasty. Rose wine at £12 also good, and together with 1 small beer, 4 starters, 4 mains and 3 coffees total only came to £86 which we all considered good value for money. Complimentary pre starters and fact that patron took trouble to come and introduce himself and inquire if we had enjoyed our meal was a nice touch as were vases of fresh daffodils on tables. Would definitely go again and recommend. Main courses were large and filling and we would miss out starters next time or share something smaller. Keep up the good work Nemrut!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jendean_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food!!!”
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Been going there for years and the food is really nice.
Staff are very friendly and the service is really good.

Only for the past year, they have reduced the portion size. It's still the same price but less food. Now you definitely have to have a starter to be full.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MissUK00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nemrut also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Nemrut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing