We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fine boutique property in Portsmouth” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Clarence Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Clarence Hotel
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A fine boutique property in Portsmouth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2010

Thanks to Paula and staff for the wonderful attention provided to us during our recent stay.

The Clarence is a small house that has been converted into a high end B&B. I perhaps picked the wrong room (#1) adjacent to the front door. It seemed a good choice so as not to have to climb a narrow staircase with luggage to reach other rooms but but it was very noisy. Room #1 has a sunken bath (completely impractical) and does not have a shower. I didn't know that at the time of booking. For those who opt for the Clarence, make sure that if you want a shower to specify at time of booking. Paula will make sure that your needs are met.

We stayed at the Clarence for 3 nights. It was a good location as the walk along the seafront was spectacular. It is an easy 10 minute stroll to the Isle of Wight Hovercraft dock and another 15 to Gun Wharf, the train station and city centre.

Restaurant 27' is a high recommend. It is only a couple of blocks from the Clarence and offers fine dining and excellent service.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LIndaWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    923
    114
    24
    8
    3
See reviews for
36
766
30
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Havant
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2010

From the moment that we arrived at this small, beautifully decorated boutique hotel, we were impressed. We booked four of the rooms which were all stunning, well equipped and extremely comfortable. The service from all the staff was personalised, friendly and faultless. My friends and I were staying at the hotel the night before my wedding and the celebrations could not have started in a more lovely setting. If you a looking for a quiet hotel for a special occassion in the Portsmouth area, I am sure you will not find a better hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Magmarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

I've stayed at the Clarence a few times over the last year and having just started using trip advisor regularly so thought I should give it the great review it deserves.

The staff are friendly and very helpful - they sorted me out with cufflinks one morning when I had forgotten mine! The complimentray drink on arrival always went down well too.

The rooms are all pretty stunning, beautifully decorated.

Breakfast was always excellent with good quality ingredients.

One minor citicism - the bar looks a bit naff. Otherwise its absolutuely fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VagabondReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2010

A real Gem! We stayed for three nights and due to our late booking had to switch rooms midway . The first two nights were in the Bronze and Gold room - a beautiful room. Our last night was in the Wild at Heart room with a sunken bath - wow! The hotel is a high class boutique hotel with an excellent eye for detail and first class customer service. Nothing was too much bother.The little touches such as complimentary drink on arrival, personal escort to our room who explained how tv, aquavision and free box office movies (must have been at least 50 movies available) worked, turn down service at night with delightful chocolates and printed thought for the day left on pillow, fluffy towelling robes and slippers and 100% egyptian cotton and silk bedding made tour visit . Breakfast was cooked to order with fresh local produce and for people who rarely eat a breakfast - we had the full breakfast three days running!
A wonderful hotel set outside Portsmouth with limited local nightlife but wonderful restuarants and Gun Wharf 10 mins in a taxi (cost 6.00) and worth the quiet location for for that special break and we are already planning our return visit

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MICKYP1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2010

We stayed overnight at this hotel after visiting Portsmouth. We picked it after the reviews it received on Trip Advisor. It is actually situated in adjacent Southsea, and being honest, perhaps not the nicest part. If the owners could pick this place up and put it somewhere else, it would be perfect. On arrival, we were greeted by a charming young lady, who gave us complimentary drinks. We had booked the Terracotta room for £109. It was a small room (as described), but beautifully furnished with an equally tasteful ensuite shower and spotlessly clean. Flat screen tv, with free movies etc. Breakfast in the morning was freshly cooked (choice full english or continental). Disappointingly, there are no tea/coffee making facilities in the room, although free tea/coffee is available from the 24hr room service. There doesn’t appear to be any off road parking, but you are given a residents permit to park free of charge in the street outside.
It is described as a 'Boutique Hotel' (I’ll let you look up the definition). The property is a converted Victorian or Edwardian house and it is obvious the owners have converted it at great expense. However, without sounding too harsh, I think it’s best described as a very beautiful bed & breakfast. Granted there is 24hr room service, but the dining room is small (some might say intimate), as is the bar, which has the feel of someone’s living room. We did not dine there in the evening, nor feel inclined to drink at the bar.
That said, if you find yourself in Southsea, and are looking for somewhere to stay, I would highly recommend this establishment. I would recommend to the owners to forget about the bathrobes and bed turn down service, but have some tea & coffee facilities in the rooms instead.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry3310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level Contributor
139 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2010

My wife and I stayed for one night ahead of catching an early morning ferry.

Picked becaused of the rave reviews on TA, the superb pictures on TA and the hotels own website, reasonably priced for the quality of the hotel and, for ourselves, it was ideally located with approximately a 10 minute drive from the ferry terminal entrance.

We were warmly welcomed and offered a complimentary welcome drink in a nice bar area before being shown to our room. Stayed in the room on the right of the first landing as you go up the stairs - not sure what name/number as our original room had a duff shower and the hotel wished to move us so that our stay was not marred.

A very spacious, very well decorated to a high standard and a very comortable bed. Bathroom was small (one at a time job) but the shower made up for it. All extremely clean throughout.

A large flat screen wall mounted TV provided a superb range of the latest films free of charge. Difficult to watch from bed though as it was not on a swivel.

We have hoped to eat in the hotel that evening but due to staff being trained up this wasn't possible. Recommendations were made to places in the locale but after a couple of hours fruitless searching, we returned to the 24 hour room service which was very tasty.

Parking is not a great problem despite what others may say. Yes there are two places behind the gates to the hotel but a permit is given upon arrival for parking along Clarence Road itself.

Because of leaving early we didn't get to sample the breakfast although a continental breakfast to take away was offered.

Staff very helpful, rooms superb and although no meals in the evening and the non-moving flat screen, this is our #1 choice for ALL future stays in Portsmouth.

Throughly recommend to anyone looking for a night away as we did or for longer stays in the city.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_Thomas_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
336 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2010

My wife and I had the pleasure stay in The Clarence for a ten-day period. Due to the length of our stay and also because we decided to extend our stay for an additional seven days, we had the pleasure of experiencing three different rooms - the staff transferred our luggage each time while we were out of the room. We were essentially pampered by the owners and staff. We cannot imagine anything finer in the Portsmouth area. The breakfasts were superb - believe we tried everything from the full English breakfast to the porridge to french toast - again absolutely lovely in all respects. Our highest compliments to the owners and staff - incredibly positive and friendly attitudes 100% of the time! Bravo - until next time!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmclendon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
0.0 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#5 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
4.6 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#17 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarence Hotel

Property: The Clarence Hotel
Address: Clarence Road, Portsmouth PO5 2LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Luxury Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#11 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarence is Portsmouth and Southsea's multi award-winning adults only luxury boutique hotel. This Edwardian residence has been stylishly converted to offer well designed and individually styled rooms with luxury bathrooms. All rooms offer Air-conditioning, King-sized bed & Wi-Fi. Perfectly situated just 5 mins away from all major attractions and just a few hundred yards from the seafront, The Clarence is the ideal place to stay whether it be for Business or that well earned break. The Clarence also offers guests in-room health and beauty treatments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Clarence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarence Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing