We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No Tea in the Room!”
Review of The Clarence Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Clarence Hotel
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
West Sussex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“No Tea in the Room!”
Reviewed May 4, 2010

Great hotel in nice location. The rooms are great and the food and welcome are very good. However, it's a pricey hotel and for the price you do expect to be able to have a cuppa tea in your room. For some bizarre reason, you have to pay to have it in your room as room service but you're welcome to go downstairs and have one in the bar area for free. I'm a tea drinker in the mornings and I'd expect to be able to have one in bed for the £125 I spent for one night. Bonkers. That aside, it's a very good hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neilthefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    944
    117
    25
    8
    3
See reviews for
39
787
30
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
East Anglia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2010

The best hotel I have ever stayed in in the UK. You would have to go far and wide to beat this little quaint place. Do not be fooled by the outside of the place, once inside it is simply wonderful. Will never book anywhere else again when in and around Portsmouth.
Great for a honeymoon, or a romantic weekend, or simply a stopover for a night. Few rooms and always booked up but well worth booking in advance. Each bedroom has a different theme. Well priced for what you receive. Staff very friendly, cannot do enough to help you feel welcome.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SassyM_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2010

After taking six days to travel home from southern Spain (another volcanic ash refugee) we are so glad we chose to spend the night here before our 500 mile drive home. As soon as you arrive you are given a complimentary drink and the chance to meet the other guests in a lovely small lounge. The bedroom was absolutely beautiful with amazing sunken bath.The bed was really comfortable, probably the best I have ever slept in. The breakfast choices were excellent, really well cooked and beautifully presented. All the staff were so attentive and really made us feel very welcome. The icing on the cake for me was discovering the owner comes from my home town and she took time out from her busy day to have a chat with us.
Many thanks to Jennifer and her staff for a wonderful stay. and hopefully our next visit will be much longer.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quijano, spain
Level Contributor
115 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2010

Stayed one night previous to sailing home (volcanic ash refugee!). Hotel is small, but wonderfully decorated, with little touches abounding - scented candles, magazines, glorious mirrors...and, most importantly, the staff. Every person working there obviously enjoys their job and meeting the guests (without too much encroachment): no need to ask for any help, luggage is carried for you, welcome drink at check in, my last minute shopping was even transferred to another, stronger bag for me! Bedroom was glorious, spotlessly clean, all buttons/TV etc explained when personally taken up to room. The beds were very comforable, as were the very thick bathrobes. I didn't have evening meal, but looked lovely. Breakfast (loads of choices, I had "full English") was of very high quality. Very good coffee (rare in UK hotels). I normally travel to my home in Spain by plane, but this hotel has made me rethink, and I may, in the future, be found now and again on the ferry, so I can spend the night in this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quijano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2010

Go and see for yourselves- great reception on arrival, welcome drink poured before we even sat down. Relaxed atmosphere with professional service yet with a personal touch that is rarely found these days in hotels.
Great individually created rooms to the highest standards yet with intimate touches.
Nothing seems too much trouble 24 hour room service means exactly that with no premiums and individual attention from staff.
Breakfast superb with the quality being the driver.
Allof the staff we met could not have been more attentive and yet it felt personal and that they were keen to engage and please.
This hotel only has 8 rooms so don't hesitate booking and missing your chance if you are going to Portsmouth.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosiegt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth
1 review
Reviewed April 16, 2010

We stayed for one night, How I wish it could have been more! This is a lovely hotel, with friendly, pleasant staff who go out of their way to make sure that you have a wonderful stay with them. We stayed in the Luella Cherry room, it was fabulous! Huge Bed, spa bath with TV, loved the thoughtful turn down service. We dined in the hotel and we are glad we did, the food was splendid. We really enjoyed our stay here and we can't wait to visit again!! Thanks for a memorable stay!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marriedpair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2010

Wow, what can I say!? This hotel is amazing! My partner and I were welcomed by Paula, and we had a nice chat over our complimentary welcome drinks. We stayed in the 'Wild at Heart' room, and with a sunken in bath and plasma tv - you really can't go wrong! We stayed for two nights, and couldn't resist eating in! The food was second to none; the steak was cooked to absolute perfection. The atmosphere in the hotel was so cosy and laid-back, and the staff will always go out of their way to help. Being only a 2 minute walk from the seafront, and a 5 minute drive to Gunwharf Shopping Outlet, the location is perfect. The 24 hr room service was always very prompt. There was free wireless internet at all times, and also a wide selection of free films we could choose from, which was delightful whilst having a bath and eating a delicious fruit platter! Every detail, from the choice of furniture to the texture of the wallpaper was carefully considered, which makes the hotel so personal and homely.

I would definately recommend this hotel, and I'm sure we will be going back very soon!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seabreeze88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
0.0 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
0.0 mi away
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#5 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarence Hotel

Property: The Clarence Hotel
Address: Clarence Road, Portsmouth PO5 2LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#11 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarence is Portsmouth and Southsea's multi award-winning adults only luxury boutique hotel. This Edwardian residence has been stylishly converted to offer well designed and individually styled rooms with luxury bathrooms. All rooms offer Air-conditioning, King-sized bed & Wi-Fi. Perfectly situated just 5 mins away from all major attractions and just a few hundred yards from the seafront, The Clarence is the ideal place to stay whether it be for Business or that well earned break. The Clarence also offers guests in-room health and beauty treatments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Clarence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarence Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing