We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely stay for anniversary” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Clarence Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Clarence Hotel
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A lovely stay for anniversary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

We celebrated our wedding anniversary here recenlty. Staff are attentive, professional, friendly and welcoming. We enjoyed our check in experience and appreciated our gorgeous room with robes and slippers. We thought the room service was lovely too (we ordered paninis and bath bombs!) and relaxed with aqua vision (gold and bronze room). the hotel was a great location for a fun walk to gunwharf quays and back. A late night pot of tea on our return was really appreciated. Breakfast was also superb. Overall, We really could not fault a thing!

Room Tip: Gold and bronze is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank the_truth_seeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeatTheClarence, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear the_truth_seeker,

Thank you for your wonderful review and for choosing The Clarence to celebrate your recent wedding anniversary. We are so pleased you enjoyed your overall stay and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Jenny Brunning
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    923
    114
    24
    8
    3
See reviews for
36
766
30
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

Be wary of cheaper imitations! The Clarence is the real deal and a firm favourite for us, Mark, Jenny and all the staff always extend a very warm welcome and the rooms are always immaculate. I must admit we have lost count of the times we have now been but once discovered I challenge you to find better! Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cutian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeatTheClarence, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear cutian, Many thanks for your lovely review and we are just so pleased that you keep coming back to enjoy The Clarence.

We hope to see you soon!!

Warmest Regards

Jenny Brunning x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
267 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

This type of hotel stands "head and shoulders" above the rest.
Styled as a "boutique" hotel it is really different, the rooms are lovely, breakfast is wonderful, the staff are helpful and interesting to talk to.
The whole feeling of an overnight stay here is so relaxing!
Shame about the area, is Seaford slowly slipping downhill?

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GerryKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeatTheClarence, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear GerryKent,

Thank you for your lovely review and we are glad that you enjoyed your second stay just as much as your first one. I believe when you are a seasoned traveller you do appreciate good accommodation and friendly staff. It's great that you left feeling relaxed.

In answer to your comment regarding "Southsea" I have now lived here for over 15 years and I think the area has improved dramatically over these years. I believe your comments may be with regard to South Parade Pier and the (Pyramid centre which was badly damaged last winter and is still under repair). Also the old Savoy on South Parade that burnt down a few years ago are having luxury retirement homes built very soon. Hopefully they will start spending money refurbishing the Pier and making it a great place for holidaymakers and locals to enjoy.

Kind Regards

Jenny Brunning
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schoten, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

It was a great experience staying at The Clarence Hotel, although this is a small Hotel, the accomodation is very good. Super friendly service, excellent breakfast and superb rooms.
ps: Don't choose the Hotel for a 'room with a view'.

Room Tip: Room nr 5 is a Top Selection!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeatTheClarence, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Danny D, Thank you for your lovely review and it was a pleasure looking after you. I am pleased that you had a "splendid stay".

We hope to welcome you back again sometime in the future.

Kind Regards

Jenny Brunning
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

Very nice boutique hotel, cozy and elegant, centrally located in a quiet street. Large and lovely decorated rooms plenty of amenities. Warm welcome with complimentary drinks, good breakfast. Friendly and attentive staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Treppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeatTheClarence, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review and that you found The Clarence to be cozy and elegant. I am also pleased that you enjoyed the bedroom and the amenities within. Thank you for mentioning the attentiviness of the staff as they work very hard and are always willing to help in anyway possible.

We very much look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind Regards

Jenny Brunning
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

This was our second stay prior to catching a cruise out of Southampton. Why stay in Southampton when you have a great hotel with a wonderful city to explore in Portsmouth. Breakfast is outstanding and staff the best. On warning though, book early as the secret is out!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cliffhanger311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeatTheClarence, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Cliffhanger311, Thank you for your sharing your wonderful review on Tripadvisor. It was a pleasure welcoming you back to The Clarence before your cruise recently. I hope you are having a wonderful time and enjoying the scenerey.

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Kind Regards

Jenny Brunning
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

Just spent 2 nights at the wonderful Clarence Hotel - lovely decorated, maintained and spotlessly clean bedroom; public areas the same high standard; staff friendly, helpful and very attentive without being intrusive; fantastic breakfast, excellent choices and quality ingredients; absolutely no negatives. Would highly recommend this boutique hotel and definitely stay here again. In fact, we are already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LndCodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeatTheClarence, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear LndCodd, Thank you for your wonderful review and we all very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. I am very pleased you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and had no negatvies mention.

Kind Regards

Jenny Brunning
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
0.0 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#5 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
4.6 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#17 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarence Hotel

Property: The Clarence Hotel
Address: Clarence Road, Portsmouth PO5 2LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Luxury Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#11 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarence is Portsmouth and Southsea's multi award-winning adults only luxury boutique hotel. This Edwardian residence has been stylishly converted to offer well designed and individually styled rooms with luxury bathrooms. All rooms offer Air-conditioning, King-sized bed & Wi-Fi. Perfectly situated just 5 mins away from all major attractions and just a few hundred yards from the seafront, The Clarence is the ideal place to stay whether it be for Business or that well earned break. The Clarence also offers guests in-room health and beauty treatments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, LateRooms, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your The Clarence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarence Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing