We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fabulous”
Review of The Clarence Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Clarence Hotel
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Stayed here for two nights with my fiance. What a treat. We had a very warm reception and a well received welcome drink. Whilst enjoying our drink in the comfortable lounge our luggage was whisked up to our rooms, what service.
We stayed in the 'Follow your Heart' room and were not disappointed. It was tastefully decorated with free standing bath within the room. My only criticism is that the room could have been slightly larger, but would not score the hotel any less because of this.
Another wonderful touch was the selection of movies on offer that were free to watch. We haven't ever stayed at any other hotel with this facility so was a wonderful way to pass time within the splendour of the room.
Turn down service was also on offer, which we took advantage of. The chocolate was a welcome extra.
Breakfast was also a delight.
I cannot find anything bad to say about about this place. I wish there were more places out there like this. Portsmouth is a long way from home, but I would not hesitate to stay here again if in the area and try out one of the other rooms.

Room Tip: The hotel has limited parking, but do not panic there is ample road side parking and you are provide...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennyjcamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

525 - 531 of 1,214 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2014

My partner and I decided to book a room for an evening as a little treat to ourselves. From the moment we walked in we were instantly made to feel very welcome. We enjoyed a complimentary drink at the bar and our bags were carried to our room. We felt like royalty! We were shown to room and a very helpful lady showed us where everything was. The room was amazing and very luxurious! The bath was the best bit and we enjoyed the lovely bathrobes and being able to watch TV in the bath as well as from the bed. The hotel booked us a table at a local restaurant and we also received a parking permit which alleviated any parking worries. The staff phoned to check if we were ok in our room after we were a bit worried about the volume of the surround sound upstairs but this was sorted very quickly and we had a lovely nights sleep. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a real treat and some luxury and great value for money. Best hotel I've ever been to and amazing service.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachelJackson7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Great stay at this hotel. Excellent room and friendly service. Highly recommended! Welcome drink on arrival. Great breakfast included with room price. Complimentary wifi too. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Missdiane6701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I stayed here for one night with my daughter. The attention to detail was fantastic, from our welcome glass of wine to the tasty selection of home-made breads at breakfast. The staff are attentive and extremely friendly without being OTT. Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: One note of caution - the only available room was the 'follow your dreams' room, which didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Staff very friendly and helpful, room was very clean and tidy. Breakfast was all high quality ingredients and a good choice. Would definitely go back there again. Not too far from the Historic Dockyard where it was easy to park.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SAM-IGCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We found this to be a very clean and tidy small Hotel that the owners have obviously taken a lot of trouble in decorating and refurbishing. The breakfast was excellent. We do find it to be irksome not be provided with a kettle in the room as being able to make your own cuppa at any time is something we like to be able to do. I know the owner will say that drinks are available at the bar but its just not the same. We thought it a little too expensive in comparison with similar accommodation elsewhere. I would suggest slightly less enthusiastic use of air fresheners in the room. Although the Hotel is well located only a short walk from the sea front the view from the room was the uninspiring aspect of the back of the terrace opposite.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aroundthenextcorner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

My wife and I have just spent part of our honeymoon here and we were staying in the gold room. As other reviewers have mentioned we were greeted by a very friendly staff member who offered us complimentary drinks whilst we got checked in, and then escorted to our room to which our luggage had already been taken. We were shown all the facilities of the room which was very nicely decorated. The bed had been sprinkled with tiny red heart confetti, and there was a marriage congrats card to us from the hotel staff which was a lovely gesture and greatly appreciated. The flowers and bubbly that I ordered were all ready and waiting in the room too. We were greeted by the friendly co owner downstairs in the morning who proceeded to wait on us hand and foot with one of the best breakfasts we have ever had in a hotel. Kudos to him and the chef! Both my wife and I had the most restful two days staying at the Clarence hotel, and the owners and staff really helped us to have the most memorable wedding days. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sweeney61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeatTheClarence, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear sweeney61

Thank you for your lovely review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially on such a special occasion.

Thank you for complimenting our wonderful staff who are always working so hard to try and ensure that our guests feel comfortable and well looked after whilst they are staying with us. I would like to extend our thanks to you and say thank you for being such wonderful guests. Our job is made so much easier when we have people like you staying with us.

We hope that you will return sometime in the future.

Kind Regards

Jenny Brunning

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0 mi away
Florence House
Florence House
#3 of 39 in Portsmouth
746 reviews
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#4 of 39 in Portsmouth
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#6 of 39 in Portsmouth
710 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#7 of 39 in Portsmouth
986 reviews
0 mi away
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarence Hotel

Address: Clarence Road, Portsmouth PO5 2LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: $101 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarence is Portsmouth and Southsea's multi award-winning adults only luxury boutique hotel. This Edwardian residence has been stylishly converted to offer well designed and individually styled rooms with luxury bathrooms. All rooms offer Air-conditioning, King-sized bed & Wi-Fi. Perfectly situated just 5 mins away from all major attractions and just a few hundred yards from the seafront, The Clarence is the ideal place to stay whether it be for Business or that well earned break. The Clarence also offers guests in-room health and beauty treatments. The Clarence is located 3 minutes walk from the group's Fine Dining restaurant "The Kitchen" serving a stunning menu or the group Gastro Pub "The Florence Arms" serving homecooked fresh food ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Clarence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarence Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing