We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love staying at this hotel.”
Review of The Clarence Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Clarence Hotel
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Everything at this hotel is fantastic, the staff are friendly welcoming and helpful, for breakfast there is loads to choose from and it is delicious. The room was clean and fully equipped with a huge tv all the films you can watch a huge comfortable bed and a hydromassage spa bath we had a wonderful stay and i cannot wait to go back

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scaroline51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeatTheClarence, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review and it was our pleasure looking after you. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kindest Regards

Jenny & Mark Brunning

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

630 - 636 of 1,220 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed at The Clarence on a recent trip to Portsmouth. This is a lovely hotel with really friendly and helpful staff. From the minute we arrived we were made to feel very welcome with a welcoming drink whilst chatting about the local area, recommending places to eat and visit. Our Room (Wild at Heart) was superb with a sunken bath and absolutely faultless.We were impressed with the 'turn down' service with the chocolate and proverb on the pillows - a really nice touch. We were spoilt for choice for breakfast from porridge to full English breakfast and a variety of home made bread for the toast. All in all we could not wished for a better stay and welcome and would highly recommend a visit. We will definitely make a return visit in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeatTheClarence, General Manager at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Susan M,
Thank You very much for your lovely comments regarding your recent stay here at The Clarence. Our Wild At Heart Room with Sunken bath and Aquavision Television is a very popular room so I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. We take particular pride in our freshly prepared breakfast using only the finest ingredients and of course, our home-made bread selection.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards,
Paula.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Another stay at the Clarence Hotel which was as fabulous as ever, a gem of a find! Met and treat by the owners as if we were royalty. Complimentary welcome drinks set the scene for the hospitality afforded to all guests. We had a great nights sleep & enjoyed the powerful shower before having a superb breakfast. Looking forward to visiting again. Thank you, Nick & Joy

Room Tip: Not a bad room at this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoyLaister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeatTheClarence, General Manager at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Joy & Nick,
Thank you for your lovely comments, it was our pleasure to welcome you back again. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and that all the staff made you feel like royalty!
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon for another of our fabulous breakfasts!
Kind Regards,
Paula.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Despite asking for an early checkin, we received a warm welcome and welcoming drink. The smell of baking bread was wonderful, and we were told it would be available for breakfast, it was worth waiting for. The room (no 3) is very comfortable, and has all that you could wish for. Excellent shower, free WiFi and LAN connectivity, superb and very comfortable bed, and room as A/C should you need it. On to breakfast, all you could ask for (and eat). Car parking is free and right outside the hotel (they provide the parking permit). Really faultless visit, and highly recommended.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Manny-C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeatTheClarence, General Manager at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, it was no problem to have your room ready for you and I hope you enjoyed the Wedding you were attending.
We hope to be able to welcome you back to The Clarence soon.
Kind Regards,
Paula.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed at the Clarence as part of a mini break to visit the Mary Rose and Gunwharf Quays. This is a really nice hotel that provides luxury and friendly personal service without pretentiousness.
One of the most comfortable beds we've ever slept in and a tasty breakfast with homemade bread.
Will definitely stay here next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeatTheClarence, General Manager at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you for your kind words, I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us as part of your trip to Portsmouth. Our beds are indeed very comfortable, and I'm glad you enjoyed our Breakfast, the home made breads are certainally proving to be popular!
I hope we'll be able to welcome you back again soon.
Kind Regards,
Paula.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Stylish, elegant, individual, comfortable and welcoming. Everything a boutique hotel should be and everything the big chain hotels are not. Staff are excellent. Free WiFi and TV if you want it. Walking distance to so e excellent restaurants. Have stayed before and will stay again. Can't fault it.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Waipuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeatTheClarence, General Manager at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you for your kind review, we appreciate such lovely feedback from returning guests. I'm glad you found us to be better than the larger hotels, its great to be able to offer everything you need for a comfortable stay and we hope to be able to welcome you back once again when you next return to the UK.
Kind Regards,
Paula.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

What an amazing gem of a hotel, tucked away down a quiet street. Fantatic, informative and attentive staff and a great breakfast, what more could you ask for? The standard of cleanliness and quality of the rooms is second to none, thanks to all of you for making our anniversary stay a memorable one!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanandChris2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0 mi away
Florence House
Florence House
#3 of 39 in Portsmouth
749 reviews
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#4 of 39 in Portsmouth
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#6 of 39 in Portsmouth
713 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#5 of 39 in Portsmouth
988 reviews
0 mi away
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarence Hotel

Address: Clarence Road, Portsmouth PO5 2LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: $101 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarence is Portsmouth and Southsea's multi award-winning adults only luxury boutique hotel. This Edwardian residence has been stylishly converted to offer well designed and individually styled rooms with luxury bathrooms. All rooms offer Air-conditioning, King-sized bed & Wi-Fi. Perfectly situated just 5 mins away from all major attractions and just a few hundred yards from the seafront, The Clarence is the ideal place to stay whether it be for Business or that well earned break. The Clarence also offers guests in-room health and beauty treatments. The Clarence is located 3 minutes walk from the group's Fine Dining restaurant "The Kitchen" serving a stunning menu or the group Gastro Pub "The Florence Arms" serving homecooked fresh food ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Clarence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarence Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing