We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic anniversary break”
Review of The Clarence Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Clarence Hotel
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2013

What an amazing gem of a hotel, tucked away down a quiet street. Fantatic, informative and attentive staff and a great breakfast, what more could you ask for? The standard of cleanliness and quality of the rooms is second to none, thanks to all of you for making our anniversary stay a memorable one!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanandChris2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,156)
There are newer reviews for The Clarence Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

572 - 578 of 1,156 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

Yet again we were bowled over by the level of Excellent Customer Service, Hygiene, Luxury and the all round superior experience of staying at this outstanding boutique hotel.

The staff are all amazing and could not do enough for us, so attentive, yet we felt completely at home and relaxed and not bothered in anyway.

I will recommend this place over and over again and we are already looking at booking our next visit. 5* +++++

Room Tip: Go for the best - Luella Cherry. You will not regret it. Trust me
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stuartandlisa1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Having so often stayed in the big chain Hotels, The Clarence - What a difference!!!

Here for the Great South Run. Hotel approx 400m to the start so perfect location.

Rooms and breakfast first class.

The owners could not do enough. Special mention to Jade also - she was brilliant!

Will be returning without a doubt.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 204RichardR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Having stayed at The Clarence twice before it was a no brainer on where to stay when we returned in October. This hotel is perfect, from the moment you arrive the service you receive is impeccable and continues until you reluctantly leave. The Clarence is a hidden treasure that anybody would be lucky to find and I am so glad I have. Thanks for a great break once again and look forward to seeing you all in July 2014 (or sooner if I get my last way)

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KerryW75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We had two nights at the Clarence and we cannot fault a single thing. We had travelled to Portsmouth for a family wedding and our stay topped off a fabulous trip. We were made welcome on our arrival, given a parking permit for the street outside, assisted with a taxi booking and local information for our first night, nothing was too much trouble. Breakfasts were excellent with a wide choice and top-ups if required. Our room was beautifully decorated, bathroom facilities were outstanding and our comfortable bed to die for! We cannot praise the hotel enough. Finally, we would like to thank Paula for her attention to every detail and her warm welcome on arrival. We cannot wait to return. We just need a good excuse to do so.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank super_mum46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed at te Clarance for our Wedding night in the Luella Cherry Room and it was gorgeous. We didn't arrive until after 11pm but we were given a warm welcome and a drink before being taken to our room.
The breakfast was outstanding with plenty of choice and toast!
Everything was gorgeous and we would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shelley w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Just had to say what an amazing intimate ,one of a kind hotel this is ! Sadly we only stayed one night. travelled 100 miles and it was worth it . Gee was a lesson in hosting ! She makes everybody feel at ease , she is truly gifted . superb room exceeded our expectations . such a comfy bed i wished i could take it home :) . greeted with a smile and i left with a big smile . my wife and i would urge anyone GIVE this a try. recommend saving time to enjoy the sumptuous breakfast .
Cant wait to return. Thanks to all staff and owners Great Stuff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Damonwalker666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeatTheClarence, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review and for choosing the Clarence Hotel for your short visit to Portsmouth. It was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found Gee to be a great hostess. Gee is an asset to our business as is all our staff who work extremely hard to provide our guests with the best possible service.

I hope to be able to welcome you back at sometime in the future.

Kindest Regards

Jenny Brunning

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#4 of 39 in Portsmouth
666 reviews
0.0 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 39 in Portsmouth
720 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#5 of 39 in Portsmouth
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
4.5 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,243 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#6 of 39 in Portsmouth
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarence Hotel

Address: Clarence Road, Portsmouth PO5 2LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Luxury Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#11 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: $111 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarence is Portsmouth and Southsea's multi award-winning adults only luxury boutique hotel. This Edwardian residence has been stylishly converted to offer well designed and individually styled rooms with luxury bathrooms. All rooms offer Air-conditioning, King-sized bed & Wi-Fi. Perfectly situated just 5 mins away from all major attractions and just a few hundred yards from the seafront, The Clarence is the ideal place to stay whether it be for Business or that well earned break. The Clarence also offers guests in-room health and beauty treatments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Clarence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarence Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing