We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Treat!”
Review of The Clarence Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Clarence Hotel
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We were celebrating our Ruby Wedding Anniversary and chose Room No 5 for its fabulous red decor and the hydrospa bath.
Mark and Jenny and the staff were all great - friendly and caring and all had positive attitudes. We ordered taxis, room service, a celebration package and all were dealt with professionally.
The parking was arranged as soon as we arrived. Breakfasts were cooked to perfection.
We did have a few questions over the bathroom technology but this was all quickly sorted out.
Thank you for making our stay in Portsmouth so special.

Room Tip: Room 5 ( Cherry) Huge comfy bed with beautifully chosen linen and covers.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JazzLovers73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,156)
There are newer reviews for The Clarence Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

592 - 598 of 1,156 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

booked this hotel to celebrate anniversary so somewhere romantic with a certain amount of luxury required, the Clarence satisfied on both counts. the staff paula,owners jennie and mark oh and not forgetting the wonderful gee were so friendly and nothing was to much trouble,the room was spotless well equipped and the spa bath what can you say brill. thought it was so good booked again next year for same four nights

Room Tip: spa bath in Luella room to die for
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We had a marvellous stay here and will certainly return next time we are in Portsmouth. What made our experience so good was the welcome given by the staff, they were simply amazing! service was very personal and efficient but not in your face, room absolutely lovely, dining room and lounge very tastefully decorated, and the breakfast was the highlight of our stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Spent a couple of nights at The Clarence and couldn't fault the detail that is shown to the guests.
On arrival we were greeted with a cheerful and sincere welcome and complimentary drink. While unwind and enjoying our drink in the lovely relaxed lounge area we could see that there was an assortment of menus in a neatly put together folder of nearby restaurants . We were chatting to each other and were intrested in eating @ Sopranos and we thought being a Monday evening wouldn't be a problem getting a table for 2 , but they heard us and suggested they should phone ahead on our behalf and made a booking as they know it gets busy and thank goodness they did as when we turned up there were no other seats available and many people turned away ( very tasty steak dinner)

We were celebrating a special wedding anniversary so had booked ahead the celebration package. The flowers, chocs and champagne cooling was waiting for us when we reached our room. Sometime you feel taken for a mug doing these as a package but it was worth every penny and don't think you could have bought it yourself any cheaper.

Breakfast menu was very tempting but we went for the full english and it was delicious, very digiligent service and always on hand just in case in you wanted anything else,

Room Tip: All rooms are of an extremely high quality, we stayed in Luella Cherry which I can recommend , all...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank woodleyfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeatTheClarence, General Manager at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review, we are delighted you chose to celebrate your Anniversary with us and we hope to be able to wlecome you back again very soon.
Kind Regards,
Paula.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights pre-cruise in August rather than in Southampton- a much better location in an attractive city with lots to see and do. The hotel was excellent with a superb included breakfast, well appointed rooms and an attentive and friendly staff.
The location is a little bit off the main road, but easily walkable along the waterfront to the main part of Portsmouth and its attractions. Several good restaurants are close and the hotel will help with reservations and suggestions.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cliffhanger311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeatTheClarence, General Manager at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments I'm delighted you chose to stay in Portsmouth before your cruise. There is indeed so much to see here especially the new Mary Rose Museum. I'm glad you found our position favourable, although we are located just off the main road this does mean we are in a nice quiet location with easy parking. The walk to the main attractions is also lovely (weather permitting!) or a 5 minute drive.
I hope the next time your cruise from the area you stay with us again, we'd be delighted to welcome you back.
Kind Regards,
Paula.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Left from Portsmouth on a Windstar cruise. Due to problems with our flights from California we only had one night at the Clarence but it was wonderful. The room was clean, comfortable and adorable. The shower was more like a human car wash and felt great after 2 days of traveling. The owners are so friendly and helpful. They set us up with reservations at a local fish and chips place, which was delicious, I think it was called the A Bar? Breakfast the morning we left was superb, we really felt cheated that we only had one night there!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeatTheClarence, General Manager at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you for your review. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us even though it was only for the 1 night. Our freshly prepared Breakfast seems to receive lots of lovely comments so I'm glad your enjoyed it.
Next time you must arrange your trip so you stay in Portsmouth for longer, and we'd be delighted to welcome you back.
Kind Regards,
Paula.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

The Clarence is a small hotel in what appears to be a very small residential off the main road area-this is true until you enter to find a very chic hotel with wonderful amenities and brilliant staff.
On arrival, Gee (yup, that is her name) provided a complimentary drink, followed by a full presentation of our lovely room. Gee is very helpful and represents the personality of this lovely place.
What can I say, aircon bedroom, wonderful full body shower, beautiful linen, superb breakfast-this is as good as it gets!
I would totally recommend this hotel to anyone!
Only downside, parking is on street, don't park under the trees, took ages to remove the bird s--- when I got home.

Room Tip: Just take what you are given-if all rooms are of the same standard as ours you will have no problem.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GerryKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#4 of 39 in Portsmouth
666 reviews
0.0 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 39 in Portsmouth
720 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#5 of 39 in Portsmouth
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
4.5 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,243 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#6 of 39 in Portsmouth
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarence Hotel

Address: Clarence Road, Portsmouth PO5 2LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Luxury Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#11 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: $111 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarence is Portsmouth and Southsea's multi award-winning adults only luxury boutique hotel. This Edwardian residence has been stylishly converted to offer well designed and individually styled rooms with luxury bathrooms. All rooms offer Air-conditioning, King-sized bed & Wi-Fi. Perfectly situated just 5 mins away from all major attractions and just a few hundred yards from the seafront, The Clarence is the ideal place to stay whether it be for Business or that well earned break. The Clarence also offers guests in-room health and beauty treatments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Clarence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarence Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing