We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of The Clarence Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Clarence Hotel
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Just returned from a night at The Clarence,. Beautifully done but what puts this place head and shoulders above everywhere else are the people. Such great hosts and nothing was too much trouble. Cannot recommend this little gem enough. Go.

Room Tip: Check about the bath. In some rooms the baths are in the room. Lovely if you are a romantic couple b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chris l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeatTheClarence, General Manager at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Chris,
Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your stay and the staff here at The Clarence, we are delighted you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us.
Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back again in the near furture.
Kind Regards,
Paula.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

647 - 653 of 1,173 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

What a royal treat it was to stay here for 3 days in late June, 2013. We had their best room, "Lulu Cherry" with a Kingsize bed and spectacular Jacuzzi tub for two. We had prebooked a massage for our 1st afternoon, and that really helped ease the jet/road lag. They met us with a cocktail and gave several restaurant recommendations.Surprise! when we reached our room our bags had already been delivered. Wonderful cooked to order breakfast is included, with fresh fruit and fresh squeezed juices. Great adult/romantic escape with the most considerate staff. Very easy to park, for free, in the street in front. Alert: if you are driving and do not have a postal code GPS, head toward the D-Day museum and then go inland a couple of blocks to The Clarence.

Room Tip: No elevator...better rooms have the en suite bathroom on the same floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AstonV1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeatTheClarence, General Manager at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay here at The Clarence. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the Double Spa Bath!
I hope to be able to welcome you back to The Clarence in the future.
Kind Regards, Paula.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed at The Clarence in April for two weeks, for business purposes. We were a big team (6 people during the first week, 7 during the second week, all from different nationalities and taste for food).
Everything was perfect since the beginning. We arrived late on Sunday, and had pre-arranged with Paula to have our room service ready. Everything was available, very fresh and delicious!!
Then, as we really need more than a sandwich (UK style) for lunch, Paula (who by the way is a professional chef), was preparing very early in the morning the lunch for us (each one's personal choice), and store them in containers, for us to be able to bring them with us to work. She even included fruits in the bag... really "wellness".
And for dinner, we agreed with her that we'd tell her in advance our dinner wishes, so she could buy the fresh ingredients and have it ready upon our arrival in the evening.
Everything was just amazing!! Spectacular real soups (tomato, mushroom, butternut)... forget about chemical soups, Paula's soups are just THE BEST (and believe me, we had soup specialists within the team)!!
Paula, Jade: thanks for making these two weeks wonderful!! As I said, next time we need to go back to the area, we'll certainly stay there!!
Thanks and see you some day!
Diana

Room Tip: Please be aware that there are some rooms with bath tub only, so if you prefer a shower, let them kn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeatTheClarence, General Manager at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Diana,
Thank you for your lovely review, it was my pleasure to take care of you and your colleagues while you were here on business. Here at The Clarence we understand that working away from home can be a chore so I'm delighted you all felt at home here.
I hope we will be able to welcome you back when work commitments bring you back to Portsmouth, or perhaps next time you will come for a holiday to see all the sights you missed as you were working so hard!
Warm Regards,
Paula.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed at the Clarence whilst in Portsmouth for my daughter's graduation and were very impressed.

The hotel is immaculately maintained with comfortable furnishings, nice bathrooms, great air conditioning, quality TV's etc.

What struck me was the attention to detail provided by ALL the staff - right from check in where our cases and several clothes items on hangers were whisked to our room before we had even completed the formalities, to departure where, having called back to collect luggage after the ceremony we were offered complimentary tea/coffee - even though we were there for only minutes.

Breakfast was a lovely relaxing experience with a good choice of freshly prepared food.

The hotel is very handy for the prom in Southsea and only a £4 cab ride from the dockyard & Gunwharf Quay.

We felt that we were made really welcome and would definitely recommend this hotel for a chilled and relaxing stay in Southsea.

Room Tip: We loved the Red & Bronze room but would point out two aspects that others might like to be pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mfokinth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeatTheClarence, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you for all your wonderful comments on the hotel and staff. It was a pleasure to look after you and hope to be able to welcome you back sometime in the future. The whole concept of the hotel being adult only is so that guests can come away and relax. I'm so glad that you had a relaxing time.

The Clarence Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This hotel is very clean and well organised and the owners and staff can't do enough for you. The little things make all the difference and unfortunately for me the little things they don't do did make all the difference. Positives are, staff being helpful (carry luggage to room, explan telly and lighting etc) great food, nice clean and well air conditioned bedroom. Negatives are: no kettle or facilities to make a drink in the rooms (you have to go into the bar to get free tea and coffee) whilst plenty of drawers in the desk and bedside cabinets, none of them are big enough to hold much more than underwear or socks, a tap in the onsuite that only has an on and off and you can't control the temperature. The things they do are done very well, but the things they don't do are only smalll things for some but make all the difference to me and my wife. Had we been staying longer, the small room and lack of adequate drawer space would have become a real problem.
Whilst I thought the owners were very good hosts, the negatives mentioned would prevent me staying here again. Constructive feedback, change the desk for a decent set of drawers and put tea making facilities in the room and temperature controlled taps and you couldn't beat this hotel as a place to stay.

Room Tip: This room was described as exexutive (normally one of the more spacious) but it said one of the saml...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeatTheClarence, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Whilst we are grateful that you have taken the time to leave a review and have noted the many positive aspects of your stay, we are disappointed that it contains some inaccuracies and is misrepresentative.

You made your reservation through the booking agency, Booking.com for a "Deluxe Double Room" NOT an Executive Room. These Deluxe rooms are clearly described as "the hotels smaller rooms" and yet you have based your review on booking and staying in an Executive room even though you stayed in a Deluxe Double Room.

Our designer bath/shower rooms are all individually designed and do of course have temperature controlled taps, even though your review suggests that we do not. We make every effort to explain the operating of bathroom taps, showers and baths when checking our guests in to their respective rooms and if a guest ever has a problem this is usually quickly resolved by a member of staff. It is disappointing that you did not call or even mention to us during your stay that you were unable to work the taps properly.

With reference to your comments regarding storage space you failed to mention the wardrobe with hanging rail and drawers as well as the drawers in the desk and bedside cabinets. We are sorry if this did not provide sufficient space for your two night stay.

Finally, with regard to your comment "no facilities to make drink" we have debated this issue on many an occasion ourselves but decided that providing our guests with unlimited complimentary Tea nd Coffee in the comfort of our lounge reduces the risk of spillages or damage within the room and enables us to keep our rooms in excellent condition.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Me and my partner stayed here on the 20/7/13 for 2 nights. We have never stayed in a boutique/expensive hotel but wanted a nice little break away. Yes the hotel is down a narrow street with no nice views from the windows but we weren't fussed about that. You get a permit to park on the street as there is little parking. When we arrived we were offered a complimentary drink, given the WiFi codes and a map of the area. We were showed to our room and given some info about it ( how to use the TV's, run the bath ect. You have complimentary bath robes, slippers and water. There are no tea and coffee making facilities but you can have all the tea and coffee for free you want in the lounge. We headed out to Gunwarf quays for some dinner. We took a lovely walk along the beach which too about 1/2 hour then got a taxi back which cost about £6. When we returned we had tea and coffee in the lounge and bought a bath set. our room had been turned down with chocolates left on the pillow and the air con on, which was lovely after a hot evening! The bath was amazing so deep and wide but did take a little while to fill up. Also its hard to get the temperature right, moving it the tiniest fraction could make the water go from warm to boiling hot. You get free movies on the tv and you can watch whatever is on the big TV on the bath TV. Our sleep was lovely, the pillows and quilt were extremely soft and the added luxury of air con was bliss. Breakfast was very yummy with a buffet of cereals, fruit, pastry's, yoghurt and fruit juices. Then if you want a hot breakfast you can order from the menu. I had an omelette and a full English (both very lovely but no beans?) I'm sure if you asked they would put some on i just don't like to be fussy. Sunday we went to the historic dockyard. My partner really enjoyed this, you have to book a slot time for the Mary rose and it was quite busy. A little advice, we stayed there for about 4 hours and it cost us £6 to park, maybe a taxi would have been better? Again when we returned to our room it had been turned down with more chocolates! Monday morning we were woken up twice at around 7-8 with people leaving as we had the wild at heart room which is next to the front door but it didn't bother us much. The staff were very helpful, they printed off our dockyard tickets for us, If we return to Portsmouth we would defiantly stay here again, we had a lovely time. Thank you to all of the staff especially G and Mark who were very hospitable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Georgie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeatTheClarence, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thank you for your review of The Clarence and information on the local area. It is always helpful to future potential guests when they give information on our attractions, taxis etc.

I'm glad that you enjoyed the facilities that the Clarence offers including the air conditioning especially in the extreme temperatures that we are experiencing at present.

With regards to beans, no problem next time just ask we. We can do most things just not the impossible.

Thank you once again for choosing the Clarence for your recent visit.

Kind Regards


Jenny Brunning

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

A great little hotel, fantastic service and lovely staff, very clean and what a breakfast, superb. Very helpfull from the time we arrived in scorching weather after a long drive. Would recommend to anybody and would not hesitate to stay again

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeatTheClarence, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thank you Paul for your lovely review of The Clarence. We are always at hand to help our guests and provide information on the local area as there is so much to do and see.

Hopefully we will see you again sometime in the future.

Thank you

Jenny Brunning

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#4 of 39 in Portsmouth
676 reviews
0.0 mi away
Florence House Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#5 of 39 in Portsmouth
933 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#7 of 39 in Portsmouth
690 reviews
4.5 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarence Hotel

Address: Clarence Road, Portsmouth PO5 2LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portsmouth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#11 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: $104 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarence is Portsmouth and Southsea's multi award-winning adults only luxury boutique hotel. This Edwardian residence has been stylishly converted to offer well designed and individually styled rooms with luxury bathrooms. All rooms offer Air-conditioning, King-sized bed & Wi-Fi. Perfectly situated just 5 mins away from all major attractions and just a few hundred yards from the seafront, The Clarence is the ideal place to stay whether it be for Business or that well earned break. The Clarence also offers guests in-room health and beauty treatments. The Clarence is located 3 minutes walk from the group's Fine Dining restaurant "The Kitchen" serving a stunning menu or the group Gastro Pub "The Florence Arms" serving homecooked fresh food ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Clarence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarence Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing