We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend at The Clarence”
Review of The Clarence Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Clarence Hotel
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Clarence and thoroughly enjoyed it. We would definitely stay there again. The room was very nice with special touches like slippers, dressing gown, turn down service and free chocolates and water. The staff were very helpful, calling taxis, booking restaurants and providing tourist advice. Breakfast was delicious too. I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Room three was perhaps a bit small. Would probably ask for a different one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PtlLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

703 - 709 of 1,170 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed for a night over the bank holiday after a couple of nights in Bournemouth so we could go shopping in the outlet centre.

Nothing was to much trouble for Mark & Jenny. (Mainly Mark as Jenny is very good at talking).

Phoned round to book us a restaurant for dinner. Made my wife a chocolate compote for breakfast although I must say the fruit one's were lovely and just generally look after us.

If you want a weekend away without the kids (or other peoples) then give this a go you won't be dissapointed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steve0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Outstanding hotel and staff. Very quiet location. We stayed in the Luella Cherry room!!!!! Very romantic with its double spa bath and warm welcoming decor. Very clean, beautiful attention to detail, fantastic atmosphere. Breakfast was delicious, opted for the English breakfast accompanied with a bottle of champaign. My wife suffers from wheat, gluten and lactose intolerances, a phone call prior to our arrival and her needs were catered for without fuss. No tea making facilities in the room, but promptly delivered by room service when requested. Loved the stay so much we have booked the same room for our first year anniversary in April 2014.

Dylan & Sonia.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DB18925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I'll keep it brief as the other reviews for this hotel say it all, but it really is fantastic. I work in Customer Service and the service here is amongst the best I have recognised, Very polite staff and lovely personal touches such as chocolates on your pillow and a welcome tour of your room.

A free glass of wine was provided as we checked in and bags taken to our room. Just lovely - please pass on my thanks to Gee who recognised we had got engaged earlier that day and was very pleasant.

Lovely breakfast - I am vegetarian and had a beautiful veggie cooked breakfast with poached eggs to die for! All in all a lovely stay after a special and personal day.

We shall certainly visit this hotel again! Thank you to all the staff.

(P.S we stayed in the Monkey Room - see my photos)

Room Tip: The Monkey Room - named due to monkeys in the wallpaper! Top floor room, very modern. We chose thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GPCOLLETT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Booked a long weekend and to be honest i didn't choose this hotel my wife did, but the sign behind the bar told me everything i needed to know, voted tripadvisors choice 2013, this hotel is more than 5 star, and nothing is too much trouble, we recently got married (5days ago) and we even got a card from the hotel staff to congratulate us, that was so nice, we stayed in the copper and gold room, it was beautiful, the bathroom is up a little staircase and the double size bath the double sinks and the space ship loo were to notch, cant fault this place, breakfast is a delight, home made bread, i could go on and on, if someone ever gives this place a bad review take no notice they never stayed here, if your thinking of staying in portsmouth then this is your first port of call but beware, they are full most of the time so book early to avoid disapointment

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HarryHHarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Went to the clarence house hotel for 2 nights & stayed in there wild at heart room, which is a beautiful room with a sunken bath which has it's own tv! The room and hotel was immaculately clean & the staff were friendly and welcoming. We thoroughly enjoyed the freshly cooked breakfast on both mornings and the extra special touches like the birthday card given to me by the staff. I will definitely recommend the clarence to anyone wanting to stay in Portsmouth.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarcoBarber84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Nicest hotel I've yet to stay at in Portsmouth. Rooms are spotlessly clean and comfortable. Breakfast is superb. Owners as nice as can be. Can't fault anything except the remote control for the television. But since I sprang most of my time sexing the girlfriend it didn't bother me that much.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Smouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#4 of 39 in Portsmouth
673 reviews
0.0 mi away
Florence House Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#6 of 39 in Portsmouth
930 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#7 of 39 in Portsmouth
688 reviews
4.5 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarence Hotel

Address: Clarence Road, Portsmouth PO5 2LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portsmouth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#11 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: $109 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarence is Portsmouth and Southsea's multi award-winning adults only luxury boutique hotel. This Edwardian residence has been stylishly converted to offer well designed and individually styled rooms with luxury bathrooms. All rooms offer Air-conditioning, King-sized bed & Wi-Fi. Perfectly situated just 5 mins away from all major attractions and just a few hundred yards from the seafront, The Clarence is the ideal place to stay whether it be for Business or that well earned break. The Clarence also offers guests in-room health and beauty treatments. The Clarence is located 3 minutes walk from the group's Fine Dining restaurant "The Kitchen" serving a stunning menu or the group Gastro Pub "The Florence Arms" serving homecooked fresh food ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Clarence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarence Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing