We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel I've ever stayed in.!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Clarence Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Clarence Hotel
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best hotel I've ever stayed in.!!!”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Welcoming warm atmosphere. Every detail has been catered for to ensure our stay was excellent. Was a birthday get away with hubby they had options of flowers, champagne ect which my hubby gave with the help of the Clarence team. Nothing was to much for them to help with. Would definetly recommend & will be staying again with hubby. Thank you Clarence team for making my birthday getaway the greatest . 5***** service & hotel :-) xx

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarilynHobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    932
    116
    24
    8
    3
See reviews for
38
774
30
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

My partner and I stayed at this wonderful hotel Friday and Saturday the 23/24th March 2013. Lynn, booked the hotel as a birthday surprise for me, but she also killed two birds with one stone, as she was born, and spent the first 12 years of her life in Portsmouth and wanted to come 'home' as she missed this lovely town. So she booked the Clarence....

We were met and immediately offered a welcome drink of our choice, whilst our bags were placed in the room for us. There were two courtesy iPads available in the bar area, these were for the guests to use to check out the weather/local amenities etc. They weren't chained to the floor either, which we thought was a really nice touch, as it kind of led to the homely feel of this hotel.

The room we stayed in (wild at heart) was just superb, it had a sunken bath with an aqua television on the wall with speakers to match, so you could watch a film - all free by the way, or listen to a CD/Radio and relax to your hearts content. The WI-FI was also free, again something thats a bit of a rarity in hotels nowadays, as they want to charge you for everything!

The staff were superb and couldn't do enough for you. They were friendly and were enormously helpful...how wonderful to be treated like that in this day and age.

As for the food, make sure that you try a 'full english'...so tasty and very fresh, as was the selection of fresh fruit and juices that were available....we didn't go hungry! Even at breakfast the little things stood out. The tables had beautiful fresh flowers on them...I'm a man and believe me, if I noticed them, then they were something special. Mark told me that the flowers are sourced from a local florist...a very nice touch.

We were very, very sad to leave Portsmouth because this hotel made it such a special visit. There is one thing that is an absolute certainty...we will not stop in any other hotel in Portsmouth but this one when we come back...which we most definitely will. We loved our stay in this delightful gem of a hotel.

One last thing, i'm sorry but I'm terrible at remembering names. The night porter/barman was a character, he was telling us his tales when he was a prison guard. He told us that he'd met Ian Brady and Reggie Kray amongst others and was considering writing a book. Please tell him to take my advice and write that book...I'm sure it will be a huge success.

I know that you will read this Jenny & Mark, so just want to say an immense thanks for making our stay very special.

Pat & Lynn - Derby UK

Room Tip: The wild at heart room allows you to relax in a sunken bath whilst watching movies etc on a wall mou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCFC4EVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

What a lovely welcome! We chose this hotel after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor and weren't disappointed. We were greeted with a welcome drink then a restaurant and taxi were sorted out for that evening. Our room ( room 7) was warm and clean with a luxurious bathroom. We had a bit of a problem with the bathroom mirror which was positioned rather low (because of the pitch of the roof ) . This made putting on make-up and shaving rather awkward. Maybe a free-standing magnifying mirror would help. I'd also never come across washbasin wastes that didn't actually close before-but looked on this as a challenge! Our breakfast next morning was freshly cooked and very good. I see from the Good Hotels guide in our room that The Clarence used to serve dinner too. I'd like to see them start that again - I bet it would be good.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lupin52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Having been to the Caribbean recently and feeling rather down in the dumps I booked a last minute break for my partner and I to cheer us up. Did it ever!! This hotel is a treat from the second you enter. Helpful and friendly staff offer a welcome drink whilst they take your luggage upstairs. We stayed in room 6 and when they showed us in I was very impressed! Beautiful bath with Aqua vision television, fabulous decor and a large comfortable bed. Having forced ourselves out of the bed in the morning (at 10.45am!) we enjoyed a world class breakfast with all the trimmings! A fantastic stay in beautiful hotel!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed for 1 night in the Luella Cherry room. Really amazing room! The bath is huge, would love one at home like this, so huge it takes 20 minutes to fill! All the other facilities were excellent. Breakfast the following morning was great, and the staff are really friendly and chatty. They should definitely go on the tv programme 'four in a bed'!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandford6016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Our two night stay at the Clarence was perfect, the room was lovely, the facilities in the en suite were excellent and the common areas were furnished to a very high standard. The staff were very warm, helpful and welcoming and we were made to feel very much at home. The breakfasts were delicious too. It was our first visit to Portsmouth and the staff at the Clarence really made it special. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: All of the rooms at the clarence are furnished to a very high standard - we stayed in room 2 and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

A break away with my partner, we could not of asked for anything more than to finish the day by staying at the Clarence hotel.
When arrived, we was welcomed with an arrival drink, which was a touch.
We stayed in the luella cherry room, which had a king sized bed, huge tv which you could adjust to see from we're ever you are in the room, and a double size hydrotherapy bath with an aqua vision tv too. Relaxing in the bath whilst watching a film and a glass of champagne could not be any more perfect!
Service was brilliant, the staff could not do anymore for you, rooms were very clean and lovely decor.
To finish our stay in the morning,was breakfast, we both had a traditional English breakfast which was great, ( not greasy at all) very well cooked,and lovely homemade bread! and again could not have asked to of been looked after any better, was very full ( as much tea/ coffee as you like too).
Great hotel, great service , will defiantly be recommending and defiantly coming back. :-)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
610 reviews
0.0 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
680 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
4.5 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,147 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#6 of 38 in Portsmouth
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarence Hotel

Property: The Clarence Hotel
Address: Clarence Road, Portsmouth PO5 2LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portsmouth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#11 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarence is Portsmouth and Southsea's multi award-winning adults only luxury boutique hotel. This Edwardian residence has been stylishly converted to offer well designed and individually styled rooms with luxury bathrooms. All rooms offer Air-conditioning, King-sized bed & Wi-Fi. Perfectly situated just 5 mins away from all major attractions and just a few hundred yards from the seafront, The Clarence is the ideal place to stay whether it be for Business or that well earned break. The Clarence also offers guests in-room health and beauty treatments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Clarence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarence Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing