We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Clarence Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$120
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Number Four Boutique Hotel(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
$76
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
$105
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Queen's Hotel(Portsmouth)
$110
$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$138
$115
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,243)
Filter reviews
1,243 results
Traveler rating
1,068
137
27
8
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,068
137
27
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunken bathwelcome drinkunderfloor heatingon arrivalsmall hotelfantastic hotelwedding nightbreakfast was deliciouslittle touchesfull englishparking permitcooked to perfectiona wonderful staysea frontbeautiful roomflorence armswould highly recommend this hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
807 - 812 of 1,243 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed for two nights over our anniversary weekend. The staff were all very professional and friendly. The decor of the common areas and the room itself were excellent. We were greeted upon arrival with the complimentary drink which was lovely after an afternoon of driving. The hostess (Jade?) was very friendly and informative. She provided information regarding places to eat and made reservations for us. She was especially attentive when showing us the room and took care to ensure we were happy.

The room itself was decorated in a fun black and white pattern and was fairly spacious. The bed was okay...not the most comfortable but not unpleasant either. The bath amenities were nice and they offered additional for purchase if one was looking for a romantic bath.

Breakfast was prompt, hot, cooked well with a variety of items from which to choose.

Location was good for walking to restaurants and shopping. Parking was by permit outside of the building and we did not have issues finding spaces.

Not much else to say...it is a lovely boutique hotel and I would recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank southerntlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeatTheClarence, General Manager at The Clarence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank You for choosing The Clarence to celerate your Anniversary and for your wonderful review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed your breakfast, and found the location good. I will pass your lovely comments on to Jade as recognition of her efforts is always greatly appreciated. I hope to be able to welcome you back to The Clarence in the near future, maybe to try one of our other unique rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The staff at the Clarence are great. Helped us find it at night as we drove around the streets and waited at the front door as we pulled up.

We stayed there 2 nights with a ferry trip to France in between. Mark provided great information for driving to and parking at the dock. We had to leave before the normal breakfast hours, but were provided with enough to eat.

On the morning of the second night, we awoke to 10 cm of snow on the car, for which they had provided off street parking for us. They helped provided a broom and helped clear the car and we were on our way after a great full breakfast.

Room Tip: Room 4 both nights was quiet. Typical European cozy, but well equipt.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeatTheClarence, General Manager at The Clarence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stays here at The Clarence. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and found the staff helpful and the room comfortable. Thankfully the weather did not spoil your holiday and you made it home safely. I hope we will be able to welcome you back to The Clarence if you visit Portsmouth again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

3 nights stay incl of breakfast. Excellent Customer Service, by this we mean, warm, fast, efficient, well spoken, appropriately dressed and accomodating staff. Late night checkin was accomodated well by staff. The rooms we'd used were tastefully decorated and furnished and cleaned to a high standard. Great variety of hot and cold breakfast food on offer. The hot breakfasts (expect fresh tomatoes instead of baked beans on yr full english) were cooked to a high standard and the stated times to have yr breakfast were sensible. Our bedroom with aircon (Gold Room) is decorated to suit unisex which we liked. However, the mattress and pillows were abit on the stiff side for our liking and TV appears not to have a programme guide - odd. The A/C units' noise level in the bedroom did not wake us up so do not see it as problem. Parking limited on premises but you are provided with a Business Parking Permit. We had no problems finding a parking space on Clarence Road. Also available to us were complimentary drink (hot or cold) on arrival, bottles of water for two with glasses by the bedside, bathrobes, hangers in wardrobe, slippers, towels, ironing board and adequate toiletries including free wifi, 24hr room service and helpful information on the desk. Extra small touches such as wrapped chocolates that came with "quotes" were a pleasure. The bar looked well stocked. Location to Southsea esplanade and nearby restuarants can be reached within 30mins walk or 5mins drive and 10mins drive to Gunwharf Quays/Historical Dockyard. We were very well fed and looked after staying at this hotel and can highly recommend it to others who prefer to stay in Southsea without a seaview.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SOL63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Loverly stay. The staff are helpful, friendly, personal, and made us very welcome. The facilities, especially for the very reasonable charge, were outstanding. A great nights sleep, with a smashing breakfast in the morning. I can see us becoming regulars whenever we're in Portsmouth.

Room Tip: Stay for food, it's simple but very tasty and splendid value ;)
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nikhewitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This hotel is family run, and from the moment you step through the door you are greeted with a very warm welcome. The rooms are very modern, and immaculately clean and comfortable. Breakfast runs until late morning, which is great for us late risers.
We highly recommend this fabulous hotel when visiting Portsmouth

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank salspice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews