We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's simply fantastic”
Review of The Clarence Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Clarence Hotel
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It's simply fantastic”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed the weekend of the 23rd-24th of February '13. It was wonderful! The staff were helpful friendly and approachable! The room was immaculate, modern and clean! The breakfast was delicious! I have an allergy to yeast and one of the staff called the butcher to find out the ingredients in the sausages!

Such a fantastic place! Will definitely be returning! Would recommend to friends and family!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CharlotteEmily89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    957
    118
    25
    8
    3
See reviews for
41
796
30
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My husband and I spent the night of our wedding here and loved every moment of it. Tucked away in a rather unlikely spot, this beautiful boutique hotel was impressive to say the least. Despite being very late we were welcomed with a smile and a complimentary drink and shown our exquisite room. We stayed in the "wild at heart" room with a sunken bath and found our bed thoughtfully decorated with "just married" confetti and a card. It was warm, cosy and quiet and extremely relaxing. We also loved the selection of complimentary shampoos / body lotions (they all smelled divine!). Breakfast was at a reasonable time for once and had a good selection of foods to cater for most tastes. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and will most certainly be back!

Room Tip: Try the "Wild at Heart" room with the sunken bath - perfect for watching TV and relaxing a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BexV1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Fantastic hotel and the rooms were comfortable and chic. The hosts were so friendly and couldn't do enough to make the stay memorable. We stayed here before boarding the ferry to Jersey for the week and its location just 5 minutes drive from the ferry terminal was very handy. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Moomin-Miller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Great welcome on arrival with complimentary drink, the staff were most helpful. Rooms were very cosy and the full breakfast was very tasty with quality produce. Only wished we had booked for more than 1 night!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eileen1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We booked this hotel on the strength of the reviews on Trip Advisor, and we were right to do so.

We took my in-laws away with us. My father in law has trouble breathing, and from the moment we booked, the hotel was accommodating. We changed the room we had him booked in for, that was no hassle. We got oxygen delivered to the hotel, and that was no problem at all.

When we were there, it felt like nothing was too much trouble. From asking for little snacks before dinner (me!) to providing endless cups of tea (father in law)....

The rooms are really nice. The beds are a good size, and the linen is really soft.....that probably doesn't mean a lot to most people but I actually had a great night's sleep, which is something that I don't often get when I stay away from home.

You've also got on demand films in the room for free, and wifi. In a couple of the rooms, they also have TV screens in the bathroom so you can have the initially odd but ultimately cool, experience of watching a film while in the bath...

In terms of location, you are about 1 mile away from old Portsmouth, and really close to the seafront with the D-Day museum etc.

The breakfasts are good, and there is quite a varied choice on the menu and buffet. With the quality of the breakfast, I kind of wished they did dinner there too....

I really liked this hotel and will make sure I book again if I end up in Portsmouth.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lsk1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our first stay at The Clarence so much that we came a second time.

We could not fault this Hotel, standards are high: crisp clean white sheets, comfy beds, fluffy white towels (and plenty of them). We had the Monkey room the first time we stayed, this time the Wild at Heart room, and both were spotless and tastefully decorated.

The friendly service is second to none: on arrival we were given welcome drinks, and were then shown around the two rooms they had left, which were both lovely, but we chose the Wild at Heart room for the sunken bath. Mark the Manager was very attentive, and made us feel very comfortable. We would not hesitate in coming here again.

Lastly, the breakfast choice was excellent, from a full english, to belgian waffles or the haddock, which we always have and is perfectly cooked at The Clarence (soft poached eggs, with no runny white - delicious!). Cereals and toast are also offered.

Thanks again Mark, we will no doubt be back again soon!

Bridget & Alan

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely! ...warm and cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonnie089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Just completed my first visit to The Clarence, and so impressed with the attention to detail here: a warm welcome, lack of pretension, beautifully appointed room, excellent in-room services such as free wi-fi, free movies on demand, free coffee/tea on demand, 24-hour room service, bathrobes included, and very comfortable bed. All topped off with a super breakfast including home-made bread and a lovely range of cook-to-order dishes.

This is a small place, one road back from the sea front and close to The Pyramids, aquarium and D-Day museum. I'm staying here as it's also close to Albert Road for theatre/gigs.

The only negative (and it's not a big deal) is that it's on an ugly street, and I guess none of the rooms have much of a view. And as a converted domestic property the sound-insulation between rooms is not as thorough as in a purpose-built hotel (but as a small building it's fairly peaceful anyway).

I'd definitely stay here again. At the £119/night I'm paying (Feb 2013) it's not a bargain-price hotel, but it delivers so much for the money that I'd keep it in mind if you're looking for a little treat or just like a lovely hotel any night of the week.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
645 reviews
0.0 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
701 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,179 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#6 of 38 in Portsmouth
654 reviews
0.0 mi away
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarence Hotel

Property: The Clarence Hotel
Address: Clarence Road, Portsmouth PO5 2LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portsmouth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#11 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarence is Portsmouth and Southsea's multi award-winning adults only luxury boutique hotel. This Edwardian residence has been stylishly converted to offer well designed and individually styled rooms with luxury bathrooms. All rooms offer Air-conditioning, King-sized bed & Wi-Fi. Perfectly situated just 5 mins away from all major attractions and just a few hundred yards from the seafront, The Clarence is the ideal place to stay whether it be for Business or that well earned break. The Clarence also offers guests in-room health and beauty treatments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Clarence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarence Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing