We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in Portsmouth”
Review of The Clarence Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Clarence Hotel
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Paradise in Portsmouth”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at The Clarence for the second time this past weekend. We had decided to get away from it all and despite the gloomy weather had a fabulous time at this amazing boutique hotel. We had a unequalled welcome and check in from the Jenny who recommended Koh Thai restaurant for our evening meal and a drink at The Chambers which are both really good. We stayed in The Terracotta room which had a marvellous rain shower. However, do get Jenny or Mark to show you how to use it ( unlike me) otherwise you may end up with a mini flood on your hands. Breakfast was delicious, really good ingredients and freshly baked bread every morning. No problems parking as you are given a permit and we got to park right outside the door. We had previously stayed in The monkey puzzle room which was larger on the top floor but you may need to book a bit more in advance for that one. The personal service and level of customer care are truly unique at The Clarence and we would recommend it to everyone visiting Portsmouth and Southsea. Long may it continue.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TraceyOC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeatTheClarence, General Manager at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, it was a pleasure to be able to welcome you back to The Clarence again. I am glad you enjoyed your breakfast, we use the finest local produce werever possible ,and our home made bread is always popular! We take great pride in offering all of our guests personal yet professional service which is why we have guests returning time and time again. We look forward to welcoming you both back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    957
    118
    25
    8
    3
See reviews for
41
796
30
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

My husband and I have visited this place on two occasions in the last two years and it just gets better each time ! It is spotless, decadent, relaxing and welcoming, the staff are polite and helpful, the owners are knowledgeable and helpful and nothing is too much trouble, the welcome drink on arrival as you check in is such a lovely idea and makes you feel very valued as a customer ! the rooms are all individually styled, luxurious and all come with features that you wont find in bigger chain hotels (the first room we stayed in last year had a sunken bath in the bedroom! Heavenly !) This year we upgraded to luella cherry and had the most amazing two person hot tub in our bathroom !! Breakfast is freshly prepared to order with great quality ingredients. I will be returning to this wonderful place again and again and again !!!!! Five star in every way !!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nikkib617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeatTheClarence, Manager at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, it was a pleasure to welcome you back to The Clarence. I am glad you enjoyed your stay again, repeat guests are an indication that we are offering the best levels of quality and service possible. We do strive to offer more personal levels of service and hospitality than the chain hotels, so it's great to know that this is appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to try another of our individually styled rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

A truly five star experience. My husband has family in Southsea and we were down to celebrate his birthday with them. As a special treat i booked for us to stay here, and am so glad that I did. Will definitely stay for longer next time. I actually preferred it to any big-named five star hotel - all the luxury with an added dose of friendliness. The welcome drink was very welcome and i loved the little quotes on the pillow as part of the turn-down service.The breakfast couldn't have been better. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Luella Cherry which was fab but bear in mind that does time for the HUGE double bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nalmale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeatTheClarence, General Manager at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. We are delighted to have been able to help make your Husband's Birthday a memorable one. I am particularly glad that you enjoyed your Breakfast and the turndown service. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back when you next visit family or for another special occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

After a long day at work it was a pleasure to walk into this beautiful hotel. The owners were very friendly and immediately made we feel welcome. The room was definately five star and so was the service. I had my evening dinner at the hotel and that was also very good and resonable. The overall experience was first class. Thank you.

Room Tip: There are only eight rooms and all are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colleen j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeatTheClarence, Manager at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay. We appreicate it when business travellers take the time to offer their views on their stay. I am glad that our friendly welcome and service were able to make your business trip a first class experience. I hope to be able to welcome you back to The Clarence the next time business brings you to Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We booked the Clarence as a stop over before visiting the Spitbank Fort and it was a great choice. We were greeted by Mark and Jenny, given a choice of rooms but we stuck with our original choice which was great. a lovely cosy room with ensuite shower and toilet, all new sparkling clean with everything we needed. We had booked an evening meal at a local restaurant and and taxi arrived promptly and took us off . When we came back the bed had been turned down and there were chocs on the pillow. After a good nights sleep we had a brilliant breakfast. The full English was piping hot and and fresh fruit on the sideboard was scrummy. All in all a brilliant start to our trip.

Room Tip: Other rooms have bathrooms if required we were very happy with the shower in ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeatTheClarence, General Manager at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay here at The Clarence. I am delighted that your found our Classical Room to be cosy and that everything you needed was provided for a comfortable stay a good nights sleep. Our Breakfast is the highlight of many of our guests' stays so we were pleased that you found it to be scrummy! We look forward to welcoming you back again when you are next visiting the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We had 1 night here for my husbands birthday. We live 10 miles away and normally go to London. This was such a nice change. The owners are excellent and helpful. We had the best room and it was great complete with big TV and double jacuzzi bath. Not cheap but worth it. Nice little friendly bar and an excellent breakfast. Plenty to see and do as well. We took a trip round HMS Victory, a sight to be seen. But there is loads more to see. Plenty of shops too. We had dinner in a top class restaurant just 5 mins walk
away. We had a great 24 hours and it was 20 mins to get home!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RCNLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

What a fantastic hotel!! I honestly couldn't recommend it highly enough. From the moment we walked through the door we were made to feel so welcome and taken straight to the bar for a complimentary drink, the room was amazing-no expense spared! and spotlessly clean. The owners are so freindly and keen to make sure you have everything you need to make the stay the best it could possibly be, In the morning when we went down to breakfast a table had been laid out with a birthday card on it for my girlfriend, we don't even recall telling them it was her birthday! Will definitely be staying there again

Room Tip: 'Luella Cherry' room is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
645 reviews
0.0 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
701 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,179 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#6 of 38 in Portsmouth
654 reviews
0.0 mi away
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarence Hotel

Property: The Clarence Hotel
Address: Clarence Road, Portsmouth PO5 2LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#11 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarence is Portsmouth and Southsea's multi award-winning adults only luxury boutique hotel. This Edwardian residence has been stylishly converted to offer well designed and individually styled rooms with luxury bathrooms. All rooms offer Air-conditioning, King-sized bed & Wi-Fi. Perfectly situated just 5 mins away from all major attractions and just a few hundred yards from the seafront, The Clarence is the ideal place to stay whether it be for Business or that well earned break. The Clarence also offers guests in-room health and beauty treatments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your The Clarence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarence Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing