We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous overnight stay!”
Review of The Clarence Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Clarence Hotel
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fabulous overnight stay!”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

The room is gorgeous, beautiful bed linen and the bath tub is a real treat. Lovely attentive but discreet service also, nothing was too much trouble....I would come back again for a special treat we felt very spoiled! Thank you!

Room Tip: If you are looking to spoil someone bring them here and stay in the room with the jacuzzi bath tub a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rollerderbychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeatTheClarence, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your recent review and lovely comments. Hopefully we can welcome you back sometime in the future.

Warmest Regards

Jenny Brunning
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    943
    117
    25
    8
    3
See reviews for
39
786
30
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Southwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Our visit to the Clarence provided us with an experience that was everything that we could have wished for. The welcome by the proprietors-the room standards-the breakfast surpassed the standards of the many hotels we have stayed in the past few years. Well done the Clarence!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nick_S1173140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeatTheClarence, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your review and it is always nice when customers recognise the quality of the breakfast and service provided at The Clarence.

Kindest Regards

Jenny Brunning
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Do not look any further, the hotel is both welcoming and very beautiful and if that isn't enough provides first class accommodation in every way. As previous guests have said "a superb breakfast, cooked to order and not a buffet bar in sight". The owners should train others before they open their own Boutique Hotels ! Superb in every way even down to a welcome drink offered on the house, a lovely touch !

Room Tip: They are all of the same standard - first class!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulieHolidays22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeatTheClarence, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you kindly for the lovely review and most welcoming words. We always strive to ensure that guests have a wonderful stay with us. It was a pleasure looking after you both and hopefully will see you again soon.

Warmest wishes

Jenny Brunning
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

As the title suggests, we booked this hotel as our 'Wedding Night' hotel. Although we're both from Portsmouth, we agreed that there wasn't anything 'romantic' about heading back to our own home after such a fantastic day.

Friends of ours recommended this hotel, as they'd done the same for their wedding and after such great reviews from them, we didn't hesitate to book. I'm so glad that we did, as we weren't dissapointed, at all.

The hotel has a number of 'themed' rooms and we'd booked the 'Luella Cherry' room, which has the luxury 'Spa Bath'. We thought we'd go all out for our Wedding Night and the room lived up to every expectation.

Firstly, we arrived around 9:15pm and found the door was locked. We rang the bell and were greeted by a friendly member of staff (Jade), full of smiles and great mannor. It was a warm welcome and made such a change from your 'chain hotel' greeting, which is often short of cheer, to say the least.

Jade invited us in the bar/reception area, where we were both offered a complimentary drink of our choice. Jade explained that she didn't expect us until a little later in the evening, so before handing us the keys, she wanted to make sure that everything was how it should be in the room and that the temperature was just right. This was a very nice, personal touch and we didn't mind having a seat in the bar.

As previously stated, Jade was very friendly and we had a good chat with her (I must add that it didn't seem like a forced 'customary' chat, either) She took genuine interest in our day and wanted to hear more.

Once we'd finished our drinks, Jade asked if we'd like to head to our room and showed us the way (Again, another nice touch and a welcome change from the usual "Up the hall and to the left" comment you'd get from most hotels).

Jade made sure that she explained everything in the room and how it all worked. Before leaving, she explained that she was available all night, so should we need anything, just call. This left us with the sense that nothing would be a burden, should we think of anything we needed.

We were left to take in the atmosphere and the character of the room, with each new discovery leaving us with a sense of "wow". The room was exceptionally spacious and was big enough for both of us to roam around and not feel like we were treading on eachothers toes. We could comfortably move around and it felt like a 'home from home'.

The bathroom was just as elegant, from heated floors to a unique shaped toilet and sink... And most importanlty, a very big Spa Bath, with room for two people to easily enjoy and relax.

The sound system in the bathroom was equally as good as the rest of the room and made for added relaxation, with some background music, whilst we soaked in the Spa Bath.

Once we were finished in the bath, we made the use of the complimentary bath robes and slippers. Once dry, we headed off to bed, which again matched the rest of the room... HUGE!

It was very comfy and after such a long day, was just what we needed. There were two pillows on the bed, so there wasn't a worry of 'not enough pillows'. My wife and I enjoyed the comfort and both agreed that it was one of the best night sleeps we'd had in a long time, at a hotel. As I've already said, it really did feel like a 'home from home.

In the morning, we went down to breakfast and were greeted by another, equally friendly, member of staff. He seated us, explained the buffet options available to us, took our drinks order and then advised that he'd be over again shortly to take our breakfast order from the menu.

The tea and coffee were fresh, which again, was another welcome change from the usual 'machine/instant' style available at other hotels.

My wife and I both ordered the 'Full English' and we weren't disappointed. We were given the option of either one or two eggs, toast was provided and the amount of food was perfect. We weren't left too full, or too hungry. The presentation of the food was simple, yet very effective and made a difference from a typical 'Full English', which can, at times, look like it's just been slopped on to the plate without any care or attention.

The food was cooked to perfection and tasted great. The food was fresh, hot and you could tell that it hadn't just been 'batch cooked', then reheated 'to order'.

Once we'd finished, we headed back to our room, to prepare for check-out. With most check-outs, you're greeted with the usual "Did you have a nice stay?" or "Was everything ok?", yet you feel that they're simply asking, because it's what they're told to do. On this occasion, we were asked the same, but you got the impression that there was genuine interest in our stay and they wanted to make sure that everything had lived up to expectations.

We advised of our thoughts and had a great conversation about our plans for the day and our honeymoon in New York. As the two members of staff had been, they shared their experiences with us and offered some points of interest, for when we head out there.

All-in-all, this was a fantastic hotel, with very efficient and friendly staff. It was just what my wife and I needed, to top-off and already magical day. We'd have no hesitations in staying again, whatever the next occasion and we'll be raving about it to anyone that'll listen.

Thanks for such a great night!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CrouchyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeatTheClarence, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased that you choose the Clarence for your wedding night and it lived up to your expectations and that both yourself and your wife enjoyed your stay with us. I hope to be able to welcome you back again soon. Both myself, Mark and all the staff at The Clarence would like to wish you the most wonderful life together.

Kindest Regards

Jenny Brunning
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

My Husband booked a night in this hotel for my 30th Birthday and I can honestly say I couldn't of had a better birthday treat. This hotel is decorated to a fantastically high spec & is superbly clean. In addition to this the service is second to none, from the moment we arrived and got offered a complementary drink we couldn't of been happier and being told that the bread that would be served with breakfast was in the oven cooking gave us cause to know we were in for a treat in the morning.
My husband assures me that the booking process was swift and easy and he was then offered advice on some local restaurants which may be of interest to us during our stay. Not only did the hotel advise us about restaurants they also booked us in and the recommendation was perfect for us.
ON our return to the hotel the bed had been turned down and little quotes and chocolates had been placed on the pillows which showed a lovely personal touch!
Breakfast was a taste sensation and the bread was well worth the wait, the chef and their kitchen assistants deserve a commendation.
I cant wait for another reason to stay again!!!!

Room Tip: Choose what works for you, we loved the monkey room as the wet room in it was amazing but if your a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank angelblf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeatTheClarence, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of The Clarence Hotel. It was a pleasure to look after you and I am thoroughly pleased that you enjoyed the overall experience. I hope to welcome you back sometime in the future.

Kind Regards

Jenny Brunning
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed here while attending a 40th birthday party at Spitbank fort. The manager was very helpful, and the rooms were beautiful. Very high standard of finish in the bathroom. Breakfast was super high quality, great bacon and sausage, and the best poached egg. Toast was thick cut and tasty, and they even had Marmite. Great fruit juices too. Lovely little bar which we didn't get to try out. Would definitely come again if we go back to Portsmouth.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeatTheClarence, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay, albeit a short one with us. Hopefully next time we will be able to welcome you for longer.

Kind Regards

Jenny Brunning
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for one evening and really liked the place. It's in a nice area of the city and very close to some great bars and restaurants. The hosts were friendly, and our complimentary arrival drink was gratefully received.

Our room was decorated to a very high spec, with heated floors and modern bathroom, lovely White Company products, and chocolates on our pillows. The only improvements I'd suggest for the room would be to invest in a better iron (it was small and not v good), and fit a brace for the shower head (we had to sit in the bath and hold the shower head over us).

Breakfast was lovely, with fresh fruits and home made bread available, as well as a great selection of cooked brekkie. We both had the salmon and scrambled egg on English muffin - delicious. One bit of feedback I'd give is to have a coffee/tea station in the room - we had to pay $5 to have a cuppa delivered to us in the morning, which we assumed would be in the room as standard with a hotel of this quality.

All in all, a good stay, and we would come back again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeatTheClarence, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for your review and feedback. It is always nice to hear the positive remarks but just as importantly things that could be improved upon also. The iron has now been replaced thank you for letting us know. The shower head I'm afraid has to be where it is so that it can be flexible and is also a health and safety requirement as we have the Aqua Vision TV's at the end of the bath. With regards to tea and coffee, we have always advertised that we do not do tea trays in our bedrooms. We much prefer to offer this complimentary in our lounge so that our rooms are kept free from tea/coffee stains. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us apart from the couple of niggles and would hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future. Kind Regards, Jenny Brunning
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
0.0 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
0.0 mi away
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#6 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarence Hotel

Property: The Clarence Hotel
Address: Clarence Road, Portsmouth PO5 2LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portsmouth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#11 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarence is Portsmouth and Southsea's multi award-winning adults only luxury boutique hotel. This Edwardian residence has been stylishly converted to offer well designed and individually styled rooms with luxury bathrooms. All rooms offer Air-conditioning, King-sized bed & Wi-Fi. Perfectly situated just 5 mins away from all major attractions and just a few hundred yards from the seafront, The Clarence is the ideal place to stay whether it be for Business or that well earned break. The Clarence also offers guests in-room health and beauty treatments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Clarence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarence Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing