We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second stay”
Review of The Clarence Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Clarence Hotel
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We returned to this hotel on a high after first visit but not all good this time I'm afraid,on our first evening, I was woken by noise which I thought was heavy rain at 230am,then to my amazement and looking outside no sign of rain, it was actually a shower going and also the bathroom fan, this went on and off for 35 mins, I was just about to phone reception, when it stopped, I mentioned this to member of staff next morning at breakfast and she informed me that she found it hard to believe this would happen,so next evening we returned after busy schedule hoping for an deserved rest at approx 1030pm settling down there was a loud roar above ie the jacuzzi bath started, and we could actually hear the film they were watching but at least noise stopped at midnight, this a great boutique hotel breakfast and cleanliness first class though.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ivor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeatTheClarence, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Thank you for choosing the Clarence once again for you second visit to Portsmouth in September. I am sorry to hear that you encountered some noise issues and hope that it will not put you off booking with us again in the future. I was not informed by the member of staff of the noise issue and had I been informed I would have acted on it immediately. Once again please accept my sincere apologies.

i am pleased that you found the quality of breakfast and the cleanliness not to have altered from your first visit and can assure you we are always striving to improve on all aspects of our business.

Kind regards

Jenny Brunning

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,156)
There are newer reviews for The Clarence Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

774 - 780 of 1,156 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2012

The second you step into this hotel is amazing, the owners were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble, the food is fantastic and the attention to detail really shows. The room was beautiful, lovely presented, and very clean.

we will be returning again....

Room Tip: we chose the monkey room which is situated at the top of the house. There is no view to this room, i...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TraceyCrickJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeatTheClarence, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Thank you for your recent review and hope to be able to welcome you back next year.

Have a wonderful festive season!

Kind Regards

Jenny Brunning

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

The wild at heart room is divine. Upon arrival we were greeted into the lovely warm bar where we were offered a complimentary drink of choice. We are then shown to our room where all our luggage is already in the room. You can set the temperature in the room and are given the warmest, fluffiest bathrobes and slippers. The drop down bath is a luxury and they supply white company bath products and you can order bath bombs at reception (at this point I feel like a kid at Christmas). Furthermore, the free films on demand and the tv built into the bath really added to our experience. I felt pampered and relaxed and would recommend this hotel and room to any couple wanting a nice getaway.

5 stars!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Gala2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeatTheClarence, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Thank you for your recent review. All our rooms at the Clarence are individual and I am really pleased that you enjoyed "The Wild at Heart" room with the sunken bath. I hope that we will be able to welcome you back another time so that you enjoy one of our other rooms. It is always advisable to book on our own website www.theclarencehotel.co.uk as this is the only place on the internet that you can book your desired room.

I wish you and your family a wonderful Christmas!

Kind Regards

Jenny Brunning

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We had a one night stay here and were impressed from the moment we booked it. Great communications via e-mail with details of little extra's that could be added.

Upon arrival we were greeted at the door and shown into the lounge for a complimentary drink whilst checking in, our bags were taken to the room and we were allowed to relax.

We had chosen Room 5 (Luella Cherry), what an excellent room, huge bed, great bathroom, exactly as shown on the website.

Breakfast was very good in the morning with a good selection on a buffet with a freshly cooked Full English Breakfast served until 11am at the weekends. 12pm checkout.

Parking is located on the street outside and is free with the permit.

About a £5 taxi fare to Gunwharf Quays.

All in all a fantastic hotel, spotlessly clean, with great hosts for which nothing was too much trouble, will definitely return and can't recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P1RSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeatTheClarence, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

We are over the moon that you found the Clarence quite simply one of the best hotels that you have stayed in. It makes our job so enjoyable when our guests enjoy their stay with us. Hopefully we can continue to improve so that future guests can also enjoy what you have experienced.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards


Jenny Brunning

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Just had 2 nights here. This is a very pleasent accomodating hotel. Very friendly owners and staff. The room was great, very clean and comfortable. Its in a great location for Southsea.
Very nice breakfast too!
I would give this a Five but for the fact we were kept awake by the noise of the jacuzzi on another room (this was 11.30 at night)
Highly recommended

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UKTonyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeatTheClarence, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Thank you for your recent review and it was a pleasure looking after you both. I do hope that you enjoyed coming back to Portsmouth and looking at all your old haunts from your University days.

Kind Regards

Jenny Brunning

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This is our third visit to the Clarence and what brings back is the attention to detail whether in decor, service or breakfast. It is this continued attention to detail which will keep them as the Number One on trip advisor. We have stayed three times in three rooms all special and all different.
Thank you and well done!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John_Malcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeatTheClarence, General Manager at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review of your most recent stay here at The Clarence. We are delighted that you have chosen to stay with us once again, hopefully you will try all 8 of our unique rooms! Our position as number 1 Hotel on Tripadvisor is of great pride to all the staff, and we continually seek to provide the highest levels of service and comfort to our guests. I hope to be able to welcome you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We had a wonderful time at the Clarence Hotel! Paula, the proprietor, was tirelessly helpful, attentive, and cheerful. The level of service was fantastic, comparable to a hotel several times the price. We stayed in the gold and bronze room which was charming and quirky. Highlights were the television above the bathtub and the heated bathroom floor. Breakfast was delicious and we were impressed by the general food and drink selection (from diet pepsi to Moet).

The only potential downside is that the Clarence is located outside the center of the city, but cab fare is generally less than £5 to get there.

Room Tip: Gold and Bronze room was a great split-level setup.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeatTheClarence, General Manager at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Gold and Bronze room is my favourite room, so I'm glad you found it to your taste. Our location, although not in the centre of the City is convenient to all the major attractions in the area, with the added bonus of being just 2 minutes away from Southsea'a lovely promenade. Gunwharf Quays and the Dockyard are a lovely walk from here (weather permitting!). I'm glad you enjoyed your breakfast and found the staff to be helpful, we always strive to make our guests welcome and hope that you will return next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#4 of 39 in Portsmouth
666 reviews
0.0 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 39 in Portsmouth
720 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#5 of 39 in Portsmouth
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
4.5 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,244 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#6 of 39 in Portsmouth
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarence Hotel

Address: Clarence Road, Portsmouth PO5 2LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Luxury Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#11 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: $111 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarence is Portsmouth and Southsea's multi award-winning adults only luxury boutique hotel. This Edwardian residence has been stylishly converted to offer well designed and individually styled rooms with luxury bathrooms. All rooms offer Air-conditioning, King-sized bed & Wi-Fi. Perfectly situated just 5 mins away from all major attractions and just a few hundred yards from the seafront, The Clarence is the ideal place to stay whether it be for Business or that well earned break. The Clarence also offers guests in-room health and beauty treatments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Clarence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarence Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing