We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Harris38”
Review of The Clarence Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Clarence Hotel
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Dover, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Harris38”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

What a wonderful place to stay. We received a lovely welcome with a complimentary drink of our choice which went down very well after a long journey. The rooms are stunning and very clean and comfortable , the staff are very friendly, breakfast is excellent and overall this is a first class hotel . I would highly recommend a stay at The Clarence, sheer luxury.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueH38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeatTheClarence, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for your recent review and positive feedback. We will look forward to welcoming back to "The Clarence" where we would hope that your stay will be just as wonderful.

Kind Regards


Jenny Brunning
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    943
    117
    25
    8
    3
See reviews for
39
786
30
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This hotel is delightful and the service and food exceptional! To be perfectly honest I'm writing this review whilst reluctantly packing my bag to go home. Welcomed with a complimentary drink of my own choice and have to say as a mother of 2 the hotels choice not to accommodate the under 18's was lovely :-)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marmite43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeatTheClarence, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review. I am always delighted to hear when guests have enjoyed our hotel and they have had such a good time that they write a review whilst they are still here. This means alot to us as hoteliers who are very proud of what we have created with "The Clarence". I hope we get the opportunity in the future to welcome you back.

Regards

Jenny & Mark Brunning
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Just returned from 3 day break at this hotel. Everything was just perfect. The staff were extremely helpful and courteous. We stayed in the Gold and Bronze room, it was wonderful, bedlinen and towels changed daily as was the complimentary toiletries. The lounge, bar area and breakfast room were first class as was the food and service. The owners were not there during our stay but they should be very proud of their staff. The recommendation of Sopranos restaurant was a great result, we enjoyed a wonderful meal.

Room Tip: any room on 2nd or 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GEOFF L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeatTheClarence, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for your kind review and I am sorry that we were not here to welcome you to our hotel on this occasion. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff looked after you throughout your stay. Hopefully next time when you are in the area I will be able to welcome you myself.

Regards

Jenny Brunning
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feusisberg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
271 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

warm welcome with a drink as well. Rooms are fine and well appointed with nice toiletries,fluffy robes and slippers. As you would find in a much more expensive luxury hotel. Breakfast is excellent and overall very good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank royvocking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeatTheClarence, General Manager at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed the experience and hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puno
Level Contributor
63 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

It was a shame we arrived late and had to leave early.

We arrived on bikes in the dark and rain and were immediately made to feel very welcome.

This hotel gets everything right.

A very minor point is that although the bikes were in a safe place it would have been nice if they could have been put under cover

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tony&marilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeatTheClarence, General Manager at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments, I am delighted you enjoyed your brief stay. Hopefully next time we will be able to welcome you for a longer stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stayed in the Luella room it is beautiful, decorated with good taste and done so very well. the spa bath was awsome and very relaxing. this was a very good treat for my girlfriend when i returned from deployment. the staff where very friendly and the breakfast was awsome too. would recomed this to anyone.

Room Tip: Each room is theamed slightly diffrent but the hot tub did it for me. very nice room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeatTheClarence, General Manager at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to be able to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, England.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights. The hotel has a very homely feel about it from the minute you walk in the door. The rooms are beautifly furnished with amazing furniture and superior bedlinens. Sparklingly clean.
White company bath products for use in the fun baths! The staff are fantastic and very knowledgable when recommending restaurants and transport and all members of staff provided a beautiful service. Fine breakfasts with home-made bread, different varieties each day, my husband turned into a `bread monster`. The only thing he left on the table was the flower. Congratulations to Mark & Jenny (the owners).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadMarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
0.0 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
0.0 mi away
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#6 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarence Hotel

Property: The Clarence Hotel
Address: Clarence Road, Portsmouth PO5 2LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portsmouth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#11 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarence is Portsmouth and Southsea's multi award-winning adults only luxury boutique hotel. This Edwardian residence has been stylishly converted to offer well designed and individually styled rooms with luxury bathrooms. All rooms offer Air-conditioning, King-sized bed & Wi-Fi. Perfectly situated just 5 mins away from all major attractions and just a few hundred yards from the seafront, The Clarence is the ideal place to stay whether it be for Business or that well earned break. The Clarence also offers guests in-room health and beauty treatments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Clarence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarence Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing