We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“just perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Clarence Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Clarence Hotel
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
yorks
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“just perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2011

This hotel lived up to its reputation. It was a very pleasant to be offered complimentary drinks on arrival.
The monkey room was very comfortable & lived up to expectation.
Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice available to suit all tastes.
Throughout our stay we were delivered attentive & excellent service through Louise & Gordon.
It's the first time that I have had iced water waiting for me on returning from my pre breakfast run on the splendid promenade walkway passing through Southsea castle to Clarence pier and returning over Southsea common. it is well worth exploring the local area.
Thank you for making it a memorable stay, we will return again

Room Tip: use the website to look at the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jumbok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    934
    116
    24
    8
    3
See reviews for
38
775
30
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2011

Portsmouth itself is fabulous place to visit on a leisurely holiday, with nightlife,great scenery and fantastic shops.The Clarence made my stay a holiday to remember, with its friendly staff and fantastic food.The WI-FI allowed me to stay up to date with my work e-mails, and meanwhile my wife endured in a bubble bath where she could watch a whole range of free movies.During the evening we decided to eat out, but returned to our bedroom to find a turn back service, where a chocolate was left upon our pillows.At breakfast I had smoked salmon which was absolutely beautiful, leaving us wondering why we did not book into the restaurant the evening before.It was overall a perfect break away for me and my wife, and would love to return again soon.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunstanton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

What a delight at last the perfect hotel in which to spend quality time away with your wife.From the very moment we where greeted by the proprietors was apparent that this stay would tick all the appropriate boxes. The bedroom was wonderful ,from the splendid bathroom with its master size jacuzzi to the oh so comfortable bed where one to choose a wide selection of up to date films whilst relaxing.More such hotels in our cities please.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2011

This hotel was a very pleasant surprise. We were warmly greeted on arrival and offered complimentary drinks. We were assisted with restaurant bookings and advised on places to visit whilst in Portsmouth. Breakfast was equally surpassed our expectation and was delivered with attentive service throughout! We will indeed visit again. Thank you!

Room Tip: Great place off the beaten track!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donVesuvius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2011

Having read the reviews on Trip Advisor I opted for this hotel for a Easter break having stayed at the Florence a couple of years ago (was disappointed in the room we had there) and seen this hotel en route to the beach. There weren't many rooms left (I should of booked earlier!) and as I like my showers I picked the Classical room (room 2) .... and wasn't disappointed at all.

The hotel is situated in a quiet road very close to the parks and sea front in South Sea. No shouting, no drunken groups.... just bird song and peace and quiet. You bascially turn a corner, then a very short walk, then its over the park and to the beach! The beach was much quieter here than further down near Portsmouth and there a vast parks and a cute little boating lake a short walk away. You can walk to the main shops in Portsmouth (wear your walking shoes) or get a cab, the staff are more than happy to order one for you and they all came within a matters of minutes!

We were shown into the lounge and given a free welcoming drink while our bags were taken into our room. We were also given a map on which Amber helpfully marked out some shops, places to eat and places to visit. (many we didn't even know where there!)

The room was beautifully decorated. There was a king size sleigh bed, a small but useable wardrobe (there's an ironing board so I just ironed what I needed to wear each day rather than hang things up, much easier!), dressing table, storage box at end of bed and a lovely little sofa. Plus a flat screen tv with free films! (we watched The Kings Speech.. for free!) The bathroom was lovely and the shower a delight, even my partner who isn't a shower person loved it.

The bed.... oh my, the bed. Best nights sleep ever!! I have never slept on a mattress like it. and the pillows, not once did I have to turn them half to try and get comfy. It was like laying on a mattress of air. (and I will be emailing to ask for suppliers!)

There is also air conditioning in each room which was a god send on such a hot weekend. Brilliant idea that.

Regarding the noise.... we were on the ground floor and the only noise we heard were a couple checking in late at night. I'm a very light sleeper and every hotel I have stayed in there is noise from other rooms, it is to be expected (I always have ear plugs with me, just in case I need them but didn't this time round).

The room was cleaned every day and the cleaning standards are so high! They did a turn down service in the evening (with little chocs and quotes on the pillows each night) and there wasn't a speck of dust or smear anywhere. You get little bottles of water each day as well which is a nice touch.

Now onto the breakfast. The list is large and nicely varied and the full breakfast is the best I have tasted. (the scrambled eggs were how I have always wanted to cook them but never worked out how). Had the waffles as well and they were lovely. The serving staff were so nice and helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. We also had the breakfast in our room (for no extra cost) and again, this was top class and delivered exactly on time. Also had room service in the evening and that was excellent. We had the cheese board and everything was fresh and served beautifully.

There was no tea or coffee making facilities in the room but I can understand why due to the high quality of the furnishings. However you can have tea and coffee for free in the lounge (which we did) or pay a small fee to have some in the room. This didn't really worry me as we were out most of the days we stayed there.

The most important thing though was the staff. A BIG thank you to Louise and Amber for making our stay so stress free and a delight. Nothing is too much for these ladies. We loved it so much we even stayed an extra night! Also a massive thank you to the cleaning and serving staff, and to the chef. You all made our first short break for 2 years an utter joy.

Also got the look at some of the other rooms and the pictures on the websites do not do them justice. We will be back, we just need to decide on what room to try out next!

Room Tip: Ask to view the other rooms if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redheadedminx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandhurst
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2011

greeted on arrival, given complimentary drinks. all staff very very friendly. shown to our room and guided through facilities, advised on room service, bar opening times, breakfast etc. fabulous aquavision tv with all current free films and tv channels, and music to sort all ears.
plenty of towels, loads of hot water, fluffy robes and slippers.
air con in room so could adjust it to temp we wanted to.
staff completed the 'turn down' service, where they turn down the bed sheets and leave choccies and inspiritational messages on your pillows, adorable personal touch!!
we had the wild at heart room right next to front door, didnt hear other guests leaving or coming back.
breakfast - fantastic choice, between cooked and continental, would absolutely 100% return here for a breakaway from normality and have recommended to loads of people about the excellent service you receive here.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charlotteandpete2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2011

had a lovely night at the clarence, friendly staff, room was beautiful, lots of special touches. Had a welcome drink on arrival and lots of help with where to go to eat etc will definatley return thanks

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garyandjulie52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
0.0 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
0.0 mi away
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#5 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarence Hotel

Property: The Clarence Hotel
Address: Clarence Road, Portsmouth PO5 2LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portsmouth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#11 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarence is Portsmouth and Southsea's multi award-winning adults only luxury boutique hotel. This Edwardian residence has been stylishly converted to offer well designed and individually styled rooms with luxury bathrooms. All rooms offer Air-conditioning, King-sized bed & Wi-Fi. Perfectly situated just 5 mins away from all major attractions and just a few hundred yards from the seafront, The Clarence is the ideal place to stay whether it be for Business or that well earned break. The Clarence also offers guests in-room health and beauty treatments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Clarence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarence Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing