We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great little gem!”
Review of Stattons Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stattons Hotel
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A great little gem!”
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

I simply can't fault this little hotel! We stayed last night in a nicely furnished & decorated double room (Room 1). It was lovely & clean with everything you could need. Breakfast was cooked beautifully. The staff were really friendly & helpful. We would absolutely chose to stay here again!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank an-old-pup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Stattons Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review we are very pleased that you found you couldn’t fault Stattons- this is a huge compliment! It’s lovely to hear that you enjoyed breakfast, we hope next time you will try our restaurant The Kitchen. Thanks again for the review we hope to welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    146
    48
    7
    6
See reviews for
39
395
60
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2014

3rd stay in 2014 with Ellie and the team at Stattons. First class service as always. What can I say otehr than staying again next week for 3 nights. Stattons is a good choice if you are visting Portsmouth. I took a day out out from my work and walked 500m to the D-Day museum then followed the Millenium footpath, along the seafront, right to Gunwharf shopping area, Spinnaker Tower and the Historic Dockyard. This route took in some of the old Portmouth area, forts and the mouth of the harbour. Made for a good day and a nice walk in the fresh air.

Room Tip: All good as individually decorated in a boutique style
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasilla, Alaska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I was impressed with Stattons Hotel when I walked into the reception area. I was looking for a quiet, clean comfortable hotel with beautiful English decor, I was not disappointed. Stattons Hotel will be on my next trip to Portsmouth, the cooked breakfast was excellent!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GypsySailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed over night to celebrate his birthday with our son at Portsmouth university. It was absolutely lovely, the room was so comfortable and stylish. Breakfast was relaxed and I can't wait to go back and spend a couple more nights there whilst my son is studying there.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Deby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Stayed for one night, booked through bookers.com. Very good for access to the sea front. Had a one bed. room. Really comfortable, excellently decorated. Receptionist very pleasant and informative. Breakfast was excellent. Stunningly decorated room. Well worth the money paid and well worth another visit. I shall be booking again.
Brilliant place & thanks for the hospitality.

Room Tip: Can only speak for room 4 ( I think).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicklowe2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Myself and my girlfriend stayed here for 2 nights recently for a post christmas break. Upon arrival we were met by Nick who checked us in and showed us to our room. He was full of brilliant local information and helped us to find somewhere for dinner that evening. We stayed in room 12 which is a lovely room, very comfortable bed and the bathroom is brilliant. Breakfast was included and was of a very high standard and plentiful. The lady at breakfast was very cheerful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We both enjoyed our stay here and the cleanliness of the hotel throughout was immaculate. It has a perfect location to explore the whole area and is set just off of Southsea parade.
We will definitely be returning here next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Chose this hotel based on the reviews here and we were not disappointed. The hotel is charming and the staff were so helpful and welcoming. The room was very comfortable and breakfast lovely, particularly the smoked salmon and scrambled egg on toasted muffin!!!
Although our room was by the stairs we never noticed other guests coming and going as it's a lovely solid Edwardian building. We asked if we could leave the car in the car park after checking out and this wasn't a problem, so we were able enjoy another morning in Southsea without having to worry about finding parking. It's touches like this that made the hotel stand out for us, together with the best sleep I have ever had in a hotel! Well done Stattons

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LBCee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
0.0 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stattons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stattons Hotel

Property: Stattons Hotel
Address: 6 Florence Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 2NE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Stattons Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful boutique hotel with lounge bar. Free high speed internet and secure off road parking. Minutes from the seafront and a short taxi trip to Gunwharf Quays for shopping and a wide range of restaurants. Shops and restaurants in walking distance. The Mercer Collection's A La Carte sister restaurant The Kitchen Southsea is 30 seconds walk away with The Florence Arms Gastro Pub just next door ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Stattons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing