We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Professional and Relaxing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stattons Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stattons Hotel
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Professional and Relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice now for business reasons and will definately be returning as the hotel is of the highest quality.

The staff are very professional and friendly and make you feel at home, which helps when you want to relax after a hard days work. The receptionist (Akvile) stood out as a real asset to the hotel and nothing was a problem for her.

I would recommend this hotel if ever you are in Southsea, a real gem.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Stattons Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Scott,

Thank you for such a lovely review! We are glad you enjoy staying at Stattons. It's always nice to have you here. We're looking forward to welcoming you next week!

Best wishes,
All at Stattons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    142
    47
    7
    6
See reviews for
37
382
56
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed here for the evening after proposing to my girlfriend and what a great choice. The staff at the hotel were nothing short of brilliant, helping me with special arrangements for the evening. The rooms are furnished to the highest standards and the location is fantastic - in a quiet area but within walking distance to local nightlife. Breakfast in bed was served beautifully! highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Stattons Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for choosing Stattons Hotel for such a special evening! We enjoyed having you here and we are looking forward to welcoming you again!

Best wishes to you and your fiancee.
All at Stattons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Picked this hotel at random should have bought a lottery ticket on the same day it was very good, very clean and comfortable, the staff, especially Aqua the receptionist, were very helpful and friendly without being intrusive. Our visit was to see the historic dockyards, including the Mary Rose, and although the hotel is in Southsea, we found the walk quite easy along the front, and when we got tired we used our bus passes on the frequently run No. 1 bus. We would certainly stay again and recommend the hotel to friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jar6630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Stattons Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for taking time to leave us a review!
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel clean and comfortable and staff friendly. Please do not hesitate to visit us again!

Best wishes,
All at Stattons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salcombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Part of the Mercer Group of hotels, this was my first stay at Stattons. I normally stay at The Florence (it's sister hotel across the road) but it was fully booked for the dates that I required.

As usual and as I've come to expect the room was fully up to expectations with great soft furnishings, easy on the eye colours, great laundry and linen. Breakfast was really good as usual (thank you for my 'special' yogurt!). Service is always lovely - individual and not too formal.

I read that a reviewer thought this was in a run down area of Southsea?? Really?? I have no idea where they thought they were but if you want a great location for beach, sight seeing, shops etc then there is no better location than where Stattons Hotel is situated.

I shall have to try their next new hotel in a couple of months, well done to all - your hard work shows!

On a different note, there is a lovely little pub called the Florence just down the road - clean & friendly!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hampshirelillibet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Stattons Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We always enjoy having you here visiting your son. It was a pleasure to see you again and we are looking forwards to your future visits!
Best wishes,
All at Stattons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

I've been staying at Stattons on and off for a while - for work - and I recommend it. The staff are helpful and friendly, the atmosphere is very relaxed, the beds are comfortable, the breakfasts are excellent. A little hidden oasis of tranquility on a busy day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gladys63_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Stattons Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
It’s always a pleasure to read nice reviews. Thank you so much for your kind words - we really enjoy having you here at Stattons. Do not hesitate to contact us if you are in the area and we will be happy to see you again.
Many thanks and Best wishes,
All at Stattons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Great welcome and experience. Nothing is too much trouble.

We had a weekend seeing the historic dockyard and old Portsmouth town, although this hotel is in south sea its well worth the small taxi ride and slight extra cost as there is parking with the room.

We had a small double room with bath which was quite large really, considering the description.

We even had breakfast in bed a lovely touch.

Already planning to book again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank la4557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Stattons Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words! Our Small double is the only room with a bath so it is very popular! We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay and loved the breakfast in bed. We are looking forward to welcoming you again!
Many thanks and Best wishes,
All at Stattons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Molesey, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

This lovely Boutique Hotel was just wonderful. The staff, especially Aqua, we're very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble.
Very, very highly recomended.
We stayed for two nights and had two fantastic breakfasts. Can't wait to stay again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Stattons Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Connie and Graham,

Thank you so much again for such a lovely review. It was a pleasure meeting you and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in December!
Many thanks and best wishes,
All at Stattons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
0.0 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stattons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stattons Hotel

Property: Stattons Hotel
Address: 6 Florence Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 2NE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Stattons Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful boutique hotel with lounge bar. Free high speed internet and secure off road parking. Minutes from the seafront and a short taxi trip to Gunwharf Quays for shopping and a wide range of restaurants. Shops and restaurants in walking distance. The Mercer Collection's A La Carte sister restaurant The Kitchen Southsea is 30 seconds walk away with The Florence Arms Gastro Pub just next door ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Stattons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing