We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Miss”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Forest Cabin

Lodge set in 3 acres within the national park, Views across open fields and woodlands from lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lodge set in 3 acres within the national park, Views across open fields and woodlands from lounge
Patio opening on to 3 acre new forest garden. Christmas tree and decorations provided Modern eye level wood burner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
47 reviews
Lodge set in 3 acres within the national park, Views across open fields and woodlands from lounge
Patio opening on to 3 acre new forest garden. Christmas tree and decorations provided
Modern eye level wood burner
Double oven fully fitted Kitchen light and airy
Modern dishwasher, top of the range washer and separate dryer
Hot tub for 6 people
Outside dining for 4-6 with views across the New Forest
37 degree hot tub with multiple jets air blowers and mood lighting
Additional patio seating and gas BBQ
Close up of the eye level woodburner
2 Super King or 1 Twin and 1 Super King bedded room with Smart TV and Sonos in each room
King size bed headboards Smart TV and touch lighting
Ensuite large shower and toilet
Family bathroom and shower
Family bathroom, sink toilet bath and shower
King or Twin bed in bed 2 again with all Linen and towels
Gas BBQ
Views of the National park from the nearby footpath
7 miles of sandy beaches close by (12 Miles or 15 minutes)
New Forest ponies will come close
New Forest wild horses, ponies donkeys cows and pigs
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
New Forest National Park Hampshire, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
louise k
1 review
“Miss”
Reviewed October 5, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Had a wonderful time here was everything we wanted and more would definitely come back lovely place to stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AM54AMY
2 reviews
“Ms”
Reviewed September 21, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The perfect little getaway! Forest cabin was a great mix of a forest retreat with lots of creature comforts. The cabin was clean and comfortable, with modern decor and all the gadgets a townie depends on. The hot tub was a great addition to the stay and well worth the extra. Great location just minutes away from a handy village, a few pubs and the all important ponies! Would definitely return

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 11, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and owner and staff helpful and there for you if needed
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Aimee S
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
Reviewed September 2, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Great stay. The jacuzzi was top. Lots of activities im the area including horse riding, kayaking, canooing and great pubs in the area.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bob t
1 review
“Forest cabin”
Reviewed September 2, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a great week mid August at forest cabin. There is really everything you need here for a great break. We were spoilt by the weather and found loads of great bike trails and fishing lakes and had a lovely day on the beach at Bournemouth.
Moor valley country park was great as was the inflatable course at the new forest water park.
Accommodation was very clean and tidy and location is super just outside of Fordingbridge on the edge of the new forest.
If I had to be picky I would agree with some of the other reviews that there is some decoration etc to be finished off and the guide book could do with an update as some of the fishing details were out of date and directions etc could have been better. Buts that's all I found to fault and we had a great time here. Rental value was good for the stay compared to similar places we looked at.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harpen201...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“The New Forest - Wow! Forest Cabin - Boo!”
Reviewed August 31, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Before you think about booking this property I would advise that you read all the trip reviews and not just the first page, probably my biggest mistake ! My first thoughts were, ok, sounds like there's a few things being renovated at the moment but I can look past that, everything else sounds lovely ! Upon reading all the reviews on my return, I can see that we were one of a long list of unhappy clients! It didn't start well, when we arrived , 800 miles later, to find we couldn't get into the property and couldn't get hold of the owner to get in! After being put through to a call centre , we eventually got the code we needed from them to get in, and were texted by the owner to say he had sent us it 8 hours previous! First untruth. After speaking to the people staying next door, we also found they had the same problem and were told the same thing! We had been offered use of the hot tub free of charge - very generous we thought, which prompted us to book in the first place. Imagine our disappointment and that of our children, when we opened it to find it was filthy inside, all this "stuff" floating on top if it, yuk! After texting the owner and many rude texts from him later, basically not wishing to acknowledge the problem at all, I asked if we could use the neighbours as they hadn't used theirs and he obliged , much to my surprise. The general appearance of the accommodation is ok , but the patio area was very worn, a very scabby table and chairs with an umbrella which was all torn and didn't even fit the table and an overgrown garden. The view is nothing like that shown on the picture on the website, yes its the view, but there are no horses, the field was completely overgrown and you had no view whatsoever of the New Forest. There was a lot of pipe work showing inside and patched up walls, also half the cupboards were full of boxes of curtains and things , obviously for the renovation. The front door is tucked away in a dingy little alley and very unwelcoming and the overflow from the bathroom comes out beside it - nice! As the other traveller noted, it is very difficult to get into the driveway, so hopeless if youre driving a large vehicle ! I wouldn't have minded quite so much if it had been advertised as under renovation but the owner is extremely rude if you try to point this out - beware. On our return, he sent me a nasty email telling me that we had broken the macerator in the kids bedroom by blocking it with baby wipes!!! Our children are 11 and 13 and we didn't even have any baby wipes with us!!! He then informed me he would be withholding our £275 deposit to pay for the repairs. He was adamant we were at fault and would not be returning our money. Upon providing me with absolutely no evidence of this and after many emails back and forth requesting it, I took it to paypal , whom I can happily say rectified the dispute and we now have our money back. I was thouroughly disappointed with his attitude from day one and would not recommend anyone to this property. The ongoing maintenance perhaps could be overlooked but his unhelpfulness and attitude cannot. I just felt it was clearly a case of, once we,ve got your money , you're on your own. The New Forest however, fabulous. Will be back but just not there!

Liked best: The location
Liked least: the owner
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 14, 2016
See our 5* reviews prior to and straight after this guest stay,
This guest stayed in July not August see booking details, the first lie
Jul 15, 2016 - Jul 22, 2016 7 nights 4 guests
#BR21219746Forest Cabin

She was a difficult woman who caused £280 worth of damage for which we provided receipts for the replacement and invoice and proof of damage. Here is the proof the problem occurred during her stay the day before she was due to leave
YouJul 21
Penny the plumber was told today but they all have planned work and cannot just let customers down. The macerator which is only 3 months old has failed. They only usually fail if guests place something they cannot process like baby wipes etc. The plumber will investigate and report. In the meantime, we have ordered a replacement unit that will take 48hrs to arrive. Regards

Below is the paypal credit for that damage after independently validating proving this guest lies.
The outside tables chairs and sun shade are all new so yet another lie. The photos are all of the exact location again more lies. We provided the hot tub free of charge yet she still was not happy. We do try our best to help all guests but in this case we would not allow her to stay in any of our properties ever.
Correction (Unique Transaction ID: 7SK5155788794521E)

Name: PayPal
Total amount: £275.00 GBP
Fee amount: £0.00 GBP
Net amount: £275.00 GBP


________________________________________

Date: 29 Aug 2016
Time: 09:18:15 BST
Status: Completed
________________________________________

Subject: 275.00 GBP;PayPal Posting Date:Aug 29, 2016;Payment from:Paypal;A credit was issued to your account in relation to Case ID PP-005-034-607-495. We apologize for any inconvenience and appreciate your business with PayPal.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GraemeB78
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Clean, good wifi, responsive owner”
Reviewed August 30, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed for a week in Forest Cabin in early August.

Plus Points

1. It was clean and tidy on arrival
2. The wifi worked well throughout the week
3. it was well equipped with a working washing machine, full set of cutlery/crockery etc
4. The owner was very responsive and answered when we called
5. BBQ was easy to use and there is a nice patio area at the back
6. Although next door to another B&B, we didn't hear the people using it - the cabin is very peaceful and quiet
7. Fordingbridge is an easy 5 minute drive and they have a great playground/park on the river for children to play in.

Room for Improvement

1. As others have said, there are a few things that just need finishing off - a good workman could sort it all in 3 hours
2. The guide document the owner sent was helpful but I think more related to the linked B&B next door - ie there is no tumble dryer in Forest Cabin
3. The water pressure in the showers wasn't great - the owner said this was down to the water company and the hot water always worked to be fair

Overall, a good base to explore the New Forest, and we would stay there again.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing