We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy and romantic haven in the New Forest.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Garden Room

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
New Forest National Park Hampshire, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dylanthom...
pula sardinia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Cosy and romantic haven in the New Forest.”
Reviewed August 17, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had 4 nights in the garden room and it was really lovely. The decor and surroundings were relaxing and peaceful and we were right on the edge of the forest for walks and exploring. Sue made us feel very welcome and we arrived to lovely home made snacks and a fridge full of food and drink. We enjoyed muesli, fruit and bread for breakfast. On two evenings we had a BBQ and had a candlelit meal under the lovely gazebo. The farm has many animals including the wonderful Andalusian horses. It was a really relaxing break and we felt well looked after and very at home. Thanks to you all! Ellie and Angus

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy quiet, friendly, lovely countryside
Liked least: Bed was a bit soft for us1
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picky-tra...
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Welcome but a little bizzare”
Reviewed June 25, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The welcome was great, they made us and our dog more than welcome, lots of special touches from the huge breakfast cereal / pastry selection to the little nibbles suppplied on arrival - but the studio was a lot more basic than we had expected - probably our fault for not checking, but my studio I had as a student many years ago had more than this.

Our dog loved having his own (enclosed) garden to explore - but I did not expect to be washing up in the bathroom sink! The studio has NO cooking facilities, not even a toaster apart from the outside BBQ. If you want hot meals then you need to eat out.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Welcome and area
Liked least: Facilities
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLenz
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just delightful.....”
Reviewed June 20, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

There isn't much that can be said over the reviews already given - we chose it from these and were not disappointed! It's the little touches (lovely well stocked fridge with home made yoghurts and chutney; nice bottle of red and well presented pastries for breakfast). Relaxed and slept like we haven't for years and the choice of walks and views directly from the property are fabulous.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie P
2 reviews
“Wonderful”
Reviewed May 31, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I can only ditto the previous review comments, it was such a lovely relaxing place even our energetic sprinters were totally relaxed here. Lovely surroundings and the owner was very attentive and friendly. We hope to return/retreat here again soon.

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B
Wadhurst, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed May 11, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

My partner and myself has such a wonderful time staying in the Garden Room!
Such a cosy and inviting place we felt at home straight away! Sue was attentive and joy to chat with making us even more relaxed.

The perfect location for walks or a place just to wind down. We chose to spend our evenings relaxing with a BBQ because it was such a lovely place, but you are minutes away from 2 pubs for a bite to eat or few swift ones.

We will both definitely be returning

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquillity
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ihabelgha...
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Loved it !!”
Reviewed April 29, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

My wife and I went to stay here for a couple of nights last week. The place was absolutely charming, easy to find, clean, comfortable and warm. The hosts were very polite, welcoming and flexible. You have your own entrance, keys, parking and no one bothers you. it's really nice to be around the animals too. The fact that you can walk out of the gate and be in the middle of the forest is really cool. We really loved this quiet, charming place and would recommend it to anyone. Breakfast was included and was plenty too.

Thanks for everything Sue & Maz.

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom_and_R...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Just Perfect”
Reviewed September 21, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The Garden Room is fantastic, a functional space but with tons of personality. Sue was really friendly and helpful, we even had gorgeous homemade chocolate mousse and quiches on our arrival. We took our cat, Fifi, with us and she was the first cat to stay in the Garden Room - she even had her own welcome note and package of cat food - the little touches were wonderful. Fifi was mesmerised watching the horses each morning!

On our last evening we had a flat tyre (largely due to being run off the narrow roads in the New Forest by a mean 4x4!). Maz was great and gave us a helping hand. We had to get a new tyre the next day and so was about half an hour late checking out, which Sue was not phased by.

It was lovely to walk around and meet with cats, chickens, dogs and horses - I looked forward to coming and going just to get some cuddles!

Would highly recommend the Garden Room to anyone who wants a relaxing break in the heart of the New Forest.

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Quirky decor and animals
Liked least: Leaving!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing