We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“lovely barn, peace and quiet.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Sweetslade

Sweetslade seen from the east with views over open countryside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sweetslade seen from the east with views over open countryside
The view to the east from the gable windows The spacious open-plan living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
90 reviews
Sweetslade seen from the east with views over open countryside
The view to the east from the gable windows
The spacious open-plan living area
The light & sunny dining area
The large bedroom with en-suite bathroom
Sweetslade seen from the south with sunny seating area
The living area with woodburning stove and flat screen HD TV
Lovely views from the living room
The well-equipped & stylish kitchen area
The well-equiped & stylish kitchen area
Wake up to a view of the open countryside
The spacious bedroom with king size bed, and open staircase to the ground floor
A luxurious en-suite bathroom
The bedroom features a stunning south-east facing gable window
A view of Sweetslade from the footpath
A short walk from the door to the bluebell woods
The footpath from Sweetslade to the village & pub
A view of Rockbourne village
A view of Rockbourne village
The Rose and Thistle pub in Rockbourne
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
New Forest National Park Hampshire, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 90 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Bev H
Kent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“lovely barn, peace and quiet.”
Reviewed August 23, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Had a lovely long weekend, the barn was lovely, had everything you needed and more. So peaceful and great for a weekend of relaxation. Would definitely recommend to friends and we will return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peace and quiet
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2015
Thanks for taking the time out to review, very pleased you had a relaxing time look forward to your return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BizzyLizz...
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed August 6, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Rockbourne Holiday cottage was everything it 'said on the tin' and more. The cottage was fully equipped and very comfortable. Numerous walks from the door/nearby Fordingbridge with good food in pubs/restaurants en route. We thoroughly enjoyed our week in this area and would love to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 9, 2015
So pleased you had a good experience and do come back soon.Thanks Robert
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nlisher
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic & relaxing holiday in an ideal location.”
Reviewed July 17, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Stayed here for 4 nights during July with my Fiancee for a short break. The cottage is located in a very nice area and is extremely well maintained with a very modern interior & with everything you may need available to you.

The cottage is in an ideal location for exploring the New Forest surrounding either on foot, by bike or by car. We spent one of the evenings going on the 4 mile walk that the owner had pointed out to us - beware of the overgrown paths!!!! something that was supposed to take 1.5hrs ended up taking 4! - but it definitely made it more enjoyable and was very amusing!

Would definitely recommend this to anyone wanting a short/long break in a lovely relaxing setting. We will definitely be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The interior of the property and its location
Liked least: Leaving!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 18, 2015
Pleased to hear you had a good time must get my machete out and clear those paths.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 15, 2015
Thanks for taking the time for such a comprehensive review hope to see you both again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Oats1995
1 review
“Perfect weekend away!!”
Reviewed April 20, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

A beautiful place set in a beautiful area, nice walks, very good pub just a short walk away. Was exactly what we wanted. Would 100% recommend!!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 22, 2015
Thank you for taking time to review great that you had a good time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jazzahlee
1 review
“Completely perfect couple getaway!”
Reviewed January 18, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We had a a wonderful surprise birthday weekend here, just got back todayand feel like a few days was nowhere near long enough. Robert was waiting to welcome in and talk us through when we arrived. Facilities were done to a very high standard and the photos don't do it justice. Honestly have nothing bad to say, we will be back within the year! Would definitely recommend. Thank you so much!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 19, 2015
Thanks for taking the time to review so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, I'll look forward to your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer...
2 reviews
“Beautiful property in a beautiful location!”
Reviewed December 30, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

My partner and I spent 3 days over Christmas at Sweetslade and were delighted with the property and its surroundings. The property was in an immaculate condition and the owner has thought of everything you would need, which came in very handy for us when cooking our Christmas dinner. The log burner is a really nice touch although the property is very warm and has storage heaters it was nice to have the log burner going in the evenings.
Rockbourne itself is a very picturesque village and the local people we met were very friendly. We would highly recommend the Rose and Thistle which is a 15-20 minute walk up the main road, we ate there twice during our stay and the food was amazing. The new Landlord was very friendly and although he has only been at the pub for a few weeks the information he gave us about the area was very interesting and the service was fantastic. There are plenty of walks which can be accessed via a pathway at the side of the property taking you round to Whitsbury or through to Fordingbridge. We would highly recommend this property for anyone looking for a quiet relaxing break and a romantic getaway. We will never forget our stay here as we got engaged on Christmas Day and when we get the opportunity we would love to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall look of the property, modern but very cosy!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 30, 2014
Congratulations on your engagement you know where to come for your anniversaries now !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing