We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great stay”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Forest Corner

Forest Corner view with New Forest Ponies
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Forest Corner view with New Forest Ponies
Christmas- New Year 2012 dining in Forest Corner (dining for 8) Snug complete with wood burner, office area,  27 iMAC, laser printer and Broadband WiFi throughtout
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
143 reviews
Forest Corner view with New Forest Ponies
Christmas- New Year 2012 dining in Forest Corner (dining for 8)
Snug complete with wood burner, office area,  27 iMAC, laser printer and Broadband WiFi throughtout
Caldera Geneva Spa Hot (36-40c) Tub with 47 hydro spa jets, air blowers, mood lighting at night
Winter in the National Park at Forest Corner
Cosy snug with log fire and stretch out leather sofas and HiFi
Caldera Geneva Spa Hot (37c) Tub with 47 jet, air blowers, mood lighting available as an extra
Lounge area with flat screen TV, Bose sound system, Apple TV and Xbox 360 Kinnect
View of Forest Corner behind the New Forest Ponies
New Forest Ponies on your doorstep
Second king size bedroom complete with Bose sound system and view across the forest
King size Master bedroom with 3D HD LED TV and DVD, all linen and towels provided
Master bedroom ensuite shower and sink with view along landing
Outside dining for 8 with view to the private back garden and BBQ, Cycle and log store
500 yards up the lane, 365 Hectares of New Forest
Master Bedroom terrace with view across the national park and al fresco dining
Al fresco dining, view from back garden along the side of cottage
20 minutes from 7 miles of sandy beaches and shingle coves
Family bathroom with large corner bath to supplement ensuite shower room and downstair shower room
Modern Neff Double oven, dishwasher, microwave in fully equiped country Kitchen with freeview TV
Modern luxury 4 ring gas BBQ and side burner
Additional accommodation, King size master bedroom and  2nd bedroom or 2 singles  bath/shower/toilet
Additional accommodation with direct access and views across the New Forest national park
Additional accommodation available upon request for up to 4 extra guests 3D TV's & Bose thr
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
New Forest National Park Hampshire, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 143 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
KTB148
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled by the 'good' reviews - especially if you want your deposit back!”
Reviewed November 24, 2017 for a stay in November 2017
6
people found this review helpful

Our biggest advice about Forest Corner, and Forest Lodge is read the bad reviews (aka genuine reviews) first! They could not be more accurate about our stay, and I wish we had read them before we committed to the booking - I am writing this after a long battle trying to get my deposit of £275 back after a false claim that we marked the carpet. If you read the other reviews you will find multiple other people have had the same problem trying to get the deposit back and to me, it seems this is a total scam.

1. we made the initial booking via Holiday Lettings, only to receive an email to say the owner had changed the quote to over double the price (!!) and increased the deposit from £85 to £275. Having queried it with the owner, they were very abrupt with the response and said I should have read the 'short stays' section in the description. ... or maybe they should just provide Holiday Lettings with the correct information in the first place??! I should have gone with my gut at this point and cancelled the booking as something didn't feel right.

2. A few days before we arrived the owner emailed me with the key code and also advised me that we hadn't booked the hot tub (£95!) and some other things - we didnt even realise these came at an additional cost but trust me, don't book them. There's no way we would have even gone near the hot tub, it did not look like it had ever been cleaned!

3. Upon arriving my friend called me to say the code provided was incorrect so I gave them the number of the owner. She said that he was extremely unpleasant on the phone and aggressive and almost implied it was her fault the code was incorrect. It turns out the cleaners had changed it – we got not apology for the inconvenience.

4. Once we got into the house, we realised there was not enough bedding for the 7 people that we booked for so one person had no bed or bedding. It says it sleeps 10 – and I also told him there were 7 adults and he allowed the booking with no indication that we might need to bring bedding for this.

5. There were loads of wasps in the house when we arrived (some dead on the bed - yuck) and we then found a huge wasps nest which was an issue as one person had an allergy to stings (the same person that had no bed.. great start for her!) We notified the owner of this but i doubt anything has been done about it since. In the master bedroom you can also hear mice or squirrels or something scurrying around at night and early morning which is not relaxing at all.

6. When we arrived there were wet dirty towels drying around the house hanging off chairs and doors, presumably because the dryer also had a note on it saying it was broken.

7. The bin was already full and hadn't been emptied. The Utensils, sides, dishwasher were dirty, cobwebs in corners of all ceilings and generally just dirty everywhere. Not sure how much they are paying the cleaner but they are getting ripped off either way! The sink in main bedroom did not drain (notice this had already been reported in July – see previous reviews) and hadn't been fixed.

8. He didn't tell us there were other guests staying in Forest Lodge... which is in the garden of Forest Corner. So we got totally spooked as they walked right through the garden to get to their car and it's not very relaxing knowing someone is staying in the garden that you don't know!

9. The carpets upstairs were already marked in multiple locations, some of these covered by bath mats.

Finally, the day after we checked out (and had the courtesy of telling the owner about multiple faults with the property) they emailed to say they were holding back £100 of our deposit for a tea stain on the carpet in the main bedroom, which is an out and out lie! (i don't drink hot drinks, only took water in there in a sports cap bottle, and the state the house was in when we arrived was absolutely appalling so there is no way that I have any trust in the cleaning company that 'reported' this). Luckily because of the state of the house we took photos of absolutely everywhere and could prove it was there when we arrived. We have now finally got our whole deposit back and it angers me that I am having to write this, and that I didn't take note of the genuine reviews before we booked.

This is easily the worst place we have ever stayed and the worst customer service I have ever experienced. Just don't put yourself through it!! It totally ruined a weekend with friends that were leaving to move abroad. Completely tarnished our time there which is so disappointing.

I expect the owners response will start with ''Contrast that with 175 5* reviews...'' and notice how they don't comment on any of the good ones. Probably because they didn't want to reply to their own ones! LOL

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 1, 2017
This guest didnt stay at Forest Lodge as there review confirms. The previous guests rated it 5*. These guest lied because trip advisor deducted part of their damage deposit. Thankfully most guests dont cause damage and are honest, these were not and lie. Here is the proof. They caused damage and when trip advisor independently reviewed the photographic evidence and statements from the cleaning company and the separate independent inspection team they awarded the claim to us. Yes trip advisor hold deposits and they decide. No we cannot force anyone to leave a review to any * standard as trip advisor hold deposits and return these unless there is strong evidence provided damage was definately caused and by those guests and that there's a paid recepted invoice from a legitimate independent provider. Trip advisor decide not us. Feel free to check direct with trip advisor. This guest is dishonest just like their review motivated by having to pay a few pounds for the damage they caused. Always check with trip advisor don't believe these guests."
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
greenrefl...
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beware”
Reviewed October 27, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
3
people found this review helpful

Disappointing venue had high hopes. Could be really nice. The area is really beautiful although it is near cross roads and the cattle grid disturbs sleep. It needs a thorough deep clean. Dishwasher didn't wash, tried twice and gave up and washed by hand.Dryer was not working. Left a note for the cleaners regarding lamp shade broken in bedroom which was already cracked, charged £65. Didn't use the garden, the shed looked like it would fall down . Luckily didn't pay extra for the hot tub so that was a bonus. Carpets well stained and the house smelt of dog. Cupboard in TV room is falling apart and is kept shut by keeping sofa pushed up to it. There is also a wasps nest and they invaded the house. Also I think you may have a rodent problem in the eaves. Which kept me awake. I could go on but I am bored and fed up.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 9, 2017
Previous guest gave 5* and this reviewer threatened to leave a bad review when they got charged by trip advisor who hold damage deposits and only deduct if the guest agrees for the lamp they accepted they broke We don't allow pets so no dog smells and most of the rest you can take as lies. Over 150 5* reviews say it all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Great location for exploring the New Forest and beyond.”
Reviewed October 9, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We are a family of 5 from Essex and we stayed for 4 nights at the beginning of October. We were in the area to visit Peppa Pig World and also Osborne House on the Isle of Wight and these were easily accessible. For the rest of the time we relaxed at the cottage and explored the New Forest. Our children loved seeing ponies, cows and also pigs roaming around outside. The accommodation was great and was clean and tidy when we arrived, with plenty of space and a well equipped kitchen. I would happily stay there again and recommend to friends.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valerieB2...
Hastings, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great Holiday”
Reviewed September 23, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Had a lovely few days at Forest Corner .The house was great every thing you would want from a holiday home .The bed was really comfortable.. It was lovely & clean & very spacious. Seeing the horses in the morning on the green was a lovely sight .Hope to be back .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jhatch201...
Darwen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth.”
Reviewed September 18, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This is a beautiful house in the most stunning of locations. Due to its orientation you get the feeling on arrival that it is quite small but nothing could be further from the truth. The house is huge and furnished with sumptuous leather couches. There is a top notch audio system and huge flat screen TV in the main lounge. The bedrooms give excellent views over the adjacent countryside. The property is ideally located for visits to many popular visitor attractions including Monkey World, Bournemouth and of course the huge New Forest were we saw many ponies and Sika deer. The kitchen is well equipped and just outside the back door is a hot tub that to call huge would be an understatement. I visited with my daughter and her partner and we are already decided that it will not be our last visit.

Jim

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benson121...
2 reviews
“Our visit to forest corner”
Reviewed August 12, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Had a lovely week at forest corner. The place was very clean and adequate for what we needed. Hot tub was very good and we really enjoyed it. A lovely place and quiet area to stay. Thank you for the use of your cottage. Diane

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;