We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Luxury cottage in the New Forest”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Forest Corner

Forest Corner view with New Forest Ponies
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Forest Corner view with New Forest Ponies
Christmas- New Year 2012 dining in Forest Corner (dining for 8) Snug complete with wood burner, office area,  27 iMAC, laser printer and Broadband WiFi throughtout
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
124 reviews
Forest Corner view with New Forest Ponies
Christmas- New Year 2012 dining in Forest Corner (dining for 8)
Snug complete with wood burner, office area,  27 iMAC, laser printer and Broadband WiFi throughtout
Caldera Geneva Spa Hot (36-40c) Tub with 47 hydro spa jets, air blowers, mood lighting at night
Winter in the National Park at Forest Corner
Cosy snug with log fire and stretch out leather sofas and HiFi
Caldera Geneva Spa Hot (37c) Tub with 47 jet, air blowers, mood lighting available as an extra
Lounge area with flat screen TV, Bose sound system, Apple TV and Xbox 360 Kinnect
View of Forest Corner behind the New Forest Ponies
New Forest Ponies on your doorstep
Second king size bedroom complete with Bose sound system and view across the forest
King size Master bedroom with 3D HD LED TV and DVD, all linen and towels provided
Master bedroom ensuite shower and sink with view along landing
Outside dining for 8 with view to the private back garden and BBQ, Cycle and log store
500 yards up the lane, 365 Hectares of New Forest
Master Bedroom terrace with view across the national park and al fresco dining
Al fresco dining, view from back garden along the side of cottage
20 minutes from 7 miles of sandy beaches and shingle coves
Family bathroom with large corner bath to supplement ensuite shower room and downstair shower room
Modern Neff Double oven, dishwasher, microwave in fully equiped country Kitchen with freeview TV
Modern luxury 4 ring gas BBQ and side burner
Additional accommodation, King size master bedroom and  2nd bedroom or 2 singles  bath/shower/toilet
Additional accommodation with direct access and views across the New Forest national park
Additional accommodation available upon request for up to 4 extra guests 3D TV's & Bose thr
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
New Forest National Park Hampshire, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 124 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ahaaaaaa
Newport Pagnell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Luxury cottage in the New Forest”
Reviewed May 29, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our party consisted of six adults and a two year old. The accommodation was the perfect size for us, in particular the downstairs area and garden.
Others have mentioned the small upstairs space, but it is only one of the double bedrooms that is affected (you might have to draw straws).
We got lucky with the first hot weekend of the year, so enjoyed alfresco breakfast and a BBQ looking out onto beautiful scenery and wild ponies. The main lounge is well equipped if you want to stay in and watch films or play on the Xbox.
We only stayed for three nights, so ran out of time to try the local pubs within walking distance. Most of the time was spent exploring the Forest and local towns. Nearby Ringwood has two supermarkets to stock up on groceries, as well as a section of pubs and takeaways.
This is a lovely part of the country and this cottage is the perfect place to come back to after a busy day out.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah S
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautifully furnished cottage in amazing location”
Reviewed May 5, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

My family of six adults and a young baby have just returned from an amazing 5 night stay at Forest Corner. We found our every need was catered for in this beautiful cottage. The large living space and attention to detail, including a great entertainment system which kept the men happy and a very well stocked kitchen, helped make us feel immediately at home. We loved the location and enjoyed the company of many horses, ponies and cows that frequently visited us! We drank at the local pubs, went to Christchurch and Monkey World and with fantastic weather on our side, went for lots of walks. We enjoyed relaxing with a glass of wine in the garden overlooking the stunning countryside. We truly hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Large living space in the cottage and location
Liked least: Leaving Forest Corner!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn L
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good accommodation in a perfect location”
Reviewed April 21, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

The cottage had everything we needed and was very comfortable. Downstairs was very spacious, upstairs could be a bit cramped for 6 people. We had visits everyday from the wild horses, donkeys or cows. Perfect with a horse mad teenage daughter. The weather was beautiful, so we made good use of the balcony from the main bedroom for morning coffee or afternoon glass of wine, very peaceful and relaxing. The computer with internet access was useful for planning our outings and places to eat.
We booked in for archery in Beaulieu through New Forest Activities, the whole family enjoyed that. A visit to Snowtrax near Christchurch was also a fun couple of hours for the family. The kids enjoyed the Ringos, whilst dad did some skiing. We also had the best fish and chips in Harlees in Poole. Burley is a very cute place and worth a visit.
All in all, we had a lovely time at Forest Corner and exploring the New Forest.
I am sure we will return.

N.B The bedding was all feathers, anyone with allergies or asthma may need alternative bedding.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma P
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely home, great location”
Reviewed April 14, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We had a fantastic time at Forest Corner - it was so well equipped we're convinced it had been a family home , loads of personal touches made it extra special and the location on the edge of the forest made it ideal for exploring. It was lovely to have a visit from the neighbourhood ponies and the walks from the cottage were beautiful.

Three double bedrooms made it ideal for 3 couples and there was ample room downstairs for dinner/lounging about!

We would definitely go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fcollins8...
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Impeccable cleanliness and a cottage which has been furnished to the highest standards.”
Reviewed April 1, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We stayed six friends in the cottage over a long weekend in March. The location is gorgeous on the edge of the forest with easy accessibility and good amenities nearby. The only downside is having to leave at 10am on the leaving day- When only visiting for the weekend this is annoying. Otherwise everything else is perfect and I can highly recommend Forest Corner!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 3, 2014
Thank you for a great 5* review. Just to correct one small point, departure time is actually 10:30am not 10am.

Hope to see you again soon

Regards

Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent S
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“No particular charm but clean and well located”
Reviewed March 26, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

If you're looking for a charming cottage in the New Forest, it's definitely not the place to go. However, it is clean, spacious and well equipped - but there are numerous affronts to good taste (half the houseplants are fake, authentic wood burner surrounded by cheap laminate flooring, office blinds, etc), a multitude of high-tech TV gadgets and remote controls, and endless notes to customers about what you can touch, move or use. There are also lots of family pictures hanged on walls - not typically what one would expect in a self catering rented house. Otherwise, it's ideally located near wild ponies and friendly pubs, and the kitchen was particularly well stocked. Comfortable beds too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 30, 2014
We are pleased that you still enjoyed your stay, loved the location, found it clean, spacious, the beds really comfortable, the kitchen well equipped and stocked, a traditional wood burner, real open fire and the cottage packed with technological gadgets. But we will have to agree to differ on the view of the cottage character and quality.

We appreciate reviews are subjective but when they are completely at odds with all other reviews, the majority who rate it 5* we feel we must respond.

It's both a disappointing and unrepresentative review of the cottage and high quality features/fittings and it's a great shame that despite being provided with ample opportunity to raise any concerns prior, during and subsequent to your stay you didn't.

1) in terms of character the website with pictures, detailed descriptions and a features list, together with all the reviews, provide a true and representative reflection of the cottage and the quality and range of furniture and fittings; and you still booked on that basis knowing exactly what you were getting.

2) the picture welcome pack sent weeks in advance again show everything in great detail well before you arrive and you did not express any concerns

3) we make it easy for our guests to raise anything prior, during and subsequent to booking and we really try hard to make our guests feel very welcome. Again you did not raise any disappointment or concern

Regards

Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chef_haus...
Mayland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely location and great family accomodation”
Reviewed March 21, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent location on the edge of a national park, it was easy to reach wonderful spaces for the children and adults to run around in and explore. There are several places of interest nearby or with in a short drive, including parks, pubs, beaches and zoos. The house itself is lovely and welcoming, with plenty of space in which to spread out and relax.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The downstairs space was excellent
Liked least: Low celings in the bedrooms!!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$89
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing