We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A little bit of heaven.”

Review of The Stables

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
New Forest National Park Hampshire, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Theresa C
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A little bit of heaven.”
Reviewed September 15, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We have been visiting The Stables for the last three years with our dog Jack. We all love staying there. Jack loves the New Forest and the freedom he has. The people we have met while we are there are always very friendly and welcoming. Julie and Simon who own The Stables are real smashers and make our stay such a pleasure. We shall certainly be going back in 2016.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location.
Liked least: Can't think of anything apart from having to return home.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosieSout...
South Wales
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect getaway for me and my dogs”
Reviewed September 5, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Thank you to Julie and Simon for going the extra mile! Immaculate property, lovely environment, nothing too much trouble, will be back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark T
Partridge Green, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal base for walking in the new forrest”
Reviewed May 25, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had the most brilliant stay.... The accommodation was very clean and functional, the bbq patio was well used while we were there. Julie and Simon were there if needed (thank you) and Ralph made sure our dog left no food lying around (thank you Ralph). Natalie and the local Huskies made for great entertainment first thing in the morning and in the evening. We cannot wait to do it all again....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, but mostly the walking
Liked least: Thursday......It rained!!!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth T
Broadstairs, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic location - Wonderful Hosts”
Reviewed April 13, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the stables for three nights in the Easter holidays and had a wonderful time. The accommodation was superbly equipped, with everything we could have possibly needed, as well as being exceptionally clean and comfortable. We were made very welcome by the owners Julie and Simon and their lovely dog Ralph, whom my dog Willow thought was the bee's knees. We were blessed with the weather, and the location was absolutely perfect for lots of beautiful rambles through the countryside and forest. There are many fantastic pubs in the area to drop in on and quench your thirst after a long walk, the Alice Lisle and the High Corner Inn to name a few. This whole area is incredibly dog friendly, and we couldn't have been made more welcome by anyone that we met. We shall be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah W
Basildon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Stay At The Stables”
Reviewed February 22, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We had a great 5 night break at The Stables with our Labradoodle Dave. The accommodation was perfect. Spacious and warm with everything we needed. Our hosts Julie and Simon were most welcoming and helpful. We chose to come here initially for the residential dog training (which was absolutely fantastic!) but the accommodation was so lovely and well situated we are planning to have a holiday here in the summer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and location.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulesK83
Suffolk
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Just lovely!”
Reviewed September 12, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Fab five night stay in the New Forest! We stay every year but this is by far the best accommodation we have had! We took our dog to the beach everyday, we love the beaches and the sea - we didn't have the best of weather but it was amazing neverthless! The Stables perfect for us - spotlessly clean, the bed was the most comfy bed ever! ONly slight constructive criticism - and this really is all I can find - is the kichen could do with some sharper knives! Julie & Simon friendly and helpful - didn't really know if they were there most of the time! We loved their dog Ralph - was great watching the dogs play together! The Alice just around the corner for a glass of wine to watch the sunset! Would love to stay again - we are hoping to return next summer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Being in the heart of the forest
Liked least: The knives in the kitchen!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 13, 2015
Hi, Thanks for the feedback. I know it's taken me a while to get back to you. Sharper knives have been put in The Stables.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S
, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Long Weekend break”
Reviewed August 26, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for 3 nights with my pregnant wife. Found the accomodation to be very well equiped. The patio and bbq were great for cooking in the evening and even better for the morning when cooking the lovely thick bacon from the farm shop down the road. Its a bit out the way but would be great for cycling. We travelled around by car, but next time we will brink the pushbikes.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing