We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing, what a beautiful place, deffinately the highlight of our trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Osborne House

Osborne House
Ranked #52 of 534 things to do in Hampshire
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Amazing, what a beautiful place, deffinately the highlight of our trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

We stayed at a holiday park and decided to visit the Osbourne House knowing nothing about it before we arrived.

It was HRH Queen Victoria's favourite residence and is quite a find for anyone who takes a slight intErest in royal families or history.

The house is amazing, the beginiNgs a gallery of pictures that wouldnt seem fitting but as you move through the house you learn about Albert and Victoria's ideas on creating a new world.

The rooms are amazing with so many features and the landscaped gardens are also a feast on the eyes, but what is not to be missed is a short walk, or an even quicker shuttle ride about half a mile from the main house.

A Swiss cottage, made especially for the children with everything in childs scale, is looked on to several allotment patches one for each of Victoria and Alberts children, they grew vegetables and sold them to the local villagers to understand the concept of money, and behind the swiss cottage, and amazing minature museum, filled with all manner of gifts sent from royality around the world for the children, you will never see all these things in one room, and to us, this alone was worth the entrance fee.

Deffinatly recommended if visiting the area, as i said IT MADE OUT HOLIDAY!

Visited November 2010
Helpful?
Thank HONESTEYISMYPOLICY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    100
    22
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A bit disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

If you are going then don't go in the morning or on a miserable day ( visitors go there rather than the the beach when the weather is bad) Also all the coaches arrive in the morning and the queues can be horrendous. Even if you have pre purchased your ticket from Red Funnel you will have to queue to get another one !! After 2pm is much quieter. The inside of the house is very dark and dowdy - it would be good to be able to read about a lot of the exhibits but it is too dark to do so.
The food in the cafe by the ticket office is excellent if a little restricted in selection. Toilets in the same area could have been cleaner.
The gardens were lovely - would certainly recommend.
Would I go again - probably not.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank moiSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“This is the place to remind you of the contempt and disregard the Royals have for us”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

Extremely expensive for not very much at all. Very little to see. Gardens are a sorry state. Anything you buy here will be overpriced. Only one set of toilets as you buy your tickets then nothing untill you return to that point. Does this give a clue as to how much there is to see? Yes.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank BristolSmithy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not sure if they actually want visitors”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

i was really keen to see this place but when I eventually did, was rather disappointed.
Despite going mid-week, it was very busy and I did feel at times as if we were on a conveyor belt. Next problem, there were hardly any signs telling you about the exhibits, some of the pictures had the title on the frame, but that was it! We asked one of the guides if they did audioguides and he rather snottily told us that there were far too many visitors for that. What they were rather fond of however, was a plethora of signs telling you not to touch anything- how patronising.
The gardens are very nice though

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank SybariteBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous house & gardens - free for English Heritage members”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2011

Highly recommended place to see where Queen Victoria enjoyed her summers with her family. Our family consisted of 3 generations (age ranges from 11 - 64) and there was enough history for us all to be interested. We loved the house and gardens and wandered around the estate on push-chair/wheelchair friendly paths. We didn't see any red squirrels but we are told they love the place too. Website gives details of wheelchair access.
There is a coffee shop that did lovely cakes, but we also took a picnic to eat in the grounds. You can go back to your car as often as you like so did not need to carry it about with us.
Look out for the amazing painting of Maharajah Duleep Singh (ruler of the Punjab) in the House - his foot moves when you do!!

Loads of parking and although there is an entry fee - we are all members of English Heritage so got in for free!
Tip: use the toilets at the entrance - there are others about but a long way apart!

Visited August 2010
Helpful?
Thank NorwichValkyrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osborne House also viewed

Portchester, Hampshire
Hinton Ampner, Hampshire
 
East Cowes, Isle of Wight
Romsey, Hampshire
 

Been to Osborne House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing