We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Chipping House is superb - our best-ever holiday...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Wotton-under-Edge, Stroud District, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
pdwillis
Street, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Chipping House is superb - our best-ever holiday rental!”
Reviewed September 27, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Chipping House more than met our expectations.
We are a three generation family group, 8 adults and 6 children, celebrating a significant birthday together and the accommodation suited us perfectly. Everything, from the generous space inside and out, the standard of furnishings, kitchen equipment, cleanliness etc was of a very high standard and we would not fault a single thing!
Catherine phoned and emailed us before our weekend to check our requirements and made lots of helpful suggestions of things to see and do - we just wish we had booked a week.
We were blessed with good weather and enjoyed exploring the town, walking on the Cotswolds and swimming in the local pool.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The brilliant way that the house worked for our family.
Liked least: Going home!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jas D
Altrincham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great house in great location catering for all your needs...”
Reviewed September 10, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

From the moment we booked to the moment we left the service provided by Catherine the owner was fantastic. There is a website providing you lots of information about the house but upon enquiring Catherine called to talk through any questions we had and even called a week before our holiday to see if we needed anything - exceptional service.

As for the house it's lovely for large groups with 2 sitting rooms, large kitchen dining room, nice garden and even a conservatory - so enough space for you to enjoy together or apart. This has to be one of the most well-equipped houses we've stayed in with everything you need for cooking, eating, and so many games and books to keep you entertained. The cleanliness of the house was great too.

One of the nicest additional touches was the amount of local information provided - it's like a mini tourist information place with recommendations on things to do provided in nice folders along with useful information like how far away, prices etc - we used to have a flick through each day and decide what to do the next day!

The house is in the centre of Wotton-under-Edge which has lovely little tearooms, independent shops, a swimming pool, cinema and a Tesco metro to get what you need so is an ideal location - plus not far to get to places you may want to visit.

I can't say enough positive things about Chipping House - for large groups this place is perfect so book it and enjoy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauriceC7...
Gillingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truly excellent accommodation and location for the larger family party”
Reviewed August 28, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We were a family group of eleven encompassing three generations. The accommodation at Chipping House, the furnishings and the equipment were all first class. The gregarious and those seeking a bit of peace and quiet were both catered for. Wotton under Edge is an interesting town with very good amenities : a good selection of pubs and eateries and the local Tesco and Co-op are very well stocked - in fact, as much variety and choice as the bigger supermarkets in nearby Dursley. Easy access by road to Bath, Bristol and Gloucester. If you are a N.T. member (or even if not) there are a number of interesting properties in the area. In particular we found Snowshill Manor really fascinating. For the golfer I can recommend Cotswold Edge G.C : a lovely course with great views and reasonable green fees. We have stayed at Chipping House three times and I am sure we will be going back at some time in the future and look forward to luxuriating in the hot tub ( which was not insitu at the time of our stay).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of accommodation
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bramblewa...
Sussex, UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect house and location”
Reviewed November 21, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We are a large group of old school friends and partners. Great E mail from the owner before our trip with a wealth of useful info and tips. Perfect location in the town for access to the pubs and restaurants. House faultless with everything as described. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill G
Oxfrord
1 review
“Warm, comfortable and very inviting house”
Reviewed September 23, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Great location within the town, house is really well appointed and great for sharing with a large group. Lots of space to lose yourself with a book and a glass of wine or just chat with friends. Lovely holiday, would definately visit again - Wotton is an unspoilt Cotswold town with lovely amenities and great local walking on the Cotswold Way.

Also great communications from the owners at all times.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memorable...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect family home for a wedding party to stay ...”
Reviewed September 18, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Our family, including daughters, spouses and children from the USA and Australia, had a wonderful stay in Chipping House the week leading up to another daughter's wedding at Woodchester Mansion on 31 August.

The weather was perfect and Chipping House was everything we could have hoped for, and more. Our family members ranged from 8 to 87 and the house worked so very well for everyone to enjoy. It is spacious, comfortable, fun and welcoming, and was more than adequately equipped, with tasteful beds and bedding, and a fabulous array of cooking pots, crockery and cutlery. We had memorable family suppers around the wonderful dining room table. The garden was also enjoyed by all, from the children who enjoyed playing games to others who enjoyed identifying the many plants and flowers in the plentiful sunshine as the garden faces west.

Bedroom 1 is luxurious and elegant and was just right for the bride to get ready in for her wedding.

All in all an unforgettable experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location perfect; shops, cinema, swimming pool, Cotswold Way, all within easy reach.
Liked least: Nothing to dislike.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbara h
Halifax, Canada
1 review
“exceeded expections”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Wonderful family home, comfortable, spacious, child friendly, large garden with furniture to lounge in. Spacious kitchen and dining room very well equiped. Lots of space to read, play, relax etc. 14 family members arrived from Canada and fell in love with Chipping House and Wotton. Pub 2 mins away, outdoor swimming pool 2 mins away. Unspoilt Cotswold village, with shops, historic buildings, lovely countryside. Close to Bristol. Charming owners.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space, child friendly,garden
Liked least: hot bathrooms, heater on all time in 30 degree temp outside.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing