We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond the Public Area - Disappointing”
Review of The Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Swan Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I spent one night here in September. Whilst the public areas give no cause for complaint, the bedroom which I was allocated was disappointing. It was situated at the very top of the building and access was, beyond the first floor, via corridors and stair which appeared overdue for refurbishment and replacement. I did not find the bed very comfortable and notwithstanding that I did not book "en-suite" I was disappointed that there was no wash basin in the room. Also, the tea and coffee making facilities appeared to be a communal affair out in the corridor.

The saving grace of the Swan for me was the excellent real ales in the bar and the enjoyable full breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fernhill54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 172 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2012

We visited Wotton for a wedding on 27/28 July 2012
The Swan Hotel is a real old world charming establishment in the centre of this beautiful town
The regular locals in the hotel bar are only too happy to extend the hand of friendship and fill you in on any info you might be interested in about The Cotswolds The rooms are basic but very clean and comfortable. The food,( try the traditional crusty pie) is first class.
The owner Rob Parker, only recently took on the hotel and is really throwing his weight into running a welcoming hostelry for both the tourist and local alike. The staff are warm and friendly and played a big part in what was a weekend to remember in this beautiful part of England Well done Gerard Kelly

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobParkerDerbyshire, Owner at The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Mr. Kelly, Many thanks for your review and for out-lining the hospitality we offer here at The Swan Hotel. Well you and your family certainly know how to have a good time, and I was more than happy to open the bar for you after we had closed for the evening when you returned on the Friday Evening. By all accounts from tthe comments I received from everyone you all had a great time and you will look to return sometime in the future. By which time I hope to have finished tthe majoriy of the refurbishments.
Rob Parker - Hotel Director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Myself and two others stayed at the ' Swan Hotel ' while doing a charity walk in aid of Help For Heroes'. Due to a mix up on my behalf with the booking dates we arrived after a long days walking to discover there was no booking on the day for us!! What do they do?? Chuck us out on the street to find elsewhere?? No!! They did all they possibly could to sort us out a place to stay for the night , honestly we couldn’t have been treated any better and i cannot thank these guys enough for their help .

Wonderful friendly and helpful staff and brilliant meal in the evening aswel, cheapest pints we had on the walk aswel so great value for money.

If in the area we will definitely return and i would recommend this place to anyone :)

Sam

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SamG42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I stayed here for three nights and used it as a base for two long walks. The Cotswold Way goes through Wotton-under-Edge. It may be a cheaper place to stay than some of the more touristy places in the Cotswolds. There's a free public car park nearby, but I needed to make sure I moved year once a day. Wifi access was a bit iffy even in the lounge. The staff was friendly and helpful. My overall impression was positive. It's a very basic hotel, but so long as one has reasonable expectations, it may be a good choice.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
Thank elmcityjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobParkerDerbyshire, Owner at The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Many thanks for your review and for your comments. Following your visit, we had an Engineer out to do a full test on the WiFi System and it appears to be connecting much better now. We were informed that it could have something to do with the thickness of the walls within the property which disrupts the frequency, hence the reason we have two WiFi access logins within he hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

We arrived after a day of walking The Cotswold Way and were told by what looked like the chef at reception to go to see the lady in the bar. The lady in the bar told us to go to reception. Bemusedly, we told her we'd tried that and were told to see her! She then went to reception and tried to check us in but had no idea which room we were in or what time breakfast was served, what time dinner service started and she didn't show us to our room when she allocated one to us.
The room was clean and comfortable so value for money.
At dinner, we asked for a Pimms. The waitress told us that they didn't have Pimms until I insisted that being a pub, they must have. She then went away for a long time but did appear with 2 nicely made drinks.
Breakfast was interesting. We sat at a table for some while, despite the room being empty of other guests, before being approached by the young girl who was on duty alone. We asked if they had natural yogurt for our cereal as my friend and I don't have cow's milk and she said she didn't know. She then went off to find out, was gone a while and came back to say she couldn't find any but she didn't know the kitchen very well. We still weren't offered the cooked breakfast and the girl began clearing tables rather than taking a food order. In the end we had to ask her. We also asked for toast while we waited but there was no butter available on the table and no side plates and knives. We had to request these and it took an age for them to appear.
We were given tea but no tea cups and had to request these also.
The cooked breakfast was adequate but there was no vegetarian substitute for bacon and sausages and we had to wait an age for the tomato ketchup that we requested.
Overall, value for money but hotel staff although generally pleasant were totally clueless which although very comical and "Fawlty Towers" was not very professional.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Troll70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed in Wotton Under Edge for a weekend and ate at The Swan a couple of nights. The food was good well cooked and service was excellant really nice relaxed atmosphere and everyone was very friendly. Very good value for money and really nice traditional bar just what a country hotel should be shall certainly be going back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank xanthe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobParkerDerbyshire, Owner at The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

Many thanks for your positive review. We hope you will return again to see our progress in refurbishment. I am pleased to say the hotel bar and snug are now completed. My next areas will be he bedrooms to freshen them up and, without loosing the charachter of the old building, give them a new lease of life.
Rob Parker - Director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed here recently, having decided at the last minute to stay in a hotel rather then drive back the same night, and we were pleasantly surprised with this place. Firstly the room was nice, bright, and more importantly very clean, as was the ensuite and the bed was comfy. This is a great example of a really nice budget hotel, which doesn't really feel like a budget hotel (I.e it's well priced and really nice). What was even better was the great service and excellent food, we had dinner which was great pub food and breakfast in the morning was also lovely. Really great experience and recommended. Excellent value for money.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank chrisjbritton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobParkerDerbyshire, Owner at The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2012

Thank you for your review. I have recently taken over the property and invested money into the public areas of the hotel. So far I have refurbished two of the eight bedrooms and made various changes in the hotel. Its pleasing to know that we are moving in the right direction of getting good feedback from our guests.
We hope we can welcome you back to The Swan Hotel in the near future.
Rob Parker - Hotel Director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wotton-under-Edge
3.9 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
109 reviews
7.9 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
715 reviews
4 mi away
Hunter's Hall Inn
Hunter's Hall Inn
#1 of 1 in Kingscote
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
454 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Ormond at Tetbury
The Ormond at Tetbury
#6 of 6 in Tetbury
522 reviews
4.4 mi away
Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Address: Swan Hotel 16 Market Street, Wotton-under-Edge GL12 7AE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Wotton-under-Edge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wotton-under-Edge
Price Range: $86 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally a 17th Centuary Coaching Inn, The Swan Hotel has been kept very traditional with slight modernisation. All of our bedrooms are En-Suite. Our Restaurant, Bar, and Snug offer an extensive menu and the choice is yours as to where you prefer to eat: The Bar and Snug are warm and cosy. The Restaurant is light and airy with a refurbishment completed just a few months ago.The Bar offers Real Ales from local Breweries, Lagers, Wines and a large selection of Whiskies and other Spirits. We also have a Newsagents within the hotel where you can obtain Daily Papers and Weekly/Monthly Magazines.Our Staff are always willing to please and all have good personalities. The hotel is strongly supported by the local community and love sampling our ever-changing selection of Real Ales - we are also a member of CAMRA and are Casque Mark Approved ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Wotton-Under-Edge, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing