We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Loved it”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
kitchen area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
kitchen area
mini orchard
Fabulous sunsets
some of our girls
bbq
cosy sleeping alcove
view from inside hut
one of our cotswold ewes
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Shepherds hut -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Winchcombe, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Styles66
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Loved it ”
Reviewed July 15, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We stayed for 2 nights and it was perfect the hut had everything in it that we needed from hairdryer to tin opener the location was very picturesque & tranquil and even though I had doubts about staying in a hut I had no reason to because it was very comfortable & cozy & would definitely stay in a shepherds hut again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ollie48
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“An Oasis of Peace and Quiet”
Reviewed July 9, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We booked for three nights and wished we had booked for more, as we found the location perfect for recharging our batteries, after a very busy lead up to our daughter's wedding, the peace and quiet of this place is amazing. The Shepherds Hut is fantastic, very compact with every possible item you need, and spotlessly clean. To sit outside on the decking overlooking the rolling fields was lovely, just chilling out watching the cattle and sheep grazing was a therapy in itself. So much to see and do locally and as you drop down to Winchcombe, the views are stunning. I grew up in the Cotswolds and to return to this area was a memorable occasion, and we are so fortunate that this venue is only an hours drive away, so we plan to return and enjoy more of this lovely countryside. The Plough Inn at Ford is only a mile or so away and the meals are fantastic, lovely old pub with excellent staff. If you want a restful, chilled out break this Shepherds Hut is for you!
Our Thanks to Julie and Don for a wonderful three days.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacky P
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A shepherds hut that has everything you need in a lovely, peaceful and tranquil location.”
Reviewed May 29, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Situated in the rolling hills of the Cotswolds with fantastic views and some lovely walks. Lots of pubs/restaurants near by and places of interest. We enjoyed hearing and seeing the Stream trains go along the valley from the nearby Toddington Station, very nostalgic.

The Shepherds Hut is well equipped and the owners have thought of everything.

Would love to go there again.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judith M
Frome, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed May 8, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This little place is amazing - everything is provided and the attention to detail is awesome. The bed is comfy, the kitchen well equipped and the shower is warm and powerful. The location is lovely and so quiet but within a short drive of Winchcombe and great local pubs. Really couldn't reecommend it highly enough.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian K
Towcester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just a completely idilic”
Reviewed March 19, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Every thing it says it is and more. Great hosts, clean, cosy & quiet. Many facilities in the local area, go do your own exploring

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesleySte...
Thirsk
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Relaxing and peaceful holiday”
Reviewed October 7, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We stayed for eight nights in this small but perfectly formed shepherds hut. The fittings are tasteful and everything you could need for a weeks self catering is supplied. Our intention was to walk parts of the numerous and beautiful walking trails that pass through Winchcombe and we weren't disappointed! Our hosts were welcoming as were the many local hostelries and cafes we visited. We had three super lunches in Cafe 6 in Winchcombe. Two days we did not walk and visited Cheltenham and traveled on the local steam railway thoroughly enjoying both. The shepherds hut gave us a peaceful and relaxing holiday as we were not tied to eating at specific times and came and went exactly as the mood took us. We also enjoyed cooking on a few evenings in the hut using local produce from the excellent Budegens store in Winchcombe. Fabulous break and felt fully recharged. Thank you!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanny1201...
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed September 26, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We have recently had a second visit to this beautiful shepherd's hut. The hut itself is very well-made and tastefully decorated plus exceptionally clean. It is equipped with everything you will need for 2 people, and more - tea, coffee, sugar provided, even a pint of milk in the fridge on arrival! Linen is also provided. A well designed kitchen area and toilet with basin & shower. Storage space inside proved very useful, as well as the lovely decked patio. A lovely peaceful place. We will definitely visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing