We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality pub accomodation in the heart of the village”
Review of The Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lion Inn
Ranked #4 of 12 Winchcombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
251 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Quality pub accomodation in the heart of the village”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

recent refurbishment has been done very tastefully. Our room (No1) was a good size with a super king sized bed and small but modern en suite with superb power shower. We faced the road so there was a little noise iin the morning. Breakfast was average but missed fresh fruit salad. Staff very friendly and attentive. Winter Whimsy deal was brilliant value for money. The bar atmosphere was good and there was a good choice of real ales. My only reservation is that they allow dogs in bedrooms. Not everyones cup of tea . Suggest pets are restricted to particular rooms.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annie F, Owner at The Lion Inn, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your constructive comments. We do hope you come and stay with us again soon. With best wishes, Annie and the team at The Lion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    73
    31
    23
    17
See reviews for
53
193
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Why we didn't just arrive at the lion inn instead of trawling round the surrounding villages is beyond me, we arrived slightly tired but once we had settled and realised that room 3 wasn't a disappointment (my wife had set her heart on the room with the rocking horse) We pitched ourselves at the bar and just got lost in the sheer beauty of the place i had taken my camera to take pictures of the Cotswolds and took only pictures of The Lion Inn turning into David Bailey for the afternoon and at every possible chance made some great memories for us to look back at the minute we arrived home, the food was without doubt a few touches away from being rosette standard and having over heard the changes to be made outside wondered if this was a new stalwart for the Michelin guide. A must see for lovers of anything shaby chic and charming the winter whimsy was a fantastic deal and made us realise that we had got a bargain but would not look twice at returning in the summer months for it was and is by far the most satisfying and beautiful ways of rekindling our romance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annie F, Owner at The Lion Inn, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for taking us up on our Winter Whimsy offer - we're very glad you had a nice time with us and look forward to seeing you again in the summer! Do email through some of your photos - reception@thelionwinchcombe.co.uk and we will share them on our Facebook page. Many thanks from Annie and the team at The Lion Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My boyfriend and I booked a two night stay here after trawling through a countless number of reviews and websites for weekend breaks that weren't too far to travel from London. Whilst the brilliant reviews we came across for The Lion spoke highly of the accommodation and the food, our stay here managed to surpass our already high expectations! The staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay (and then went on to post me back an earring I had left behind!), our quirkily decorated room spotlessly clean (thankfully the decoration incorporated the lovely original features) and the food was fantastic. The hot and cold selection provided at breakfast was great, and we also ate both nights in the restuarant/bar. The value was incredible for what was simply done, delicious food - we enjoyed every course and a great selection of wines. I cannot stress enough what a wonderful weekend we had and I am thoroughly recommending it to anyone that will listen!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 2 and did get some noise from the bar/restaurant area until close but it did not b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annie F, Owner at The Lion Inn, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
I'm so glad we surpassed your expectations, and that you received your earring safely. Do come and visit us again. Many thanks from Annie and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

........more or less sums up the style of the Lion Inn, whitewashed beams, old chandeliers French mirrors and oil paintings . Great atmosphere, fantastic service and excellent food which was served quickly despite the bar and restaurant being full. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 6 - small but perectly formed - catches the morning sun but maybe not the best choice for the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuliaMaryxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annie F, Owner at The Lion Inn, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation. We hope to see you again soon. Annie and the team at The Lion Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

My husband and I spent a fantastic anniversary evening at The Lion on Sunday 10th February 2013. Despite the terrible weather and rather depressing time of year, the bar area was surprisingly buzzy and very cozy and welcoming. We completely agree with the other comments about service - all staff were very professional and welcoming and we couldn't fault the level of attention provided. Room 7 is fab - tucked away and beautifully presented. Both supper on Sunday night and breakfast the following morning were great. A varied and extremely temptin menu and a very interesting wine list too. A wonderful find and the exemplary customer service really made it a stand out location. Well done to the whole team.

Room Tip: Room 7 for the wow factor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cviner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annie F, Owner at The Lion Inn, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again soon. Annie and the team at The Lion Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Have just returned from a one night stay in this hidden gem.we could not fault anything.
We were greeted by Matt who could not do enough to help us even the car parking which is conveniently situated at the back of the inn and is a pay and display but facilitates access to this unique five star accommodation.The atmosphere is warm and welcoming with friendly well presented staff with a huge log fire and candles throughout.
Our room very individual with tasteful furnishings ,decor and fantastic shower room.
We ate a superb dinner in lovely surroundings and atmosphere with excellent service which the following morning continued at breakfast.Which we followed with a beautiful walk along the Windrush Valley .
We frequently stay at similar establishments but can honestly can say this is 5star and the very best and will be returning very soon.The owner and her team need to be congratulated on their hidden gem

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudgie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annie F, Owner at The Lion Inn, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time and the trouble to write down your thoughts following your stay. A huge thank you on behalf of myself and my team - we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We braved the snow for a 2 night Winter Whimsey at the Lion Inn. We loved the room which had the wow factor (7) and treated to 5 star service, from the complimentary hot chocolate to your room, the friendly staff and wonderful food. A Gem! Thanks and see you all again soon! Ali & Nige

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali_Nige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annie F, Owner at The Lion Inn, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you - we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winchcombe
3.0 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cleeve Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
5.8 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion Inn

Property: The Lion Inn
Address: 37 North Street, Winchcombe GL54 5PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Winchcombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Winchcombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lion Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A welcoming yet stylish Cotswolds pub with rooms located in the heart of Winchcombe. The Lion Inn has eight lovely en-suite bedrooms, each boasting its own unique detail, such as a vintage Mickey Mouse mural. In your room you’ll find all the mod-cons you need, including soft linens, tea-and-coffee-making facilities and handmade bath and body products, but with the notable exception of a TV – here is a place to really unplug and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old White Lion Hotel Winchcombe
The Lion Inn Winchcombe, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing