We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice little place for two in quiet courtyard”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Anvil Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
52 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Winchcombe, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
D H
Derbyshire England
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Nice little place for two in quiet courtyard”
Reviewed September 9, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This cute little pied-a-terre is situated in a great location near the centre of Winchcombe - in a small courtyard with three other properties. It consists of three rooms - lounge/diner, bedroom and en-suite room.

The standard of decor is great - imaginative pictures and art works. The bed is comfortable and the rooms are adequately sized. There is a TV, DVD player and free satellite system.

The bathroom has a full size bath with a shower over.

Access is fine but I would not bring a big car - the entry road is tight and twisty. The parking is really close - a few yards...

Overall this is a good place to stay in this beautiful Cotswold town, which just needs a little bit of a spruce up in the kitchen area and a tad more cooking equipment provided to get it up to five stars.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam W
1 review
“A lovely stay”
Reviewed August 13, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We enjoyed our stay at Anvil cottage in Winchcombe. The cottage was comfortable and clean and provided all the facilities we needed (including a bottle of milk and wine!) The parking was ideal and was private and the local area was very pleasant. The places we would highly recommend to visit are Stow on the Wold and Bourton on the Water. It was our first visit to The Cotswolds and we would go again and stay at Anvil cottage. Thanks to Julia for a great stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C
Eastbourne, East Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great little cottage”
Reviewed July 31, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Stayed for 2 nights. Nicely decorated. Bottle of wine and milk in fridge was great touch. Julia was very quick to respond to emails and gave good directions an tips on where to eat in winchcombe. The bonus is an allocated parking space (however a tight turn into the property-glad I have a small car-although there was an estate car parked also). A lovely little village to walk around am score all back streets (I like looking at all the old architecture). Had dinner at Corner Cupboard -great find. Food fanatics on north street also lovely. I would definitely visit this lovely town an atayvan Anvil cottage again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 4, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review Laura - great to hear you had a lovely time in Winchcombe and would love to have you stay again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMitchy78
Camberley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Quaint Little Find”
Reviewed July 25, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This, to us, was a perfect little find, and a perfect little getaway after work on a Friday. We stayed for two nights, and it was perfect for what we needed. Cottage perfectly located for the local bars, inns, restaurants, shops, and general mooching. Tucked away in a very quiet courtyard (quite a tight turn for a larger car into the courtyard itself). Unfortunately it rained all weekend for us, but our umbrella came in use, and with everything in short walking distance didn't worry us one bit. Cottage was light, airy, lovely decoration, comfy, and smelt gorgeous. We visited Sudeley Castle, within walking distance, and dined at Lion Inn Friday night (is a must! - maybe try and book - we were lucky to get a table Friday evening) we also treated ourselves to No5 North Street on Saturday evening, which had an amazing chef, and awesome dining experience. I would totally recommend this little cottage, and its location, and i think we will most certainly be returning soon. The owner was very helpful with her information of how to find, and location / local areas. Thank you.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 27, 2017
Thank you for your review Sarah - it was great to have you stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sarah C
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Charming cottage in the Cotswolds”
Reviewed March 6, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

My boyfriend and I stayed at Anvil Cottage for a long weekend.
The pictures accurately describe the cottage. It is a good size for a couple. Well furnished. The kitchen is well equipped which was ideal for us, as we like cooking meals in. Very clean and well maintained. Shower works very well indeed. We slept well too as it is very nice and quite.
The cottage is well located within Winchcombe. Charming pubs are only a few minutes walk away. There are also a great number of walks in the area.
Julia was a great host. Her instructions, particularly on how to get to the cottage were great. Very prompt at replying.
A superb deal, particularly given the price. I would recommend Anvil.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing