We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quaint Little Find”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Anvil Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
52 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Winchcombe, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SMitchy78
Camberley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Quaint Little Find”
Reviewed July 25, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This, to us, was a perfect little find, and a perfect little getaway after work on a Friday. We stayed for two nights, and it was perfect for what we needed. Cottage perfectly located for the local bars, inns, restaurants, shops, and general mooching. Tucked away in a very quiet courtyard (quite a tight turn for a larger car into the courtyard itself). Unfortunately it rained all weekend for us, but our umbrella came in use, and with everything in short walking distance didn't worry us one bit. Cottage was light, airy, lovely decoration, comfy, and smelt gorgeous. We visited Sudeley Castle, within walking distance, and dined at Lion Inn Friday night (is a must! - maybe try and book - we were lucky to get a table Friday evening) we also treated ourselves to No5 North Street on Saturday evening, which had an amazing chef, and awesome dining experience. I would totally recommend this little cottage, and its location, and i think we will most certainly be returning soon. The owner was very helpful with her information of how to find, and location / local areas. Thank you.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 27, 2017
Thank you for your review Sarah - it was great to have you stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sarah C
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Charming cottage in the Cotswolds”
Reviewed March 6, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

My boyfriend and I stayed at Anvil Cottage for a long weekend.
The pictures accurately describe the cottage. It is a good size for a couple. Well furnished. The kitchen is well equipped which was ideal for us, as we like cooking meals in. Very clean and well maintained. Shower works very well indeed. We slept well too as it is very nice and quite.
The cottage is well located within Winchcombe. Charming pubs are only a few minutes walk away. There are also a great number of walks in the area.
Julia was a great host. Her instructions, particularly on how to get to the cottage were great. Very prompt at replying.
A superb deal, particularly given the price. I would recommend Anvil.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mrsdipros...
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great location, great cottage!”
Reviewed January 7, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Just got back from a 3 night stay at this lovely cottage, just my husband and I went for romantic break and we loved it here. The location is perfect, five minutes walk and you are in the town centre with a great selection of shops, coffee shops and pubs, we ate at the Lion Inn which was wonderful, great bar with real fire and comfy armchairs and delicious food. Cottage is small, but very well appointed with everything you could want, nice and clean, lovely and warm and welcoming, we really enjoyed out stay and plan to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPTS
England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed December 8, 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Very well equipped and furnished cottage set in a quiet courtyard with an allocated parking space. Owner kindly provided a welcome pack of fresh milk, bottled water, tea, coffee, jam and a bottle of wine. The location is a great base for exploring the Cotswolds. There are plenty of walks in and around Winchcombe and the town centre is full of character with inns, restaurants, tea rooms and independent shops. We ate at the Lion Inn and the food and service were excellent. We would have no hesitation in staying here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 16, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing