We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful cottages on castle grounds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sudeley Castle Cottages
Malta, New York
Level Contributor
135 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottages on castle grounds”
Reviewed July 29, 2008

I stayed here during a college trip, and the accomodations were just lovely, well-appointed and well-laid-out, like a little village unto itself. Plus, it was an easy stroll up to see the castle itself. I'd definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2003
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravenclaw79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    15
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
6
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
TheHague
Level Contributor
159 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2007

A beautiful set of cottages originally built for the workers on the nearby Sudeley Castle estate, they stand on a cul de sac about 2 minutes walk from Winchcombe High Street. Winchcombe is a delightful example of a twee Cotswold village and these cottages fit in well with the whole scene, in a peaceful location next to a stream.

The property owners were very helpful and flexible with regards to changing dates, for which I'm grateful, and very efficient in their dealings with me. Having hired Queens Cottage, I was impressed how much character it had, appearing to be a converted barn or workshop with lots of low ceilings, narrow doors and twisty staircases. There were a few issues with keeping warm, the property isn't insulated and the few radiators struggle to generate enough heat, plus the water pressure wasn't brilliant, the shower being something of a trickle, whilst the sight of a VHS video recorder instead of a DVD player was surprising too. However, the level of cleanliness was high, beds were comfortable and the kitchen had everything necessary, including complimentary tea + coffee.

The management have an office on the street directly opposite to help out and also to provide tourist information, which is useful.

The location again is superb, just minutes walk from the High Street (try the White Hart for its amazing and innovative sausage menu) and the Sudeley Castle grounds.

Represents superb value for money when compared with hotels in the Cheltenham/Winchcombe area.

  • Liked — Olde worlde feel, convenient village location
  • Disliked — No DVD player, Chinese water torture shower, cold rooms
  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Casualist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny Brighton by the Sea
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2007

I booked all 13 cottages for a big surprise birthday for my wife's 40th. I managed to keep it secret and we had a fantastic weekend. We got a private tour of the castle although I don't think the public are allowed in there any more. The cottages and location are fantastic - they do vary in size so check details before you book. We had a great time...especially good for big groups, with friends in separate cottages. There is a hall \ large function room as part of the site, which is good for parties.

Stayed February 2005
Helpful?
2 Thank pat-the-man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2007

had a brilliant new year here, lovely clean cottages, even had a christmas tree!!

very quiet, we stayed in anne boleyn, enogh room for 2 adults and 2 children. very Very clean!

big carpark !

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank Beachbabeann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2005

We stayed in the Charles I cottage and had a really lovely time. The cottages are so pretty and delightful and it is a real pleasure to stay in them. The cottage was nicely furnished and well stocked, with pots and pans, dishes and utensils, an oven, stove, microwave, and fridge. Included are washing-up liquid, sugar, tea, coffee, soap, shampoo, a shower cap, and a bottle of wine. The two bedrooms were very comfortable and the beds were nice and comfy with duvets. The room is not cleaned during your stay, but we didn't mind. There are videos available to borrow from the office and many brochures of Cotswald attractions, and there's a telephone box in the courtyard. Olive, the office manager, is very friendly and helpful. For 5 GBP you may have unlimited use of the washer and dryer during your stay, which came in very handy for us. Your stay also includes unlimited access to Sudeley Castle and its beautiful gardens, which are very interesting and enjoyable. The cottages are within walking distance of the charming village of Winchcombe, which is absolutely delightful.

The only downsides to the cottages are that the smoke detectors are extremely sensitive. we set ours off twice, once by cooking and once from the steam from the shower, but were able to turn it off by standing on a chair and pushing the button with a coathanger. Another cottage wasn't so lucky - theirs went off at 8 a.m. on a Sunday morning and they couldn't turn it off, and the fire department had to come.

We really enjoyed our stay at Sudeley Castle Cottages. I wanted to move in permanently! I'd love to stay there again if I'm ever back in the Cotswalds.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank whistlingdixiejr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2004

We just returned from a week's stay in the Queen's Cottage and had a great time. The cottage was clean and very cozy. We loved the location situated just between Winchcombe and Sudeley Castle. The Cottages are located in an adorable hamlet and it was a pleasure to stay here. Your stay at the cottage includes unlimited admission to Sudeley Castle, which we enjoyed.

The kitchen is equipped with pots, pans, dishes and utensils. There is a stove with an oven and grill and also a convection microwave. The small refrigerator also includes a freezer compartment. The cottage also came equipped with a complimentary supply of tea, coffee and sugar. A bottle of wine was also awaiting our arrival.

The cozy living room included a matching sofa and loveseat and a small TV. The bedrooms were also nicely furnished and the beds came complete with down comforters, which were most welcome on the crisp evenings even though it was August!

There are videotapes to borrow from the manager's office. There is also a very nice selection of brochures on area attractions in the manager's office.

Winchcombe makes an excellent base for touring the Cotswolds. We loved the town itself and found its High Street to be quaint and not as touristy as some of the other Cotswolds villages. The church bells ringing from St. Peter's church were a delight to hear. There are a couple of small grocery stores in town along with a nice selection of restaurants, tea rooms and shops.

We enjoyed our stay here. There is not a thing we would have changed. We will be back!

Helpful?
7 Thank LondonFan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 25, 2002

We stayed here in March of 2002 with a group of 38 from the U.S. Amazingly, with a group that size, everyone thought the accommodations were just perfect. Charming setting on the edge of the village of Winchcombe, cozy interiors, fully equipped kitchens, roomy bathrooms. We made this our base for the week, visiting a variety of sights during the days. The pubs in Winchcombe were varied and all served good meals. The cottages are a great choice for a group travelling together or a family with children. Much more spacious and economical than hotels. If your plans include a visit to the Cotswolds, definitely consider staying here.

Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winchcombe
3.4 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,278 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cleeve Hill
609 reviews
6.3 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
450 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
628 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudeley Castle Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudeley Castle Cottages

Property: Sudeley Castle Cottages
Address: Sudeley Castle, Winchcombe GL54 5JD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Winchcombe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Winchcombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sudeley Castle Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sudeley Castle Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sudeley Castle Cottages Hotel Winchcombe
Sudeley Castle Cottages Winchcombe, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing