We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely Perfect”
other travelers have booked this property
Coates Mill Cottage.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Coates Mill Cottage.
Rear Dining Area. Dining Room.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
22 reviews
Coates Mill Cottage.
Rear Dining Area.
Dining Room.
Kitchen. There is also a utility room.
Bathroom.
Master Bedroom with Superking Bed.
Bedroom 2 With King Bed.
Sitting Room With Open Fire.
Landing.
Rear Lawned Area.
Master Bedroom Can Also Be A Twin Room.
Master Bedroom.
Bedroom 2.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Winchcombe, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Sunnydelu...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely Perfect”
Reviewed August 31, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Excellent location to relax from your busy life, enjoy the walks in the beautiful village of Winchcombe. Everything at the cottage was absolutely perfect. Friendly people and great food at The Corner Cupboard.

Date of stay: August 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 31, 2017
Who to believe? Mr Damp & Mrs Dreary, the first bad review in 17 years or all the others?! This person obviously needed to leave early. Other guests, both prior to this booking and after, left lovely reviews and have since re-booked for next year. It's just not true that anything is unclean.
The lane is narrow, but 4x4s and large estates manage it all the time. The location is what makes the cottage special.
It was August, we don't leave the heating switched on as most people would find it too hot. It had been raining heavily, all the guests needed to do was press 'on' on the heating control, the cottage would have been toasty in 15 minutes. Instructions are in the manual (or phone us!).
There was a large stack of logs and everything required to make a fire - they didn't light one.
These guests stayed less than 12 hours. If they felt there was such a problem why not call or email us?! 9PM would not have been a problem at all.
Fresh flowers, wine, bread, fruit juice, butter, milk, jam, carrot cake, eggs, treats for the dog - are these just essentials to you? We try our best to make the cottage a home from home.
Guests emailed to say that had already left, we replied within minutes, 2 weeks later and we've heard nothing back.
They chose to leave without contact, thus not giving the cottage or us a chance. This makes us believe that this wasn't the cottage for them or other factors were at play.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
davidjame...
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed August 4, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Beautiful cottage. Ideal for us two very busy people. Bathroom definitely high class. Nice easy walk into town. Have been coming to Winchcombe for years and found this by far the best cottage.

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Passenger...
1 review
“Perfect Christmas in the Cotswolds”
Reviewed January 15, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

My family & I had the most perfect stay in Coates Mill Cottage over the Christmas period.
The stay started with a wonderful welcome pack from Jonathan, complete with bubbles chilling in the fridge and even some treats for our dog! Such a lovely surprise to come in to after a long drive down from Scotland. Jonathan even put up Xmas decorations which we didn't expect, such a nice touch.
The cottage itself is magical. The smell of log fire spilling out into every room instantly relaxes you and allows you to unwind and forget any troubles you might have had before walking through the door.
The rooms are small and cosy, the bed is one of the best nights sleep I have had! The decor was fabulous- hints of modern to bring the 200 year old cottage up to date.
The garden was a perfect size, and if you have a dog perfect for the dog to sniff around and explore.

Winchcombe itself is like stepping into another World. I really did feel like I had stepped back in time! The medieval features and references across the town make you feel like you are in a film. There is a lovely pub just down the road about a 10 minute walk 'The Corner Cupboard' - great food and great service. Dog friendly as well which is a plus if you are bringing your canine companion.
Fabulous opportunities for walking all around the town. Spectacular views.

I cannot rate this cottage highly enough. Thank you very much for a perfect Xmas break at your special cottage Jonathan,

The Rices & The Plenderleiths.

Date of stay: December 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tinymummy
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent accomodation”
Reviewed July 31, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

There was fresh milk, bread, butter, juice, scones, jam and clotted cream waiting for us at the cottage. And the cupboards had plentiful supplies of olive oil, coffee, teas, sugar and spices. The house is beautifully furnished and was cleaned and maintained to a very high standard.The kitchen is very well equipped. The beds and bed linen are extremely comfy. We slept very well there. The bathroom was lovely with plenty of thick good quality towels. We loved the gardens. The location was about 5 minutes walk from the centre of Winchcombe.
I cannot recommend the house highly enough. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Date of stay: July 2016
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shellywel...
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed September 6, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Lovely cottage set down a little lane 10 mins walk from centre. Great shops and plenty of restaurants. We had a fantastic meal in the Swan ( wine and sausage pub ) would highly recommend. Another great pub was the Hollow Bottom which is about a 15 min drive. Everywhere we ate let us take the dog which was an added bonus.
The cottage had everything we needed and the kids enjoyed the jacuzzi bath !
The only thing that let it down ,and will definitely do so in the future if not attended to ,was the damp ! It was quite a chilly weekend when we stayed and when we entered the property it did have a damp smell about it. Such a shame as the property is great in every other way.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The damp
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 10, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're really pleased that you and the family enjoyed the cottage and the area. Apologies that you thought there was a damp smell. We'd had non-stop rain for days and the cottage has original terracotta tiles, it sometimes just needs a quick blast of heating and it's nice and cozy very quickly. It's difficult to know if we should leave the heating on a this time of year as sometimes guests prefer not to be too warm in the late summer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottisht...
Oxford
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A superb Cotswold cottage”
Reviewed September 3, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Coates Mill Cottage had everything that we could have wished for. It is perfect for two people and we loved the open fire, the peaceful situation at the edge of Winchcombe, the very comfortable bedrooms and the whirlpool bath. It has all been beautifully furnished and appointed. We would really recommend a stay here. The only small note is for dog owners to be aware that the garden is not fully enclosed so you may have to keep an eye out that your dog doesn't wander! Strongly recommend eating at The Lion Inn, walking to Belas Knap, visiting Hailes Abbey and farm shop and the delightful Mechanical Music Museum.

Date of stay: August 2015
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 10, 2015
We're really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the cottage so much. It makes all the difference to know that everything was as you wished for, thank you for taking the time to write a review. Hope you will stay again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing