We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peace and quiet with great service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lords of the Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Upper Slaughter
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
242 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“Peace and quiet with great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2009

Top marks for : attentive service, excellent dinner, fantastic room, beautiful hotel and common rooms, beautiful gardens.
Not so great for: breakfast (limited choice on buffet -no baked beans) , stuffy breakfast room, very small portions at dinner.

All in all we had a lovely stay and I would stay there again. I am not sure if I would want to stay there if they had a wedding on. They seem to be big on weddings. A lady had seen it in Hello (!!)and was there planning her wedding... I believe with a wedding on, the whole place would descend into chaos.
That said, if you are looking for a lovely adn quiet Cotswold village and stay in a gorgeous old fashioned hotel with modern amenities this is the place. It is not cheap but if you book last minute, tjey might accept 1 night stays at the weekend

Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chocolate74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    221
    68
    33
    13
See reviews for
95
739
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2009

We have just spent one night at this lovely Hotel on impulse. What a wonderful find. We booked a standard room but recieved an upgrade to "Vavasour" a charming room over the hotel Main Enterance, but that didn't matter as it was so quiet. Car Park is at the back of the hotel. Yes! food and drink are expensive but only what you should expect, when you choose to stay in one of the cotswolds finest Hotels - but the Food and Drink were excellant. We booked on a Dinner ( Market Menu) Bed and Breakfast basis, but chose to up grade our choice of Dinner Menu to A La Carte and it was well worth it. Staff were excellant and were available at all times. Disappointing not to have the ability to make tea and coffee in your room, when you want it. Although I am sure that it would have arrived promptly had we requested it.
Would definately stay again and highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappySue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2009

Invited to suggest an hotel for the night - I had always wanted to stay at Lords of the Manor so selected this having ascertained that there was a DBB deal for £220. Arrived in glorious sunshine so the hotel and village looked beautiful. The room was fine, the bathroom very small. Clearly there were better rooms unoccupied but equally clearly the LoM does not upgrade rooms gratuitously. We asked for an ice bucket and carried our own bottle of champagne outside to a park bench down beside the stream. We were later surprised to be charged £20 for the pleasure of the bucket.
We did not appreciate that the dinner included in the rate was a very second rate affair and so had to pay a supplement of £25 each to eat from the normal and very nice menu. The more expensive dinner was superb (fantastic chef) but come pudding time we opted for one cheese and one souffle. The cheese trolley was parked right beside our table for 30 mins while we waited for the souffle and while it looked and smelled appetitising for the first 5 mins, the Stinking Bishop and others got to us after 15 mins and we moved the trolley away. The waitress saw this but did nothing and when the (brilliant) souffle arrived and we declared a loss of interest in cheese she did not apologise or offer any amends.
The wine list is ridiculously expensive.
The final bill came as an unpleasant shock to my friend complete with the 10% service charge noted by others and I was left feeling acutely embarrassed by my suggestion. Prior to that we had felt we would come again. The highlights are the location and food

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank regular66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2009

This was our second stay at LOTM - last stayed 2004. This time, we took advantage of the great anniversary deal (now expired) of £155 per room per night dinner, bed and breakfast and treated his mum to a night in the Cotswolds.

The hotel accommodated our request for breakfast on the day of our arrival (got there early to make the most of our stay) and I think we paid about £12pp for the extra breakfast. It was lovely food - I had smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, other half had nicely cooked and good quality full english breakfast. Mum, as she did not want the full english but just bacon, tomato and mushroom, asked for that. When it came up it barely filled half the plate! They had obviously just not plated up the egg, sausage and beans from the full english and not bothered to double the quantities of the bacon, tomato and mushrooms. Bizarre. It was puny. On a better note, there was a good selection of cereals, fruit, breads and yoghurts at the breakfast buffet, the coffee was lovely and the juices very fresh.

On the second morning, other half and mum had the same (puny for her again!) and I had the kippers -which really were excellent.

So overall, breakfast quality really very good but with just that one slight oddity....

Rooms - well, pretty small but adequate size. Nicely and appropriately furnished for the type of hotel. Lots of storage space. Modern bathroom (but classically so) and very clean with nice toiletries. Bath was a disappointment because of the lack of hot water. Now I like to have a wallow and a read, but I could barely manage fifteen minutes before I had to get out. Other half reported that the shower head was too low (and he's only 5'9" or so).

The room itself was well presented and very clean, I have marked it down slightly on cleanliness because there were certain common areas where things like marks on skirting boards and wallpaper were noticeable - should have been cleaned off and tidied but weren't.

We has a small decanter of fruit cordial in the room - which was nice but not the same as having the small decanter of sherry that they used to provide.

The bar was pretty expensive - as you'd expect.

The lounge was very comfortable, with a roaring fire and lots of good pieces of furniture, newspapers, magazines and so on.

We paid an extra £14pp to upgrade from the market menu for dinner. it was a nice touch to order food in the lounge - and a clever way of managing the kitchen and the expectations of the guests - good idea.

Dinner was very nice indeed. The restaurant has a Michelin star now, but though I would say that the food was good, beautifully presented and varied, I could not say that we were blown away by it. The cheese selection was astonishingly extensive, but the helpings not so much! To be fair, though, the cheeses were very flavoured and so you didn't really need very much.

Wine was excellent quality and not heart-stoppingly wallet-wrenching.

On to the staff:

Fabrice Bouffant (what a great name) was very personable, had a bit of a laugh and gentle tease with mum and noticeably mucked in on various other duties other than sommelier.

The restaurant manager is the wife of the Head Chef and was very efficient - very British in the way you might expect of a restaurant manager in an English Country House Hotel, and initially appeared (only very slightly) intimidating. However, she was very good at her job - I think that the initial impression we had was borne of the fact that she was so intent on getting everything absolutely right, which can never be a bad thing in a hotel or restaurant!

The other restaurant staff were excellent too - good service, polite and welcoming - not in the least stuffy.

The porter was great! Happy to chat, seemed to like his job, very smiley.

On the second day we had afternoon tea in the hotel (tried to go elsewhere only for a bit of variety, but the Lower Slaughter hotels we tried were full due to functions). In actual fact, we were pleased that we had tea in the LOTM, because it was excellent. It's quite amazing how much flavour they managed to put in to a selection of finger sandwiches. The scones were prounounced the best any of us had ever had. The cakes were beautiful but there was a chocolate one that was so sweet it made our teeth itch!

So, overall, a lovely stay, really good value, would not pay another £100-150 per night (or more) at the usual rate but would return if there was another good deal.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAJLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, England
Level Contributor
137 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2009

We stayed here with two friends for one night and, whilst enjoying the look of the hotel and the location, there were too many niggles that spoilt the hotel. The rooms were freezing cold on arrival as there was no hot water. Thus, we could not shower before dinner either. There was no apology or information from the hotel about this, until we asked. The hot water was not on until about 11pm. We felt that we should at least have been offered a complimentary drink as an apology for the inconvenience, but nothing was forthcoming.

We had booked a DBB package, but the dinner menu offered was the "market menu" with only 2 choices of starter and mains on it, neither of which were appealing. We therefore opted for the a la carte, but had to pay a £20 per head supplement!! The food was average. We have visited Glenapp Castle in the past, where the chef here used to work, and had found the food there to be outstanding. Perhaps the chef was not "on" when we stayed at Lords, but the food was not impressive. Far more impressive was a 2 course lunch for £10 that we ate at the Unicorn Hotel in Stow on the Wold earlier in the day.

The service as other reviewers have noted was very good and the hotel is in a lovely setting. However, at £369 including one bottle of wine and a pre dinner drink, Lords does not represent good value. If you want a hotel that does it right, albeit in the Lakes, go to Holbeck Ghyll which is fabulous.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieAnneD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2009

spent 1 night in the barrington room. very comfortable and spacious. only downside was that we could hear the people in the room upstairs. each time they walked or flushed the toilet we could hear it. not ideal but i suppose its too be expected in an old building. staff were exceptional. always pleasant and very helpful. would definately return to this hotel. next time it would be for longer than a night.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trisha_jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2009

My girlfriend and I enjoyed a wonderful stay at Lords Of The Manor Hotel and were most impressed by the friendly and professional staff who simply could not do enough to please us.

The quality of the food, be it their breakfast, afternoon tea or their gourmet a la carte dinner was fantastic and better than in many of the other top hotels or London restaurants I have dined in.

The Manor bedroom (Barrington) although warm, comfortable and adequate, lacked the 'wow' factor I was expecting for a 'Superior' room especially given the price we paid. The bathroom was very small and the fantastic rain shower was so powerful that it sprayed the entire bathroom. We found some cobwebs in the room but these were promptly removed by the receptionist who was genuinely apologetic.

We had no hesitations in paying the 10% discretionary service charge to the final bill as the staff thoroughly deserve it. Our only minor gripe was in being overcharged by the rude and arrogant taxi driver which the hotel arranged to take us to the train station so I suggest confirming the rate with the hotel first or organising taxi transfers yourself.

Lords Of The Manor Hotel was the perfect country retreat for us to relax and recharge at and we will certainly return.

  • Liked — The friendly staff and great food
  • Disliked — The high price of some services
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Challenger604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upper Slaughter
0.7 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
9.2 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
2.2 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lords of the Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lords of the Manor Hotel

Property: Lords of the Manor Hotel
Address: Upper Slaughter, Upper Slaughter GL54 2JD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Upper Slaughter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Upper Slaughter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lords of the Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Lords of the Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lords Of The Manor
Lords Of The Manor Hotel Upper Slaughter, England - Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing