We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic weekend away” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lords of the Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Upper Slaughter
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic weekend away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

A lovely romantic weekend retreat in the Cotswolds was crowned by a fantastic experience at Lords of the Manor. Extremely polite, friendly and helpful staff, a wonderful comfortable environment, clean, well heated rooms, very comfortable beds, nice toiletries and an outstanding restaurant with a delicious tasting menu. This is not a cheap hotel but it is worth every penny that you spend there! I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ais1796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    221
    68
    33
    13
See reviews for
95
739
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Excellent stay, delivered what it promised. Excellent quality with a level of service you don't find in many places these days. The afternoon tea was delicious and extremely filling, suggest you have it early to allow room for dinner! It’s well worth having the taster menu. I would full recommend the experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank APGTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Took my sister for her Christmas present to stay and for a meal - sadly the meal was spoilt by us receiving a call to say her house had been broken into, we stay the night as had just started our meal and had some wine. - the welcome on arrival was excellent, met by a member of staff holding an umbrella from car and arranging to get it parked for us. Room as you would expect in a period property, but with modern comforts, lovely feel- fantastic views hope to go back again to get true experience

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

I have never written a review before, but felt compelled to do so today. After booking a weekend at the Lords of the Manor, I read a couple of reviews complaining that a small beer was £8, and a coffee was £5.95 after dinner, and that the hotel was extremely expensive. Well we've just returned and had a fabulous stay, the area is beautiful, the hotel is wonderful and the staff are very attentive indeed. But the value for money contrary to the admittedly couple of one star reviews was excellent. A small beer is £5, not unreasonable for such a hotel. 3 course Michelin star dinner for £69 or the tasting menu for £75 is very good value indeed. Even then you have canapés in the bar, a pre appetiser and a pre desert included. Yes the coffee was £5.95 but came with several petit fours, and was actually free with the tasting menu.
When you consider the costs of providing such a high standard of service the the value is really good indeed. Our 2 day package came with dinner,bed and breakfast as well as cream tea in the afternoons with scones, we ordered sandwiches instead of the scones and couldn't eat half of them.
They made a small mistake and as a consequence fell over themselves to make things right including not charging the usual 10% tip. However the value was so good and the service was so professional that I felt compelled to leave a tip at the desk anyway.
I will return.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry, Northants
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

Spent 2 nights here to celebrate Hubby's 60th birthday. It was just wonderful! From Afternoon Tea on arrival to our final breakfast on the morning we left we felt welcomed and cared for and in the company of friends. The food was delicious, the service impeccable and the surroundings perfect. We were cocooned in an atmosphere of warmth, comfort and relaxation where nothing was too much trouble. Oh what a retreat from this dreary winter! Lords of the Manor lived up to a reputation which is clearly deserved.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely but the country rooms have only double beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTraveller5754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

We chose to stay in the UK despite the terrible wet winter of 2014, we were not disappointed by our decision. LoM lived up to its top reputation as a retreat from the hurly burly and we left relaxed with batteries fully recharged.

The food was the highlight and I can fully understand the award of a Michelin star. Both dinner and breakfast were superb with the evening tasting menu excellent in every way. It was no surprise to see the restaurant fully booked on both nights we stayed

Paul and his staff were attentive at all times without being intrusive. I did have to throw the odd log on the fire but what a pleasure to be able to do this and hear the wood crackle, smell the wood burn and see the flames leap up the chimney

Despite my fulsome praise there were requests for 'Even Better Ifs': I would like to see a greater coverage of wifi in the hotel....but hey I loved sitting with my ipad in the bar with a pint of Hook Norton in my hand!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GloucestershirePhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

Had a night away on a very good dinner bed and breakfast rate to celebrate our wedding anniversary.
We were upgraded to a lovely large room with stunning bathroom over looking the front of the hotel.
Had afternoon tea in front of fire in drawing room, very English,( I'm Australian!).
Restaurant has Michelin star and deserves it, food was spot on, beautifully presented.
Breakfast was again excellent.
Great staff, location and food, would return every weekend to live like a lord, if I could afford it!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upper Slaughter
0.7 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
9.2 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
10.6 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lords of the Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lords of the Manor Hotel

Property: Lords of the Manor Hotel
Address: Upper Slaughter, Upper Slaughter GL54 2JD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Upper Slaughter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Upper Slaughter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lords of the Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Lords of the Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lords Of The Manor
Lords Of The Manor Hotel Upper Slaughter, England - Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing