We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"An idyllic honeymoon retreat"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Upper Slaughter
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We decided on a last-minute honeymoon break, following our wedding on Monday 30th September 2013, and I'm so pleased that we chose the 'Lords of the Manor' hotel. It is a stunning hotel in a beautiful location. All staff were charming and attentive for the entire duration of our stay. Our room was spacious and immaculately clean, and there were lovely toiletries and fluffy towels and bathrobes. The food here is delicious and there is so much choice! We had a fantastic time, and left feeling relaxed and happy. We really can't thank the team enough for ensuring that we had a perfect stay, and promise to return year after year.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

606 - 612 of 1,103 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

Such a lovely place to stay. The setting is stunning and it is nice to go back and see the same staff. They are all so pleasant. Just the place to go if you want total peace and quiet and a relaxing break with amazing food. It feels so homely here.The restaurant is a must the food is superb. Would definately recommend staying here and look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TammySam1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night break at this hotel.Everything was perfect. We were spoiled and cosseted from the moment we arrived.This is a luxury hotel but it is totally unpretensious. The food is excellent, the beds are wonderfully comfortable and my husband was overjoyed to have towels that went around his generous frame!! The main asset of this hotel is the staff. They are so attentive but discreet, helpful and very friendly.The hotel reception provides good, clear directions and maps for 3 local walks. Upper Slaughter is very tiny but it serves as a good base to other Cotswolds towns. Very much hope to return for another spoiling . Not cheap but was worth it!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynPaul546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This was a 30th wedding anniversary treat to ourselves. The room we had was lovely - very spacious. The staff were very polite and attentive. The evening meal was beautiful - one of the best I have ever had. Would love to go back to this hotel

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We booked for our first wedding anniversary. We stayed in a “country” room which was small, but very comfortable and luxuriously furnished. The food at the restaurant is exceptional, as one would expect form a Michelin star. Suppliers of all the produce are listed on the menu and are overwhelmingly local (veg from the village allotment for example). The cheese board I also worth special mention, having an excellent selection of fine British cheeses. The service both in the restaurant and throughout the hotel is wonderful, extremely attentive without being overbearing.

Overall I could not recommend this hotel more highly. We will certainly be going back for a future special occasion.

Room Tip: The country bedrooms are cosy, but perfectly adequate for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scots_jon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Wonderful setting, relaxing break after our wedding ! The hotel kindly upgraded us, thank you again. Food is Michelin, thus the two night stay was perfect, a third night would suggest heading to some other great sister hotels locally.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TERRY26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

On our driving trip through the UK this was going to be one of the highlights. We had visited the Cotswolds for a day 4 years ago and always planned to get back again to see a bit more of this beautiful area. We selected Lords of the Manor because of its location and reputation ... it was a bit more than what we wanted to pay, but what the heck, you have to treat yourself from time to time.
It lived up to expectations ... it looks great, has real history, the gardens were magnificent and food & service were excellent.
Maybe there is one little criticism ... if setting very high standards and placing oneself in the upper part of the market, then everything has to be perfect. There were a few little maintenance issues with our room, not major, but things that should not be there in a place of high standing. A chip in the enamel of the bath, grout that needed cleaning and an ironing board that was broken.
Little things, but need fixing. However, the experience as still great ... staff need complimenting on their friendliness and willingness to help and the Slaughters location is probably one of the best in England.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FHILLAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upper Slaughter
0.7 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,311 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
592 reviews
9.2 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
984 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
76 reviews
10.6 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lords of the Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lords of the Manor Hotel

Address: Upper Slaughter, Upper Slaughter GL54 2JD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Upper Slaughter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Upper Slaughter
Price Range: $161 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lords of the Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lords of the Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lords Of The Manor
Lords Of The Manor Hotel Upper Slaughter, England - Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing