We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel and restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Upper Slaughter
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We booked for our first wedding anniversary. We stayed in a “country” room which was small, but very comfortable and luxuriously furnished. The food at the restaurant is exceptional, as one would expect form a Michelin star. Suppliers of all the produce are listed on the menu and are overwhelmingly local (veg from the village allotment for example). The cheese board I also worth special mention, having an excellent selection of fine British cheeses. The service both in the restaurant and throughout the hotel is wonderful, extremely attentive without being overbearing.

Overall I could not recommend this hotel more highly. We will certainly be going back for a future special occasion.

Room Tip: The country bedrooms are cosy, but perfectly adequate for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scots_jon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

608 - 614 of 1,101 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

Wonderful setting, relaxing break after our wedding ! The hotel kindly upgraded us, thank you again. Food is Michelin, thus the two night stay was perfect, a third night would suggest heading to some other great sister hotels locally.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TERRY26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

On our driving trip through the UK this was going to be one of the highlights. We had visited the Cotswolds for a day 4 years ago and always planned to get back again to see a bit more of this beautiful area. We selected Lords of the Manor because of its location and reputation ... it was a bit more than what we wanted to pay, but what the heck, you have to treat yourself from time to time.
It lived up to expectations ... it looks great, has real history, the gardens were magnificent and food & service were excellent.
Maybe there is one little criticism ... if setting very high standards and placing oneself in the upper part of the market, then everything has to be perfect. There were a few little maintenance issues with our room, not major, but things that should not be there in a place of high standing. A chip in the enamel of the bath, grout that needed cleaning and an ironing board that was broken.
Little things, but need fixing. However, the experience as still great ... staff need complimenting on their friendliness and willingness to help and the Slaughters location is probably one of the best in England.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FHILLAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed here for one night on the 19th September on our way to Wales as a treat for my Wife's birthday.Nothing is too much trouble for the staff, we got a free upgrade and the food deserves it's Michelin star.
Yes it is expensive but well worth it in my opinion.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We have just had three nights at this wonderful hotel. From the moment we pulled up outside we were made to feel so welcome. The hotel itself is very well cared for including the super gardens. The food was gorgeous and served by knowledgeable and professional staff. Our room was very comfortable and overlooked the 'old courtyard'. The Cotswold area is a very nice area to visit and 'Lords of the Manor' is very well situated.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We had a noisy room experience back in June 2013 and the General Manager, Paul Thompson, was mortified and very quick to make amends by offering us a complimentary night which we have just enjoyed.

The hotel is beautifully situated within easy walking distance of Lower Slaughter and a short drive to many lovely Cotswold towns. It ticks all the boxes for an English Country House (period bedrooms, cream teas, stunning gardens etc.) plus the attraction of a well deserved Michelin Star.

Our meal was fantastic with interesting and varied courses to choose from and accompanied by a number of amuse bouches. Service was impeccable and friendly and the wine pairing suggestions excellent.

In fact, all the staff were utterly charming (and not just because of our return visit!).

This is a place for a special occasion, or as a base to explore the Cotswolds on foot or by car.

We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hesiod58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed for two nights September 2013. The hotel is beautifully situated close to both Bourton and Stow. Our room was ground floor right next to the turning circle outside reception and as a consequence suffered from either a lack of privacy or daylight (depending upon whether we chose to shut the blinds). The hotel itself is old and charming and well appointed but I would mention that the noise from the room above was unacceptable and is surely easily rectified by adjustment to floorboards. The hotel and atmosphere is deathly quiet most of the time which is typical of this type of establishment and part of the "deal" when one chooses to stay somewhere like this but we found it to be too quiet for our liking. The food served in the Michelin star restaurant was excellent and I would highly recommend but the wine / champagne prices bordered on rip-off. The "Michelin" theme was unfortunately also carried over to breakfast as well which meant that the portions were measly. In summary, this hotel is very expensive and in my view doesn't quite reach the level of value for money I would expect when paying the prices. Be aware as well that the hotel have a policy of charging a 10% discretionary service charge on your whole bill upon exit. Whilst discretionary, this to me forms part of the feeling of being ripped off. i wouldn't return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SpikeyMikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upper Slaughter
0.7 mi away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
586 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,300 reviews
9.2 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
58 reviews
2.2 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
980 reviews
11.5 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lords of the Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lords of the Manor Hotel

Address: Upper Slaughter, Upper Slaughter GL54 2JD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Upper Slaughter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Upper Slaughter
Price Range: $188 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lords of the Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Lords of the Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lords Of The Manor
Lords Of The Manor Hotel Upper Slaughter, England - Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing