We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the job”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Upper Slaughter
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My wife and I wanted to treat ourselves for our anniversary, we made a good choice. It was located in a beautiful part of the Cotswolds. It was very much an away from it all stay. The food what was you would expect from a Michelin star restaurant. As part of the deal we booked to include the set dinner menu, we wished now we had upgraded to the Al a Carte on the night. The service was first rate, but not intrusive. The breakfast was superb. However, it may seem an odd comment to make as we fully expected that the stay was not to going to be cheap, but I still believe that prices for drinks was over the top, £15 for a small glass of wine and a dry Martini.
However a superb hotel, I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,090)
There are newer reviews for Lords of the Manor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

607 - 613 of 1,090 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed with my wife for 2 nights , lovely set up gorgeous place, the only noise is the wilderness
Incredible 1 Michelin star dinner, everything was great, food first of all but service was also great
Don't miss the beef and the foi grass as a starter !
Breakfast was good, choose a room at the Manor
Lots of things to see and do around the small towns and villages

Room Tip: No pool & no fitness center, not that it worries me but there was none, just to mention Take a...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We went there for the second time this year and it was a great experience. We loved everything in our stay, the perfect location in a lovely village, the beautiful manor, the garden, the excellent food (we had the tasting menu) and the great service (Paul the manager and all his team are extremely nice and helpful).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malek L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Our two nights at Lords of the Manor in July were wonderful. This hotel is beautiful and very atmospheric. We were upgraded to a suite on the top floor which was lovely. Full of period details like low wooden beams and little casement windows. Service was attentive and polite but not stiff. We paid in advance for two dinners from the hotel's Michelin-starred restaurant however, too jet-lagged on our first night to face a sit-down dinner, the hotel happily arranged for a pared-down but delicious version of the dinner to be brought to our room.
My husband and I love food and have eaten all over the world and our next night's dinner in the restaurant was one of the best we have ever had. The flavours and textures were so expertly combined that every mouthful of each course was a delight. Parts of some dishes were impressively complex but without being contrived. No tricky stuff for the sake of it, just really brilliant flavours. Presentation was exquisite. We opted to add on a cheese course and it was a treat to choose from the 30 or so carefully chosen cheeses - many local and artisan-produced. We had our post-prandial coffee and tea on the hotel's lavender-surrounded back terrace - a charming spot at 10pm on a summer evening as the light was just beginning to fade.
Breakfasts were also great. The local black pudding in the full English was especially delish as were the kippers - well you have to eat them when you are in the England don't you? I'm pretty sure it's the law.
Gennaro, our waiter over the whole weekend, deserves special mention among the staff. A lovely and knowledgeable fellow.
The setting of this hotel almost defies description. Set in a tiny and idyllic Costwold town, the houses are, almost without exception, constructed from the famous honey-coloured lime stone of the area. The hotel itself boasts the most beautiful rolling, manicured lawn and garden at the front of the property bordered by a small stream at the bottom. So peaceful. Lots of birdsong.
Beautiful local walks nearby and part of the well-known Warden's Way walk goes right past the property.
The Upper Slaughter summer fete was on the afternoon we arrived and I felt like we had stumbled onto a film set: perfect weather, gin-clear stream, quaint houses, British bunting and Pimms.
We were lucky to have unusually warm and sunny weather during our stay which made the setting even more perfect however the prolonged hot weather did make our room hot and stuffy. The two pedestal fans the staff found for us did help somewhat but I imagine the lower rooms would be cooler in hot weather.
All in all, a weekend that was pretty-near perfect in every way in a historical Cotswoldian idyll. Can't ask for very much more than that.

Room Tip: Our top floor suite was very picturesque but stuffy in hot weather.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trovamiqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Here is an unusual tip for a British hotel - go outside into the street (not the hotel's gravel drive which has lights) after dinner and, if it is a clear night, enjoy some fabulous star-gazing! The sight of so many stars and the Milky Way (?) was fabulous.

To return to earth-bound matters ... this is a splendid hotel with well maintained rooms, great food, and helpful staff. Being a historic house the water pressure was variable, and it has proved, according to reception, to be impossible to instal WiFi in the bedrooms which is a surprise nowadays.

We very much hope to return before too long.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul T, General Manager at Lords of the Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your unusual tip, I had not done this before but last night I took your advice and agree the night sky does look fabulous from Upper Slaughter.

We are working on Wifi and despite financial investment we seem to nearly be there, we will be sure to post this development on Tripadvisor when it comes.

We look forward to your return visit.
Kind regards
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This fabulous hotel is situated in an idyllic location in Upper Slaughter. My wife and I stayed there as a treat for her birthday. The grounds and hotel are lovely and the staff very attentive. Food in the restaurant (1 Michelin Star) was excellent, although we did upgrade from the 'Market Menu' to the full-on 'Dinner Menu' for an additional supplement. Breakfast in the morning was also very good. Great location to wander around the local area and in easy reach of some very pretty villages and towns.

My only real criticism were the price of the drinks.... £28.00 for two large Gin and Tonics is a little excessive in anyones eyes, albeit they were very good!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wizzoo_adw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul T, General Manager at Lords of the Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Guest
I am so glad you had a great stay with us and thank you for choosing Lords as the venue to celebrate your Wife's birthday - we are glad you did.

I do hope you will return to us in the not too distant future.
Kind regards
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Shaking wood floor, low house beam, rigid and suffering dinning procedure up to two and half hours per evening. Except eating and sleeping, no entertainment, no wifi, no spa, no attraction in the design or surroundings. The biggest disappointed is the very mini toilet so that it’s hard to raise the head and to turn the body. Frankly speaking Lords of Manor is the poorest hotel during my 15 days holiday in UK. We are cheated by myvacation.cn, we think we can find better and more suitable hotel in Cotswold by ourselves, instead of reading this magazine.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark02154438000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul T, General Manager at Lords of the Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Guest
I am so very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us, even more regrettable that we were completely unaware of your dissatisfaction during your stay. I do assure you that we would have tripled our efforts to make you more comfortable here had we known.

We apologise sincerely, whilst some people love the tranquility and peace we offer here along with our beautiful location I am sorry this did not meet your requirements.
Kind regards
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upper Slaughter
0.7 mi away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
562 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,247 reviews
9.2 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
969 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Lygon Arms
11.5 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lords of the Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lords of the Manor Hotel

Address: Upper Slaughter, Upper Slaughter GL54 2JD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Upper Slaughter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Upper Slaughter
Price Range: $289 - $546 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lords of the Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Lords of the Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lords Of The Manor
Lords Of The Manor Hotel Upper Slaughter, England - Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing