We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Zensa Lodge is a quiet, comfortable place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Zensa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Zensa Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Zensa Lodge is a quiet, comfortable place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

The lodge is quiet and comfortable. There is no need for TV, etc. We found the breakfast more than adequate. The grounds are beautiful and close to the beach. I think it would be a great place for families with two pools and lovely grounds.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 465BS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    34
    14
    7
    2
See reviews for
34
120
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
CapeTown
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Truly a heavenly haven tucked away in beautiful Scarborough. A beautiful home to Hein , Cyrrille and Lulu, this beautiful lodge is so freely shared with all their guests. The salt water pool is fabulously long & we loved spending the afternoon lying on the huge poolside loungers, the Bungalow and it's honest bar is a great idea as it formed the meeting place for those guests that wanted to mingle and share travel stories. The rooms are beautifully decorated in understated elegance & the bed was extremely comfortable. The cleaning/maintenance staff are extremely courteous and friendly : ) We loved how our hosts are very active within their community and while we were there they were hosting a wine tasting ... how awesome is that !!!
It is a very short wander to the beach where excellent surfing can be done, one can go for long beach walks or just clamber amongst the rock pools. Don't miss the sunset !!!
We will most certainly be back and next time we will definately be staying longer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hez0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Not sure why is is a 4* as there is no Air con in the rooms/ No TV/ No Fridge, Radio with no reception. When we asked for Ice were directed to a ice machine that was empty for the weekend. Breakfast average as they could not make an omelet, all you received was a flat round egg which looked liked it was cooked in the microwave. Was not informed about where the jacuzzi or the steamroom was. Maybe because we booked via Daddy Deals. The free bottle of wine was a 2005 vintage that was past his drink date.

Room Tip: Rooms that can hear the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anton d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is a lovely little place and is the perfect place to discover and enjoy Cape Point and all that it has to offer and Scarborough was a lovely little town. I have mixed emotions about this place as in many ways its very special, it's set in stunning gardens, chickens and dogs and the managers are warm and friendly. What I didn't like was that it didn't feel like a B&B, there were kids toys and bits left all over the place and one night the managers had all their friends over very who took over the entire communal areas with lots of kids so we had to move! Surely the idea is that the guests enjoy the communal areas not the hosts! Also the place is looking tired isn't as good as the website reflects, there are lots of areas that need repointing and there are no chairs by one of the pools. All in all its good but it just didn't feel like a hotel rather than staying with people where you almost felt a bit in the way

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simon_beck75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Located in peaceful Scarborough Zensa manages to be the perfect getaway.

Hosts were friendly and welcoming and the room was very nice overlooking the beach. With a honesty bar, a swimming pool, a saltwater pool, a jacuzzi and a sauna, not to mention the beach close by there are many activities avaliable.

A hot sauna paired with a swim in the cool saltwater pool at night is so relaxing!

Breakfast was nice but a bit late, it felt a bit like a home rather than a lodge - but a very welcoming home that I will return to!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tichaona11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

One of the jewels in South Africa. A perfect place to relax, slow down, re-energize yourself.
One of my favorites places . . . Loved the rooms, breakfast, swimming pool area. Zensa lodge was also very close to the Sea so you could get the best of both worlds. A perfect refuge . . . The decoration and attention to detail makes you feel the luxury and comfort that we all seek when getting away.
Thank you ! Look forward to coming again and visiting you !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

This beautiful lodge is a joy to stay in: stylish, comfortable and relaxing. Owners Hein and Cyrille have created a wonderful, welcoming atmosphere. The long swimming pool is fabulous and the grounds are picturesque. As a result, it's very tempting to pass time at the lodge -- by the pool, in the open-air "bungalow" or in the thoughtfully planned private areas attached to each suite. But Zensa is also splendidly located for exploring the towns, beaches and other attractions of the Cape peninsula. A perfect start to our holiday, and a place we hope to return to soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
4.7 mi away
Whale View Manor
Whale View Manor
#2 of 6 in Simon's Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Last Word Long Beach
The Last Word Long Beach
#1 of 1 in Kommetjie
5.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
15.0 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Boat House
The Boat House
#1 of 29 in Simon's Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
3.9 mi away
Cheriton Guest House B&B
Cheriton Guest House B&B
#3 of 29 in Simon's Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zensa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zensa Lodge

Property: Zensa Lodge
Address: 534 Egret Street, Scarborough 7975, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Zensa Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the border of Cape Point National Reserve and a one minute walk from the beach, Zensa Lodge in Scarborough is the ultimate hideaway around Cape Town. It's a place of relaxation, surrounded by beauty and nature, mountains and oceans. Zensa's 7 guest rooms, all in calming white, are models of simplicity, reflecting the unspoiled nature of the Cape Peninsula. With design furniture on pure white floors, crisp white bed linen, they are suffused with a feeling of comfort and style. Each room features an en-suite bathroom with bath, separate shower and walk-in wardrobe. Watch the sunset from your private terrace or patio. Have an early morning stroll on the pristine beach, take a hike up the mountain or in the National Reserve or cycle along the breathtaking coastline of the Cape. Scarborough and its surrounding beaches are world renowned for wave, wind and kite surfing. Hein Van de Geyn and Cyrille Carreon are happy to welcome you to their little haven and aim to make your stay with them an unforgettable one. The large private garden gives Zensa Lodge a feel of spaciousness and tranquility. The pools, jacuzzi and sauna are there to give you all the opportunities to forget about life's hustle and bustle and get in touch with your inner peace. Music is never far away since Hein and Cyrille are both musicians at heart. Great food and a good glass of wine all add to a pure sense of well being. Children are more than welcome at Zensa Lodge. The trampoline, tree hut and of course the close proximity to the beach make Zensa an ideal spot for children of all ages. Zensa Lodge, an oasis in one of the most special areas in the world. We would love to welcome you and share our wonderful place with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Zensa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zensa Lodge Scarborough, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing