We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has a lot of potential but improvements are needed.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ormond at Tetbury
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Has a lot of potential but improvements are needed.”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here on a Thursday evening 2 weeks ago as we were attending a wedding nearby. On first impressions we were quite impressed with the look of the place and homely reception right in the middle of Tetbury with a large garden (paved) to sit outside.

However we would agree with the previous reviewer with the general lack of staff and personal service. We asked a member of staff from the bar area if we could check in (even though they saw us waiting in reception) and she didn’t really know what she was doing. She also told us the breakfast the following day finished at 10.30. When we arrived at breakfast the next morning at 10.07 we were told quite bluntly by a female staff member that breakfast had finished at 10 and the tables had been reset for lunch/dinner. A young male member of staff stepped in and offered to speak to the chef do see what he could do. He returned saying as long as it’s nothing too complicated which we were fine with so just ordered a simple egg on toast which was great. He was very attentive bringing out juice and tea etc (albeit slowly). The problem was the female member of staff about 20 minutes later was chatting to two other people in the bar area and brought them a full English breakfast and getting anything they asked for (clearly people she knew) obviously just couldn’t be bothered with us. So we were told nothing complicated when the table next to us had the works.

Initial impressions on the room was very nice albeit a little small but perfect for us . It was only when we returned from the wedding (around midnight) we realised that the heating wasn’t on in the hotel and being a typical English summer night it was freezing (6C). It also meant the towels did not dry from the evening before. All that was in the room was a small fan heater which was useless. The bed was also very hard. Also before leaving we left our key in the drop box. When we returned and asked for it the staff member didn’t even know the drop box was there.

Tetbury is nice and the long term car park (free) is about 10 minute walk. Overall its a shame as its a very nice clean hotel but could benefit from much better service & thermostats in the rooms to make it a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gfunk44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    164
    70
    33
    30
See reviews for
65
269
20
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

The Ormond looked like it was just what we wanted with promises on the web site of exceptional service and accommodation; sadly it did not live up to its billing. The main issue seemed to be lack of staff, with restaurant/bar staff also working the hotel reception and managing guest needs, meaning delays on check-in, no-one to help with bags and a general lack of personal service. Similarly during dinner on Friday and Sunday nights, parts of our food order were missing and we seemed to be ignored by some of the staff (others were very attentive and helpful) - again this seemed to be the result of being understaffed during a very busy BH and Badminton weekend. Our room was satisfactory, but certainly not exceptional and was let down by noise and smells from the kitchen and tired and incongruous decor/furniture. Unfortunately we also had several other gripes with the room (eg. tepid shower, tv only working intermittently, WiFi not working at all), which although all minor together were very frustrating and spoilt what could have been a great stay. The lack of personal service was repeated when we had to change our check-out date, again I think a result of the restaurant staff doing double duty.
Overall, we were rather disappointed with The Ormond - more staff are needed, particularly with a focus on the hotel section of the business, to avoid other guests having experiences similar to ours.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theormondhotel, Owner at The Ormond at Tetbury, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
We are obviously very disappointed by this review as the guests appeared to be enjoying themselves and none of these comments were made during their 4 day stay over Badminton. A senior member of staff was working on reception when the guest came down and said that something had cropped up at home and they would need to leave a day early. We fully understand that plans do change and explained that unfortunately we would still have to charge them for the final night as they were within the cancellation period. There was certainly no lack of personal service at this point, but perhaps the guest was hoping for a different response and this has led to the disappointment. They were staying in room 7 which has new and matching furniture and is one of the most popular rooms in the hotel.

Badminton is the busiest week of the year and our staff are busy but we believe that our service levels are not impacted. This year all but 3 rooms were repeat business and we are delighted that our loyal guests come back every year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
2 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Fabulous welcome from Silvie on arrival. Room exquisite we stayed 2 nights and were able to breakfast outside. All staff were very friendly and attentive We had 1 evening meal which was delightful and sampled many different gins in the bar. Could not have asked for a better place to stay following our days at badminton, and to top it all we had assistance to carry our baggage to the car with a smile, just when you thought it couldn't be better they went the extra mile ! Would recommend to all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We was staying in the hotel for a wedding 6 miles outside of Tetbury, we arrived at the hotel and we was able to check in ealry and casually get ready and relax beforehand. The hotel staff were very friendly and the decor and facilities in the hotel where very good and comfortable. Our room had the largest bathroom I've seen in a hotel within this price range.
We are going to go back again soon when we haven't got a wedding to focus on.

Room Tip: There is no pool or fitness centre, although I rated that as excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan_Phelps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

First night of a long weekend in the area was spent at The Ormond - a great choice. We had a superb room and a very nice welcome from the staff. They are fairly short staffed it seems, so any desire to stay up/drink past ordinary licensing hours is down to relaxing in the lounge and closing the place up for the night yourself. When we arrived, the barman serving was working hard, but was extremely pleasant - he was also running breakfast the next morning, as well as the bar which was open for coffee and very busy - oh - and he ran check out as well!

It was a very pleasant stay and we recommend it highly - and Tetbury itself is extremely friendly and a great place to wander around for the day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D_H242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We had two nights at this hotel and were in room 1 which had a four poster bed. It was fine, with all the usual facilities and toiletries. The breakfast was very good,only disappointment was lack of fresh fruit. The staff were pleasant and helpful and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 734suzannem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The hotel my co-workers were in near the town I needed to be in (Stonehouse) was sold out, and The Ormond was only 10 miles away and looked a lot better than staying in a Big Box hotel in Bristol.

The staff were all extremely polite and helpful, the room was quiet and clean, and the pub / restaurant had great food and reasonable prices. Breakfast was great, as well.

Wifi was fast and easy to link to.

The water pressure was a little weak compared to your house in the US, but it was plenty good enough to get clean and the water was hot.

The pub was packed with locals every night, and I enjoyed a couple of pints and a little scotch (suggested by the bar-keep / owner) that was excellent, while BSing with locals about soccer (football) and the Scottish Independence movement.

Tetbury itself is lovely, as well.

There is ample free parking about a 5 minute walk down the hill, free center-of-the-street parking about 50 yards away, and maybe 6 spots on the street, right across the street. Worst case is you walk 5 minutes.

I loved it, and if I go visit the same customer again, I'll be booking a room at The Ormond again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tetbury
0.0 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tetbury
381 reviews
0.1 mi away
Snooty Fox Hotel
Snooty Fox Hotel
#5 of 6 in Tetbury
645 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Priory Inn
The Priory Inn
#4 of 6 in Tetbury
554 reviews
3.3 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
701 reviews
3.8 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ormond at Tetbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ormond at Tetbury

Property: The Ormond at Tetbury
Address: 23 Long Street, Tetbury GL8 8AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tetbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ormond at Tetbury 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Tetbury, The Ormond is a stylish, Cotswold inn within easy reach of Westonbirt Arboretum, Highgrove and the market towns of Cirencester and Stroud, providing an ideal base for discovering this area of outstanding natural beauty with its many picturesque villages. Tetbury, with its array of old buildings and independent boutiques and galleries, is made for exploring, or we can arrange other activities for you. From hiring a classic car to 18 holes of golf, flying lessons or clay pigeon shooting there is plenty to occupy you for a few days away. Dating from the 16th Century, the hotel is a comfortable blend of old and new, creating an atmosphere which is relaxed, informal and individual. With elegant rooms, delicious award-winning food, a friendly bar and exceptional service, the Ormond is the perfect location for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your The Ormond at Tetbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ormond At Tetbury Hotel Tetbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing