We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restful and cosy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Ormond at Tetbury
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here at the Ormond as a surprise for me before I go into hospital. The hotel is on the main street with no parking but there is parking nearby which was not really a problem for us, although being a boutique hotel some may find this an issue. A tip would be to drop off your bags and then go and park. Our room was room 11, a superior room, and although a little small, was beautifully appointed. The bed was wonderfully comfortable and lovely and warm. The bathroom a good size too. We ate an evening meal in the dining room and the food was beautifully cooked. All options around the menu were carefully explained and the food presented really well. Breakfast was lovely........a good range to choose from and again beautifully cooked. The central location is a real bonus as it is good to explore the town of Tetbury. We did not find any problems with the staff as others have mentioned..in fact they went out of their way to be of help when we required it. Everywhere in the hotel was beautifully clean and there was great attention to detail. We would certainley stay there again and would recommend it to anyone wishing to visit this part of the country.

Room Tip: Our room was lovely and quiet overlooking the courtyard. However this was October so there was no-on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monal19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (518)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

366 - 372 of 518 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2012

I ate at the Ormond for the first time yesterday. The bar area is really lovely, comfortable and warm with a good atmosphere. The food and the service however, were not great. The staff forgot to bring our nibbles (which we ordered because we were going to have to eat later than anticipated), which was a little annoying. Once we had ordered our mains, the (unfortunately) inevitable happened - the food arrived before the cutlery. A bit of attention to detail wouldn't go amiss. The food was OK, but could have been presented bit better.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Kasim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed at The Ormond, Tetbury for one night and it was wonderful. It was my 50th birthday and the thoughtful desk staff went out of their way to put me in a special room for the occasion. The 'Stable Room', as it was called had a real 'wow' factor ... lush purple colour scheme, bed up on a platform, beautiful new shower-room - sofa, big flat screen tv (if you like that sort of thing!), coffee and tea in the room. It's a long, thin room but very large. The bed was soooo comfortable, the room spotlessly clean. Hotel location is in the middle of town, convenient for everything.

Service at the hotel was first class - attentive, positive, helpful. Wonderful!

Had dinner at the hotel bar (Pork Loin with veggies) and it was first class delicious. Great setting - warm, cozy, friendly, tables/sofas. Breakfast in the morning had a huge selection of hot and cold items, the staff attentive, friendly.

The town itself ... Tetbury is one of the loveliest towns I've ever been to and I've lived all over the world. Small, cute as cute can be, full of little boutique shops, cafes, antiques and such beautiful stone architecture. Really like being in a fairy tale. :)

I'd definitely come back to The Ormond again and would recommend it to anyone looking for a great night or weekend away.

Room Tip: Stable room is a long, narrow room with exposed beams on ceiling, the bed on a raised platform, comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adventures4Annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I spent two nights at the Ormond. The hotel itself is nice: clean and comfortable. However, the reception is run so badly, it really reduced the quality of my stay.
Just getting the reservation of two rooms for two nights, for the correct nights, and price was an unbelievable challenge. After numerous e-mails and phone calls everything seemed to be sorted out. When I checked out, I was asked to pay an amount lower than what I had expected. I pointed this out but was reassured that the price was correct. Hours later, I was called and informed that I had been undercharged. I asked the hotel to send me an e-mail about the matter -my phone's battery was almost dead. I never received any such e-mail. Less than a day later the hotel charged my credit card the difference - and has not given me a response more personal than the statement that they charged my credit card... I promise you, I am an easy-going person: the hotel staff can not be relied on to manage simple booking and receiving payment for a room - or deal with their mistakes in a way that suggests they have any aspiration to run the place with a sense of business ethics.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisl81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We had been very happy calling in for the occasional evening Drinks at 'The Ormond' for some while, before we realised that it was actually a very fashionable Boutique Hotel as well.

With our 49th Wedding Anniversary by then fast-approaching, it seemed an obvious choice for a Special Dinner and an Overnight Stay. A brief word with the helpful Staff, and it was all arranged.

'The Ormond' does have a very smart Restaurant, but both of us always prefer to eat in the very atmospheric and busy Bar, which unusually not only offers delicious Specials of the day, but also a choice from the full Restaurant Menu.

The Food was quite simply outstanding and most enjoyable, and the Friendly Service absolutely First Class!

As 'The Ormond' is located right in the middle of Tetbury, in the Heart of the historic Cotswolds, my only concern was what to do for Overnight Parking. That proved to be no problem at all, as just around the corner from the Hotel, the overnight Car Parking is FREE!

That very Special Evening was a really great success, with yours-truly earning maximum Bonus Points! But now I have a dilema. How to make next year's 50th Wedding Anniversary as special?

That's easy. It will have to be 'The Ormond' again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I had lived in Tetbury for over 40 years and knew The Ormonds very well, or so i thought! My then lovely fiancee, now lovely wife, were on the lookout for that perfect wedding venue and were tearing our hair out. With the in laws we decided to pop in and grab a coffee and a sandwich, as we left we noticed that the Ormonds were venturing into the wedding reception side of the business so asked if they may be able to help us, a task that would test their metal as we had a date of less than a year away! What happened next really surprised us both.
From that first chance discovery, a meeting was arranged so that we could run through our plans for the reception. That was when we discovered that not only could they supply us with the venue, seating drink and food for our planned 100 guests, the lady we were sat talking to, Nikki, would also be our personal wedding planner from that time on!!! We could not of been happier as the big day approached and every one of our plans had been fulfilled, some even exceeding our expectations!
The big day finally arrived and the church service was complete. On our arrival at the Ormonds we were greeted by the sight of our guests sipping arrival drinks in the beautiful courtyard that had been dedicated to us, a lovely thing to see and from that very moment on we knew we could relax and enjoy the rest of our day.
The staff at the Ormonds, expertly guided by the wonderful Nikki, waited on everyone swiftly and professionally, serving beautiful canapes and making sure everybodys glasses remained topped up. All of the guests were then seated in comfort in the marquee erected at the end of the courtyard. Again the staff were on hand to ensure glasses were full to welcome us into what could only be described as OUR DREAM.
The marquee looked stunning and everybody was comfortable and relaxed. After the speeches the food was announced and everyone was served that traditional wedding fare, Hogroast!!! I cannot begin to describe the taste, it was devine, and only the shiney bones remained. After the grand meal the coach house to the side of the marquee was re-opened, with its self contained but spacious bar, for some very energetic boogie!
I suppose, what i am trying to say is this, if you are looking for somewhere to hold the perfect wedding reception, i think that we literally stumbled pon it, but are so glad we did. I would highly recommend The Ormonds to anyone, Stunning venue, ever friendly staff, beautiful food with fantastic service, and of course, Nikki, your very own planner who will do everything in her power to make it that little more special.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

stayed at the ormond 16th and 17th october. stayed in room 7 superior double, nice bed, big bathrom we took our dog which we where charged £25. the breakfast was lovely plenty of choice i had full english one morning and smoked salmon and scrambled eggs the next morning,the bar was very welcoming and the food menu had plenty of choice, plus afternoon tea and scones which was very welcome after a long walk around westonbirt arbortum, the ormond is a great base for exploring the cotswolds,plus to my husbands delight they do cycling breaks which he will be going on with friends.would recommend this hotel dogs where welcome in the bar aswell

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daisy2rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tetbury
2.4 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
0.1 mi away
Snooty Fox Hotel
Snooty Fox Hotel
#5 of 6 in Tetbury
675 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tetbury
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Priory Inn
The Priory Inn
#4 of 6 in Tetbury
587 reviews
9.3 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
709 reviews
17.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ormond at Tetbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ormond at Tetbury

Address: 23 Long Street, Tetbury GL8 8AA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tetbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Price Range: $93 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ormond at Tetbury 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Tetbury, The Ormond is a stylish, Cotswold inn within easy reach of Westonbirt Arboretum, Highgrove and the market towns of Cirencester and Stroud, providing an ideal base for discovering this area of outstanding natural beauty with its many picturesque villages. Tetbury, with its array of old buildings and independent boutiques and galleries, is made for exploring, or we can arrange other activities for you. From hiring a classic car to 18 holes of golf, flying lessons or clay pigeon shooting there is plenty to occupy you for a few days away. Dating from the 16th Century, the hotel is a comfortable blend of old and new, creating an atmosphere which is relaxed, informal and individual. With elegant rooms, delicious award-winning food, a friendly bar and exceptional service, the Ormond is the perfect location for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Ormond at Tetbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ormond At Tetbury Hotel Tetbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing