We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improved corridors!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Ormond at Tetbury
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stayed at the Ormond this weekend and were immediately struck by the quality of the winding corridors ....especially as previous reviewers told of their grotty condition! Now they are royal purple with attractive prints and a new carpet. Much improved I would suggest.
We were updated to room 6 which I thought attractive but my wife hated the amount of black ...pillows, wallpaper and bedside lights...I liked the effect. Comfy bed and the patio outside was not too noisy. We would have liked bath sheets please !
The bar was cosy with a lot of locals as well as guests. Plenty of multi coloured,fit and thirsty cyclists. Excellent Doombar bitter and plenty of tasty food with the evening meal.
Breakfasts were excellent .
Praise is due to the whirlwind that is Sylvia ......she was superb during our stay. Always cheerful and helpful, she remembered everything you asked previously and she helped finding a reception for my I pad before I got too cross!!
Overall, good value for money, good location but parking is a bit tricky and needs thought at all times.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NotLordPercy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (522)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

396 - 402 of 522 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2012

Whilst the food was lovely that is thd only plus for this hotel .

Firstly we had been led to believe parking was available there is none. Yoj have to find onstreet parking which has limited waiting outside hotel .

The room we were allocated was a large family room, however halfway through getting changed for the evening we had to be moved because we found that the tv was not working. And when we went to phone reception we found the phone did not work.

We were moved to another room which whilst smaller was much better.

We had complained about the move and had been told that a discount could be considered but only by the owners who were not there but who would contact us . We have not heard anything.

We have been staying in several hotels locally as part of our walking holiday and found this to be the only one we were disappointed with and the most expensive.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoseandIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We live locally so have visited the Ormond a number of times. It is a nice cosy trad. English pub, feels warm and welcoming. The only odd thing about the interior is that they have news TV constantly on in the bar but with no sound - why ?
The one big challenge with the Ormond is how long it takes for them to serve food. Even when it is more than half empty it regularly takes 30-40 minutes to get a sandwich or burger & fries or similar. When they are busy they have even refused to take our food order, asking us to come back to the bar in 20-30 minutes when they might be able to take the order -weird. One hour 20 mins is the longest we've waited - honestly.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Recently spent a night at The Ormond with my wife and an old school friend for our annual renunion. had a superior room in the roof which was perfectly adequate. However the best thing about this place is the restaurant, which was excellent.
When booking we were told that parking had been arranged "on the owners drive"-however when we arrived the excellent Mat who dealt with our check-in was not at all sure where this was. Infact Mat jumped in the car and guided us to the Vicarage and we duly parked alongside the delightfull coach house. Next morning however, when retrieving the car we met the "owner" of this property who was not amused that she had not been informed in advance of this arrangement.
Tetbury is a delightfull cotswold town with many superb Antique shops, not to mention HRH's shop opposite the Ormond.

All in all a very enjoyable stay was enjoyed by all members of the party.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malknoO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

So it was mothers day and being a dutiful son i wanted to take ma' to somewhere great to eat. Knowing the ormond always provide excellent food care of their fantastic chef it was an easy decission.
Ian (the owner) was very friendly and knowledgable about the menu and we were not disappointed. Many thanks guys will be coming back soon!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CraigHellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

We stayed at The Ormond for two nights, Friday 10 and Saturday 11 February. We had originally booked with the hotel directly and then found a cheaper deal for the Friday (£85 compared with £135) on laterooms.com. We rang the hotel to tell them and they openly stated they wanted us to book with them directly and so matched the £85. The rate of £135 for the Saturday they gave us with dinner represented good value for money.

The hotel is in a good location on the high street, with entry down a narrow alley-way which is part of the hotel. There are pretty wrought iron tables & chairs and lovely pots some on tables, on the ground or wall mounted.

The hotel does not have its own parking but parking is free opposite up until 10.00am (free on Sundays), so other than this you need to use one of the nearby car parks with p&d and move your car quite early in the morning.

As others have commented, there are no staff on reception but there is a notice asking guests on arrival to go to the bar on the other side of the alley-way.

We were taken up a steep flight of stairs, along a maze of very darkly painted and tatty corridors. There was paint peeling, large chunks of plaster missing and torn carpets; we were worried at this point what state our room might be in!

On the advice of Nicky when we booked, we had opted for room 7 (on the hotel website, beige bed cover) with its beautiful décor and furniture. We were not disappointed apart from the temperature in the room; absolutely freezing. The radiator was barely warm ,we were told it had just been turned on (this was at 6pm) and that the heating is not on constantly but on a timer - with sub zero temperatures outside this was really not acceptable. We requested a fan heater & extra covers which although brought straight away did not alleviate the cold & definitely effected the comfort of our stay. Yes it's an old building but this was clearly trying to economise. We found the bed very comfortable, others have said it was hard. The pillows were flat though and had seen better days; extra ones were brought.

The first evening we had an excellent reasonably priced chicken 'Pieminster' with fries and treacle pudding in The Snooty Fox pub, a 2 minute walk away. Lovely family atmosphere with 4-5 dogs sprawled out in front of a roaring fire!

Breakfast at The Ormond is served till 10am in the restaurant with its tasteful furnishings and décor. There was a good variety of choices - delicious home-made granola, traditional cooked, eggs benedict, eggs florentine, scrambled egg & smoked salmon. Plentiful toast & brewed coffee, delicious home-made marmalade and jam in kilner jars on the tables but hideous catering jams with peel off tops by the cereals - why? Shame too about the cheap watery juices in a jug.

It was nice to have daily papers around to read.

Opposite the hotel is the Highgrove shop which is definitely worth a visit. Tetbury is picturesque but there is not a tremendous amount to do there; a couple of hours would probably suffice unless you are on the 'antique trail'. The Saturday market has alot of tat, but there are some nice gift shops as well as numerous stylish cafés and sandwich bars.

Malmesbury, a market town a 40 minute drive is well worth visiting with its beautiful abbey and then to indulge in a traditional cream tea there at The Old Bell Hotel, England's oldest hotel.

Westonbirt Arboretum, 5 minutes away is stunning, and in Winter was truly magical with the ground and trees covered in snow.

The Ormond Hotel is popular with locals as we saw on the Saturday night when we ate there. We opted for a table in the pleasant bar area which was cosy and not too noisy. We would highly recommend the duck which was cooked to perfection. All the staff without exception were friendly and efficient.

All in all we enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel; however the economies with heating do need to be addressed and whilst we were told that the redecoration of the corridors was imminent, its current state was really quite shocking and should never have got to this state; this lets the hotel down badly. These have impacted on our low rating of 3 out of 5; such a shame when the restaurant, bar, small lounge and our bedroom were delightful.

Room Tip: Room 7 lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank awmw2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Basically, the Ormond has gorgeous rooms with a reasonable pricetag. But the rest is a bit of a muddle.

First things first. It is an inn...a restaurant and bar with rooms. The service goes hand in hand with that. When the reception is unstaffed (always), you have to call the bar staff. So, you don't get a real welcome or goodbye. However with enquiries at the bar, they were responsive, friendly and helpful - but they were not dedicated hotel staff. Fortunately this is not reflected in the cleanings - the rooms are clean and fresh.

Secondly, this hotel is COLD (during winter at least, whether radiators are on or not)! This is mainly due to the old stone exterior walls. They will provide fan heaters that soon heat up the room and once one was brought up to us, this wasn't a problem. However, these should be in the rooms as standard.

The hotel has a great location on Long Street, one of the two main roads running through Tetbury. Parking is tricky, with time-limited spaces near the hotel. The exterior could be very nice, but it is a bit tacky and doesn't do justice to it's bar, restaurant or rooms or its location in a picturesque town. They should think about bringing it inline with the level of its bedrooms.

This is billed as a boutique hotel and all the rooms have individual decoration. This was the main thing that attracted me to the hotel. I was not disappointed with furnishings that would not be amiss in Hotel Du Vin. I hope that they continue to maintain this level of styling and don't let the furnishings get tired as it is this that gives The Ormond extra sparkle. The hallways are in need of attention, with worn carpeting and a tacky purple theme carried through from the exterior signage. A fresh lick of light paint would lift the corridors.

We stayed in Room 7, the bed was super comfy. The TV was a far cry from the large flatscreen promised with the superior rooms, but still functional. I'd recommend this room or the room next door - you get a reasonable amount of light, no other rooms overlooking your room and no noise from the high street. However, if there was a wedding in, you might get a lot of noise/cigarette smoke from the courtyard outside, so worth asking about that first.

We'd read that the dinners are nice, but don't provide good value, so we went to No. 65 down the street for their fabulous dinner (on Tastecard at the time, but is good value without it!) Back at the Ormond, the breakfast service left quite a bit to be desired, but the member of staff was leaving shortly to work at another hotel which probably explains that. The breakfast itself was decent, but not huge.

The marquee corridor (presumably for weddings) in the courtyard was an eyesore and really detracted from the lovely character of this old coaching in - hopefully they will be able to replace it with a wooden pergola or similar once they've had revenue from a few more weddings.

We holed up in our room for the night (having a good wander around lovely Tetbury after checking out). If you want to do this, this place is perfect. The Ormond as a whole seemed to be having a bit of an identity crisis, being encouraged as a regular stop off for cyclists (and their bikes), a wedding venue, bar/cafe for locals, 'gourmet' restaurant, boutique bedrooms, reception with tumbleweed drifting through. I think the only two of those that it carries off really well is the bar/cafe and bedrooms and should consider consolidating that part of their business or running the hotel separately so that it can become a must-visit/stay destination :-)

I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The difference between the standard rooms and superior rooms are a little more space and a bathtub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marnova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tetbury
2.4 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
0.1 mi away
Snooty Fox Hotel
Snooty Fox Hotel
#5 of 6 in Tetbury
675 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Priory Inn
The Priory Inn
#4 of 6 in Tetbury
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tetbury
430 reviews
9.3 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
715 reviews
3.9 mi away
Best Western Mayfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ormond at Tetbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ormond at Tetbury

Address: 23 Long Street, Tetbury GL8 8AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tetbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Price Range: $87 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ormond at Tetbury 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Tetbury, The Ormond is a stylish, Cotswold inn within easy reach of Westonbirt Arboretum, Highgrove and the market towns of Cirencester and Stroud, providing an ideal base for discovering this area of outstanding natural beauty with its many picturesque villages. Tetbury, with its array of old buildings and independent boutiques and galleries, is made for exploring, or we can arrange other activities for you. From hiring a classic car to 18 holes of golf, flying lessons or clay pigeon shooting there is plenty to occupy you for a few days away. Dating from the 16th Century, the hotel is a comfortable blend of old and new, creating an atmosphere which is relaxed, informal and individual. With elegant rooms, delicious award-winning food, a friendly bar and exceptional service, the Ormond is the perfect location for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Ormond at Tetbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ormond At Tetbury Hotel Tetbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing