We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel break and excellent restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Priory Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Priory Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Certificate of Excellence
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great value hotel break and excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Despite a few niggles we had a good stay at the Priory Inn and recommend it to anyone. Service at reception was slow in coming but as the hotel explains, as a 14-bed hotel its staff do several jobs and may be busy in the bar or restaurant, getting to you when they can...

Our room was well appointed with tea making facilities, biscuits and two bottles of still mineral water provided, which helped us feel welcome.

We booked via a bookings agent online and got a great rate which made this visit better value.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    143
    54
    28
    17
See reviews for
111
257
10
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Portishead, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Took advantage of the Autumn Delicious offer of dinner, bed, breakfast and tickets to Westonbirt Arboretum. First impression of the Priory was positive - attractively laid out frontage. Evening meal and breakfast were both of an exceedingly high quality - plenty of choice, well presented by pleasant, cheerful staff. The fact that food is locally sourced and providers named added to the whole environmental ethos of the inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Will I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed at the Priory Inn last Sunday and were very impressed with the standard of our room. It was quite spacious by today's standards, there were ample tea and coffee making supplies, and toiletries provided in the bathroom.
The staff at recepton and in the restaurant are very friendly and they really made us feel welcome.
We were on an Autumn deal which included dinner. Here The Priory really came into it's own. We had one of the best restaurant meals we have ever had and we highly recommend it. They use fresh local produce and it shows.
If we're in the area again we will certainly use The Priory.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LandM4138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stayed at the Priory to attend a local wedding. Service from arrival until my departure was friendly prompt and efficient. I really enjoyed my stay, the hotels food being the highlight which is all sourced within 30 miles of the hotel. (They mean local farms, not the supermarkets in that range)

Amazing muffins for the breakfast. The best muffins I have ever had, anywhere, ever. The main breakfast was also top notch. Hotel is lovely inside with exposed beams and period features. Room is of a good size and beautifully decorated. Towels were fluffy and luxurious. Hotel even included a "forgotten anything?" bag which includes anything from an ablutions category you may have forgotten. Cheap for what you get. £90 a night for this quality in this location is superb value for money. For some reason the review asked me to rate the non existent pool, once clicked I can't remove it, so rated 5 stars to avoid pulling down the stats. Sorry about that, review fail..

Room Tip: The room I was given was amazing and I did not request anything in particular. It was also the cheap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stayed for one night on Sunday October 6th before a booked tour to Highbury the next day. I was greeted and treated in a very professional manner at the front desk and was pleasantly surprised with my room, it had more than the usual for pub style accomodation (which was what I had been expecting). It was great to have ample supplies for tea and coffee and also lovely locally made shortbread in my spacious room(for one person the bed could have slept three!) and an iron and ironing board is what you always get in Australia but not often in the UK. The bathroom was smallish, but fine for me and the towels were large and fluffy and the toiletries were good.

I must say that the service in the restaurant was terrific, one of the Australians who had been on reception when I checked in was also doing bar and waitressing duties, how versatile are the staff? My French waiter knew his stuff and the roast chicken and accompaniments were perfect, I couldn't have eaten pudding after that. I slept well and had a fabulous breakfast the next day, perfectly cooked. I would be pleased to return again and recommended the Priory Inn to a couple I met later in the day for its great value for money and being perfect for a stay in a delightful town.

Incidentally I travel and stay in a lot of hotels all over the world, especially now I am retired and worked in large London hotels in the past and still do special contract catering jobs to keep my hand in. Well done the Priory Inn.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed for one night at The Priory Inn and had no idea what to expect. What we experienced was real customer service which is so often missing these days. The staff worked very well together as a team and we were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived. All aspects of the service we received were a pleasure to experience. Our bedroom was very clean and furnished to meet all our needs. The en suite facility was fitted out to the highest standard. We arrived late and did not wish for a full dinner in the dining room but were able to choose from the menu and have food items of our choice brought quickly and willingly to our bedroom. This was service with a smile and only normal dining room charges applied. Breakfast, using locally produced food was another highlight of our short stay .

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and we shall certainly be returning for a few day's break early next year? Thank you to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed on a 1 night dinner, bed & breakfast rate. For £129 I wasn't expecting anything special but how wrong I was!
Each member of staff we met was very friendly, helpful and engaging (Max- what a star!). Dinner was excellent - couldn't fault it. They make a big deal of local sourcing & the passion shows through. Breakfast was also good with a standout bowl of porridge!
The rooms was clean & comfortable - a bit tired round the edges but the bed was comfy, the towels uber-fluffy and we slept the sleep of the well fed.
It might not win prizes for the prettiest hotel in the Cotswolds (think mid-market American Motel) but I'm going back first chance I get for some more of that delicious food.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Numberwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tetbury
0.2 mi away
Snooty Fox Hotel
Snooty Fox Hotel
#6 of 6 in Tetbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tetbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Ormond at Tetbury
The Ormond at Tetbury
#5 of 6 in Tetbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
3.2 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mayfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Priory Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Priory Inn

Property: The Priory Inn
Address: London Road, Tetbury GL8 8JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tetbury
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Priory Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your The Priory Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Priory Hotel Tetbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing