We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Gardens at Highgrove
Review Highlights
Beyond our expectations

Thank you HRH prince Charles for allowing this insight into your home to see your organic and... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Uktonyuk
,
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
via mobile
Highgrove Garden

Delightful to see the many different sections of the gardens. Unlike the perfection so often seen... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
rwcousins
,
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Read all 982 reviews
  
Reviews (982)
Filter reviews
982 results
Traveler rating
807
126
28
11
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
807
126
28
11
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews prince charles garden tour champagne tea hour tour orchard room wildflower meadow photo id carpet garden two hours knowledgeable guide royal highness security reasons cottage garden organic garden different areas round the gardens christmas shopping
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 982 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were lucky to win tickets in a ballot run by Saga Possibilities.
We were treated to a two hour garden tour, Champagne Afternoon Tea and a flower arrangement demonstration by Shane Connolly.
The gardens are lovely, certainly not what we’d been expecting.
I have never seen such spectacular pots and urns dotted about.
The afternoon tea was delicious and well organised as there were nearly 80 people.
Shane Connolly was entertaining and showed us various arrangements, he did the flowers for Charles & Williams weddings a holds a Prince of Wales Royal Warrant.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank jane53England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After departing Highgrove, I wanted to head home and immediately rip out my flower beds!
The future king has quite the green thumb! The gardens are not only spectacular, every where you turn there's some little folly that draws your attention -- a bust of one of the Prince of Wales' friends, a kitchy garden gnome or a stone leprechaun laying on a bench.
You can truly be inspired by the design of the gardens (see 'rip out garden,' above) but what I most enjoyed was seeing bushes and plants that I have in my lowly yard (hydrangea, azalea, dahlias) used in such a royal organic garden!
Our guide, Patrick Barrett, was extremely knowledgable and patiently answered numerous questions from members of our group, many of whom were serious gardeners. (There are only 8 gardeners to take care of the property? Hard to believe.)
The only question I wish I had asked was why the Kitchen Garden was so far away from the kitchen!
The public facilities at Highgrove are top notch. We had lunch in the Orchard Restaurant -- carrot and celeriac soup, Coronation Chicken sandwiches with a fresh side salad composed of vegetables from the estate. Just delicious!
We thought the trip to Highgrove was well worth the time and expense.

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were led to believe that the garden walk was wheelchair accessible but this is not the case. In my opinion the paths are not in a fit state to take a wheelchair. We were told not to take photos so I can't prove it to you. Unfortunately my 94 year old relative had to turn back which was an expensive waste.

Date of experience: September 2019
3  Thank Sightsee782931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighgroveGardens, Customer Service Team at The Royal Gardens at Highgrove, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Sightsee782931,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and to provide us with your feedback. We very much appreciate it.

We are sorry to hear that you found the walk through the gardens to be unsuitable for a wheelchair user. Whilst some of the routes throughout the gardens are on unmade paths we do try to accommodate differing abilities and adapt the tour to suit the group when needed. We also have available wheelchairs with deeper wheels that are may be more suited for the gardens as well as mobility scooters. We are sorry to hear that your relative felt the need to finish the tour early.

We do hope to welcome you back to Highgrove in the near future and are very happy to accommodate any requirements which can be booked in advance by emailing customerservices@highgrovegardens.com


Kind regards,
The Customer Service Team at Highgrove

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Having arrived through security, had time for a light lunch in the Orchard Restaurant which was great.
Following a brief introduction, we embarked on a 2 hour tour of the gardens led by a most informative and helpful guide.
Although the weather was overcast , it did not spoil the visit. The experience exceeded our expectations and was well worth the journey.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Mother-in-law has lived in Tetbury for 40 years and never been to Highgrove so took her for her 81st birthday. Lucky with the weather, she had a free scooter to get around, well worth booking for anyone who needs the help. Gardens were wonderful, the guide so knowledgeable and friendly. Really enjoyed it and is highly recommended.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews