We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Good for the soul

What a fantastic place to visit at any time of the year, but particularly in the Autumn with the... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Patrick M
,
Crowborough, England, United Kingdom
Trees are a blessing

The autumn colours are fantastic. I loved the peace and sense of space. I don't know how it's... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Isabel E
,
Devon, United Kingdom
Read all 2,095 reviews
  
Reviews (2,095)
Filter reviews
2,079 results
Traveler rating
1,149
604
194
75
57
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,149
604
194
75
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviews autumn colours silk wood enchanted christmas forestry commission tree walk treetop walkway gruffalo trail car park beautiful trees japanese maples dog owners half term dogs are allowed annual membership mobility scooter dog walkers lovely place
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 2,079 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago

What a fantastic place to visit at any time of the year, but particularly in the Autumn with the different colours on display. The trees are awesome, but because of their sympathetic spacing you don't feel crowded or hemmed in like you can sometimes in a forest. The paths are well laid out and an entrance charge of £40 for 4 adults was in our eyes an absolute bargain. Wander at your own pace through nature and feel the benefits of being rejuvenated. Allow at least half a day for a good stroll through nature.

Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago

The autumn colours are fantastic. I loved the peace and sense of space. I don't know how it's possible to hide grand avenues but somehow you would turn a corner and there would be another avenue of elegant trees. Have pressed some wonderful red and orange acer leaves as a happy memory. I have two suggestions - I would like to have been able to buy trees. Such lovely specimens - I wanted to take one home. On a similar note - almost no wood products in the shop. Surely this is the place to show case the beauty of wood. We shall be back in the spring.

Thank Isabel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Would highly recommend for a day out. Such a beautiful place and so much to see and do. We were there for the whole day and only saw 2/3 of the park. Took a 3 1/2 year old and 8 month old and both were entertained. Lots of places to eat which has everyone’s taste covered.

Thank kirstyhart86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestonbirtArb, Marketing Officer at Westonbirt Arboretum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for your review, we're pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We were well advised by a member of staff at the reception and followed the updated guide to find stunning colours.
Half way around we enjoyed tasty toasted sandwiches and polite service at the restaurant which is centrally placed between trails.

Thank 820maggid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestonbirtArb, Marketing Officer at Westonbirt Arboretum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for your review, we're pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago

Go where you want, not necessary to have a guide...love the bridge over untroubled trees..! Great foresight by the originator... he planted knowing he would never enjoy the final views...Thanks indeed

Thank yargand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestonbirtArb, Marketing Officer at Westonbirt Arboretum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for your review, we're pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Lovely Autumnal walk surrounded by amazing selection of trees. The Acers, in particular, were worth the visit. It’s not a high octane attraction, but if fresh air and long walks are your thing then this hits the jackpot.

Worth highlighting also is the excellent restaurant which offers a great, healthy selection including several vegan, gluten and dairy free options (which were well labelled). On so many occasions we visit locations that do such a poor job in this regard that it is only fair we highlight when it is done well, like here

1  Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestonbirtArb, Marketing Officer at Westonbirt Arboretum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for your review, we're pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited with a club that our little boy belongs to. It was half term and of course the autumnal colours were out in force so the car park was very busy. However the beauty of Westonbirt is that it is so large you quickly lose the crowds as you move away from the honeypots. Plenty of open space for the children to move around in, kicking the fallen leaves and then hunting down the Gruffalo and all his friends. We also enjoyed the walk on the elevated walkway into Silk Wood.

Thank PoliteEngineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestonbirtArb, Marketing Officer at Westonbirt Arboretum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for your review, we're pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Good quality paths, dry and even, and well signed, with co-ordinates linked to map. Aerial walkway particularly good, with interesting facts as you progress. Amazing variety of trees, dog free area with examples of trees to suit our likely future climate was particularly interesting. Well trimmed grassland under trees, makes walking easy. Surprised that we saw no birds, in 4 hour visit.
Full prices even for seniors, unless arrive by public transport or bicycle, difficult when travelled some way.
Good cafe in centre, but hot food options not obvious.

Thank QualityTraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestonbirtArb, Marketing Officer at Westonbirt Arboretum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for your review, we're pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

visited with my husband and grandson, the colours are amazing, easy to walk around as the paths are well signposted and information can be found on the trees and signboards, cant believe how many trees they have, only downside was the food on offer at the eating places, seem to cater for the younger set rather than older people and there were quite a few.

Thank themaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestonbirtArb, Marketing Officer at Westonbirt Arboretum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for your review, we're pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited arboretum on 23rd October. Japanese Maples at their best in Old Arboretum walks.
We think, it was worth to spend more time at Old Arboretum route than Silk route.
Admission tickets are pricey but worth for a visit once a year in Autumn. If you show public transport tickets, then there is discount in tickets. We took taxi from Kemble for GBP 20 as buses were with limited frequency and time consuming.
Inside facilities were clean even though mid term holidays were ON and flooded with people and kids. We took packed lunch (after read reviews here) so could not review their cafes. And yes, like most of the people mentioned here, number of dogs were more and annoying sometimes (were not on leash). Daughter attended a 'Crown making' activity with colourful leaves during silk route walk and was happy with the crown.
Perfect to spend 4-5 hours if like to take pictures and have patience for crowd to pass to get clear shots. Definitely, will visit next year if get a chance.

Thank AmiMORE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestonbirtArb, Marketing Officer at Westonbirt Arboretum, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review, we're pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews