We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overnight stay”
Review of Snooty Fox Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Snooty Fox Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“overnight stay”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We were welcomed by George the Great Dane and a very pleasant receptionist. There is no car park but we found a parking bay nearby where we parked free for the night. The room was very small but exceptionally clean and had everything we needed. We dined in and had an excellent meal. The waiter was very attentive and we wanted for nothing. Breakfast in the morning was also excellant. All the staff were more than helpful. Would hightly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lemontree4532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSnootyFox, General Manager at Snooty Fox Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
I’m pleased that you had our special welcome, from the receptionist as well as ‘George’. It’s very kind of you to mention the housekeeping and that your room was exceptionally clean. Chris takes great pride in the servicing of our rooms and I really do believe that it shows, from the comments that we regularly receive regarding this and from my daily inspections.
You recommendation of us goes a long way and I’d like to say thank you for taking the time to let others know via tripadvisor. I’m delighted to hear that the staff were helpful and attentive. They will certainly appreciate your kind comments, as I do. Hopefully, we will see you again, in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    200
    68
    35
    24
See reviews for
61
390
12
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Myself and a friend stayed here for one night and had a very pleasant time.

The hotel doesn't have parking but you can park round the back in a public car park and after 6'ish, it's free until 8 in the morning. Not wanting to get caught out by the early start, we were able to move our car across the road to a free car park space. Simple.

The welcome at the hotel was very warm and I was thrilled to meet George, a wonderfully docile Great Dane who definitely ruled the roost. I'm a dog lover but if you're not then it's probably best to avoid this place - but quite frankly, he'd scarce bark boo to a cat, let alone a goose!

Walking up one staircase, our rooms were on the side of the inn overlooking the side alley. Yep, no view but quite frankly a view ain't no use at night and hopefully during the day, you're out and about rather than staying sadly in your room.

It was a large room with two fitted wardrobes, a large comfortable double bed, cotton sheets and pillow cases, a well-stocked tea/coffee tray, hairdryer, jacuzzi bath, shower (not the strongest but sufficient), shampoo, soap, body lotion, shower gel (no shower cap) and a flat screen TV. Overnight the room was quiet although I was a little concerned that I could hear the kitchen staff in the alley below, fortunately though they stopped chatting at 1030 when I was ready to burrow down!

The rest of the inn is well kitted-out: there's a pub/bar section where locals mix with residents, a large restaurant where we had a great breakfast (me, kippers / my pal had the full works!). There's also a comfortable lounge/library at the back of the hotel which I'm sure on a winter's day, would be very cosy indeed but on a hot day, it looked a little cold and not very inviting.
There's no garden but there is a wooden covered terrace at the front of the Inn, overlooking the Market square which is a pleasant area to pass the time (as long as you're not downwind of a smoker!)

Aside from the decent breakfast, we didn't have a meal at the hotel so can't vouch for the fayre on offer. We had lunch at the nearby brasserie (excellent) and dinner at the Indian Restaurant (mediocre).

All in all, our stay was a success and we'd stay there again. I would stress though that it is very much a quintessential English Inn and not a five star hotel - so expect to see locals partaking the odd pint (or three) and expect a good comfortable stay and a warm welcome but don't expect crystal chandeliers and designer labels!

Room Tip: Choose a room at the side - no view but quieter providing the kitchen staff don't chat too loudl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSnootyFox, General Manager at Snooty Fox Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for leaving feedback regarding your stay with us. The car park is the best option if arriving later and leaving anytime before 11am. After 6pm, £1.90 in the meter covers you until 11am the next day. Saying that, there’s also plenty of on street parking too, where the staff park. We’re always delighted to point guests in the right direction for the best parking at that particular time of day.

I’m glad that you liked George, our resident Dane. He’s a very popular chap indeed, and is taken as a pat dog to local nursing homes as well as being ‘borrowed’ for walks or even holidays with some locals. We do welcome dogs here, with well behaved owners, but there are dog free areas for those who aren’t such big lovers of our canine friends.

You mention about the shower not being the strongest. We are actually in the process of upgrading pressure via pumps, so this will be resolved in the very near future. With regards to staff talking below your open window, I’ve taken measures to remedy this and it shouldn’t now be an issue beneath that room.

I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I do take on board your comment regarding the guest lounge/library. Rooms really do seem to come alive with a real fire but perhaps a rethink of how to make the lounge feel warmer when the fire isn’t lit is in order. We do appreciate feedback and always take on board requirements of our guests.

We do very much look forward to seeing you here again. Perhaps we might tempt you to dine here next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We booked three nights at the Snooty Fox as we were visiting Highgrove and decided to explore the local area at the same time. The hotel was a charming old town centre coaching inn and the room was very large, but was let down by a tired en suite bathroom. The weather was the hottest of the summer and we had great difficulty getting sufficient air into the room past the sliding secondary glazing, the net curtains and the heavy drapes. Because the room faced out onto a very busy roundabout and the striking Market Place clock, we battled to keep the noise levels down whilst keeping cool at night. Breakfast was a 'menu style' rather than a buffet, but the choice and quality was very good. The dining room was very dark and the evening restaurant menu was limited (and the same each night) and not cheap, so we ate out in some lovely country pubs where we could relax all evening in their gardens. We did try the bar food which was good quality and much better value than the restaurant, but you have to be patient or use your elbows if you want to eat outside in the sun and people watch, as the space is limited and occupied by locals in their favourite pub! There is NO car parking in the hotel, but a public pay and display car park is behind to hotel and, if you are clever, you will find some free spaces by the church.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tony_g_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSnootyFox, General Manager at Snooty Fox Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. With a record Summer this year, I think we all felt the affects of the heat this year at night time. We are in the middle of a room refurbishment, with several already completed. We do hope to have the remainder of them updated by early next year.
Being a town centre hotel, there will always be some exterior noise and traffic can be busy for the early evening as commuters head home, but comments tend to be few and far between regarding any noise issues. I’m sorry if you were disturbed by this.
When you return, I do urge you to try the restaurant food, so please speak with me when you re-book. I do very much look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Four of us stayed overnight after visiting Highgrove. The trip was a 60th birthday present for our friend and their superior room was very nice. We had chosen and reserved a table for dinner only to be told on entering the restaurant that they had given it to someone else. Having decided on our main courses we were informed that they had already sold out of our first choice. This was at 8:00 pm in a half empty restaurant. By this time we were all rather disgruntled and decided to return to the bar and have something to eat from their different menu. Again, my first choice was not available and we ended up having sausage and mash and pie and chips. Not the ideal evening dinner we envisaged as a 60th birthday present treat!! Would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and stay in a superior room if one is available and keep the windows closed as it is o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSnootyFox, General Manager at Snooty Fox Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
I have tried to contact you a few times regarding your comments, but didn’t hear back from you. Wherever possible, we do try to accommodate guest requests for a particular table but on this occasion, other residents arrived before and chose that particular table. As you mention, we did have plenty of other tables free in the restaurant that night to dine at though. On a Sunday, we may possibly sell out of a particular dish, especially working with fresh produce produced on the premises and after a very busy Saturday night and Sunday lunch. The bar areas were also very busy with food that evening. Re-training has taken place to ensure that guests can be informed at the earliest possible moment if a particular dish is no longer available.
I do appreciate your feedback and I apologise that on this occasion, you didn’t enjoy your visit to us and do hope to see you back again at some point soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manley, Cheshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Just returned from an overnight stay, we were visiting Highgrove gardens and this hotel is very convenient. Spacious clean bedroom and bathroom, a very good assortment of teas and coffee including filter coffee and hot chocolate. Staff friendly and attentive. Excellent breakfast with good choice, particularly enjoyed having muffins and crumpets available as well as toast We also had lunch and evening meal in the bar which were very good. Would certainly go again, hopefully soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eldManley_Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSnootyFox, General Manager at Snooty Fox Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments. I’m delighted that you enjoyed your visit to us. The staff do work hard to ensure guests enjoy their stay and it’s wonderful that you have given them recognition of this. We do very much look forward to seeing you here again at some point.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed for two nights late July in a superior room, which was HUGE. The bed was comfortable and the room decor was very comfortable. There was tea/coffee making facilities and complimentary water in the room, along with bathrobes and a large tv ( which had the tv magazine beside it - nice touch!). The bathroom had a shower/bath combination which sadly malfunctioned, and a satisfactory temperature for the shower could never be achieved, near scalding!! The staff were pleasant and attentive, and George the dog bothered no one. Breakfast was adequate if a little disappointing - the eggs benedict were off the two mornings we were there, but the full English was tasty! We'd stay again, but keep loose change handy as there is only pay and display parking close by!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelOrUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSnootyFox, General Manager at Snooty Fox Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay. I’m delighted that you liked your room, along with the little things we put in for guests. We are in the process of increasing pressure to the showers, which will correct the issue you mention.
I’m very disappointed that we weren’t able to offer the eggs Benedict during your stay and measures have been taken to ensure we always have the full breakfast offer each day. It’s good to hear that you enjoyed the full English breakfast though.
Having been here for 18 months, George is fully aware of where the boundaries are and what’s expected of him now. I’m not sure I can stop locals sneaking him treats from time to time though.
With parking, it’s always best to pull up outside first, so that you can unload (with our assistance of course) and then we can point out the free parking areas, as well as the pay and display car parks.
Thank you once again for your comments, and I do hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We were fortunate to be staying here at the time of the birth of the new royal prince in July-- we were pleased to toast his health with free champagne provided by the hotel.Our room was clean and spacious and the meals good.We found the staff pleasant and friendly, particularly a young blonde lady who served us both in the dining room and bar,sorry we didn't catch her name.George the resident dog is very large but a docile creature,not barking or disturbing anyone.Would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 454chimera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSnootyFox, General Manager at Snooty Fox Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
The birth of Prince George was a very special time for Tetbury and the whole country, let alone the Snooty Fox. I’d like to think that we celebrated it in a way that was fitting for the birth of a Prince too. It was rather a special day and I’m so pleased that you enjoyed being a part of it.
Thank you for your kind words regarding the staff and the food here. Olivia will be delighted to be singled out as a member of staff that impressed you.
George is a very well behaved Dog, as are the vast majority of Great Danes. He does mean an awful lot to a lot of people, with mini breaks away with other guests, as well as the ‘borrowing’ for walks. Please, do come and see us again before too long. It would be lovely to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tetbury
2.4 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Ormond at Tetbury
The Ormond at Tetbury
#6 of 6 in Tetbury
496 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tetbury
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Priory Inn
The Priory Inn
#4 of 6 in Tetbury
554 reviews
3.9 mi away
Best Western Mayfield House Hotel
3.7 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snooty Fox Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snooty Fox Hotel

Property: Snooty Fox Hotel
Address: Market Place, Tetbury GL8 8DD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tetbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Snooty Fox Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Famous coaching inn at the heart of Tetbury’ ‘The Snooty’ is all that a quintessential English inn should be. Its 12 bedrooms are intimate and stylish, while its ground floor boasts a very popular bar and restaurant. British food and an excellent wine list complete the picture. Feel free to make a fuss of Fred, the resident Great Dane as you pass by. Tetbury with its royal heritage, is ideal for browsing for antiques and exploring the local area. ‘The Snooty’ is located at the heart of this bustling market town and is a popular destination for many locals and day visitors to the area. The bar offers a tempting range of real ales, local ciders and a selection of Ports, Cognacs, Calvados and Armagnac’s all personally selected by the manager. The hotel is renowned locally for the quality and variety of its food offer, from coffee and cakes in the morning, leisurely lunches, traditional afternoon teas to candlelit dinners and wholesome bar snacks. The Grafton Room located towards the rear of the hotel is an ideal venue for private dining, family celebrations and small discreet meetings.Yet one reason why The Snooty Fox is a great favourite with visitors to this most Royal part of Gloucestershire is the intimacy and style of the bedrooms. All different in shape and size they have been dedicatedly refurbished to allow you to be refreshed from a good night’s sleep and enjoy another great day in the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Snooty Fox Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing