We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No drop in standards” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Snooty Fox Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Snooty Fox Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“No drop in standards”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Greeting - relaxed and efficient
Rooms. - clean and tidy
Food. - inspiring and plentiful
Beer. - just as I like it
Champagne - outstanding ( just how she likes it )
Staff. - helpful and accommodating
Stay. - Wonderful and relaxing
Return - Definitely

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BIDDYandTESS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSnootyFox, General Manager at Snooty Fox Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback. It sounds like we delivered exactly what you wanted. My team and I were delighted to read your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon for a short break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    193
    65
    35
    23
See reviews for
60
377
12
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tetbury
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Some staff here need to show some basic manners if they wish to work in the hotel industry. "Please", "Thank you" and "Sorry" are pretty basic but seem to have been missed out from one of the bar mans training (the younger, more fuller shaped one - he's pretty unfriendly).......!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wessex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSnootyFox, General Manager at Snooty Fox Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
As you are a local customer, I wondered if perhaps you might like to give me a call, or come in for a coffee, in order that I might be able to talk directly to you regarding your comments. As always, I’m always available for any feedback from our guests and relish any opportunity to improve our business. I very much look forward to hearing from you.
Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood Essex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

I'm not telling you which room we had because I want it to be free when we go back! It was big and comfortable, and had a powerful spa bath.

Mark, the General Manager, must have noted at booking time that it was our Pearl Anniversary. He sent a bottle of good champagne on ice up to our room.

The food is great and the staff all seem happy. You can't beat that!

Room Tip: Talk to Mark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinRelaxing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSnootyFox, General Manager at Snooty Fox Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
I’d like to thank you for your very kind comments. I’m absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and it truly is my absolute pleasure to look after you. I very much look forward to seeing you here again.
Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
287 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We haven't stayed at this hotel but have called in for a drink on a couple of occasions. It is an interesting old building and is very cosy inside. It is right in the centre of Tetbury township, directly opposite the old market place. Not sure if it would be noisy staying there are it is on the intersection of four roads, but it is worth a visit for a drink or a meal. You would need to check reviews from people who have slept there.

Helpful?
Thank WelshMaiden_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSnootyFox, General Manager at Snooty Fox Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for leaving feedback regarding the Snooty Fox. I’m delighted that you found us to be cozy and worth a return visit. With regards to staying here, I do understand the concern of the road, but aside from the rush hour there’s not a time when traffic noise intrudes to a point of nuisance. All rooms have secondary glazing, which does exclude all exterior noise in the cooler months. You’re quite right about anybody researching via tripadvisor to look at other guest comments. Aside from the clock annoying someone once, I don’t recall many comments regarding traffic.

I do hope that we’ll see you again, and hopefully for an overnight stay. I’d be delighted to take the booking and ensure your stay was just as relaxing as your visits to our bar.

Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Snooty is a perfect country inn in a charming Cotswold town, and nicely central. The hotel staff is more than helpful and friendly. The rooms are charming, and the superior doubles have beds that rival the BIg Bed of Ware. Breakfasts are hearty. A great place to stay if you are visiting this area

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshua G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSnootyFox, General Manager at Snooty Fox Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. My staff and I are always delighted when guests acknowledge that they’re had a great stay. It really does give us an awful lot of pleasure to know that we’ve achieved our goals in making it such a lovely experience for you. I do very much look forward to seeing you again.
Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed here last week on a family recomendation and throughly enjoyed it. The location, the food the service, everything was of a high standard. Excellent location for exploring the Cotswolds. Staff were pleasant and the place was extreamly clean. My lack of one more star is only down to the fact that we booked a superior room which was large tastefully decorated and very clean. My only gripe was that although quite clearly these rooms are advertised with a whirlpool bath it doesn't mention that there isn't a shower which to be honest I always prefer in hotels. There was a mixer tap over the bath but no shower screen or hook to establish the fundimentals of a shower, and the bath for a 6ft plus person would mean you sitting upright with the bath water running round you (don't expect jacuzzi bubbles its a whirlpool bath not a jacuzzi). however this was overcome by the other half of the team assisting and so order was partially restored. Also to note that like so many places around the cotswolds there is no dedicated parking for the hotel, so its find a space just down the road in the sqaure where you can park for aslong as you like. I have also been informed you can park down side streets near the hotel without too much bother but this is untested. Other than the above I would still highly recommend a short break here and the food I must mention again as this was as good as any you would find in 4-5 star hotels.

Room Tip: Room 7 is large with a lower lounge floor and three step steps up to bathroom and bed area. Overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy1976WestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSnootyFox, General Manager at Snooty Fox Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding your stay. Whilst the vast majority of our rooms have stand up showers and screens, there are two that have feature baths, which both have occasional shower heads for hair rinsing. As no two rooms are the same, we are always delighted to find exactly the right room for you when you book direct with us. You’re quite correct in mentioning that we don’t have a car park, but there is a lot of space on road and in the pay and display car parks. The best option is always to pull up in front of the hotel to load and unload and then we’ll give instruction on how to get to all the spaces. Having run the Snooty Fox for ten years, I have failed to find a free space only once. I’m also unaware of any car crime in the locality, in my tenure here. I do very much look forward to seeing back here at the ‘Snooty Fox’
Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

spent 2 nights at the snooty over the period of a week on our way down and back from Cornwall and can honestly say it just gets better . George is adorable , Mark & Richard are stars and all the staff are wonderful. Weller our Patterdale terrier just loves it there and even got his own sausage for breakfast . As always we will be back !!!!! Big thank you for keeping the surprise from my parents

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tamtod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSnootyFox, General Manager at Snooty Fox Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you so much for the comments. You know that we absolutely love it when you and the family are here. It’s always a delight looking after you, and of course, seeing Weller too. We’ll see you all soon, and thank you once again for leaving feedback.
Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tetbury
2.4 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tetbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Priory Inn
The Priory Inn
#4 of 6 in Tetbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Ormond at Tetbury
The Ormond at Tetbury
#5 of 6 in Tetbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
25.0 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
3.4 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snooty Fox Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snooty Fox Hotel

Property: Snooty Fox Hotel
Address: Market Place, Tetbury GL8 8DD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tetbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Snooty Fox Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Famous coaching inn at the heart of Tetbury’ ‘The Snooty’ is all that a quintessential English inn should be. Its 12 bedrooms are intimate and stylish, while its ground floor boasts a very popular bar and restaurant. British food and an excellent wine list complete the picture. Feel free to make a fuss of Fred, the resident Great Dane as you pass by. Tetbury with its royal heritage, is ideal for browsing for antiques and exploring the local area. ‘The Snooty’ is located at the heart of this bustling market town and is a popular destination for many locals and day visitors to the area. The bar offers a tempting range of real ales, local ciders and a selection of Ports, Cognacs, Calvados and Armagnac’s all personally selected by the manager. The hotel is renowned locally for the quality and variety of its food offer, from coffee and cakes in the morning, leisurely lunches, traditional afternoon teas to candlelit dinners and wholesome bar snacks. The Grafton Room located towards the rear of the hotel is an ideal venue for private dining, family celebrations and small discreet meetings.Yet one reason why The Snooty Fox is a great favourite with visitors to this most Royal part of Gloucestershire is the intimacy and style of the bedrooms. All different in shape and size they have been dedicatedly refurbished to allow you to be refreshed from a good night’s sleep and enjoy another great day in the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Snooty Fox Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing