We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant staff, but dark rooms”
Review of Snooty Fox Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Snooty Fox Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Arrived on a bitterly cold day in February and the bar area with a blazing log fire was very welcoming. NO lifts to the rooms and no offer of help with the baggage. We were taken to a room at the top of the hotel, up 2 flights of stairs into a four poster bedded room, which apparently was an up grade. Low emission lighting made the room very gloomy, a problem in many hotels nowadaysand a loo which did not flush properly. The bathroom was the most well lit of any area infact. As my husband has mobility problems, the 2 flights of stairs were always going to be a problem, so I asked for a room change and happily something was sorted out. The second room (no. 8) was well appointed, but had little natural light with the windows painted shut ,(Is this legal?) and double curtained. I had to sit on the floor in the vestibule to put make up on in a natural light. An Ikea, small iroing board was provided, but nowhere to iron, except kneeling on the floor. The flex lead would not reach to either the bed or the console table. The restaurant menu was limited, but you can have the more extensive bar menu served in a room next to the main dining room. The waiting staff were very friendly and efficient. The hotel is a little jaded and can do with some up grading. Not as up-market as I expected. Watch out for the parking as if you do not have a disabled badge, it seems you have to keep nipping out to move the car or feed the payment machine in the day. The free car park is a good walk away. Not a terrible experience, but we shall not return.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the side street seem to have bigger windows, which open.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swanofavon23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSnootyFox, General Manager at Snooty Fox Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Many thanks for leaving feedback on tripadvisor. I’m sorry that you didn’t enjoy the free upgrade to a four poster that we gave you. Had we known about any mobility issues, we certainly wouldn’t have placed you in that four poster, which is a big room at the top of the hotel. Room 8 is the only room that isn’t on the outside of the building, so direct sunlight doesn’t occur there, but natural light obviously does. It is however, a very popular room and is specifically requested on many occasions. With regards to the irons and ironing boards, We have now removed the small ironing boards from rooms and have larger ones available upon request.
With regards to parking, the vast majority of staff drive to work daily, so whilst we don’t have parking of our own, it is readily available and any guest arriving is given the little route we do to find spaces. Only once in ten years have I struggled to find a space. I’m delighted that you found the staff helpful, and as they all get tripadvisor updates, will be delighted with that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (665)
There are newer reviews for Snooty Fox Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

340 - 346 of 665 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

We had a short two day stay in this little hotel and I would certainly recommend it to anyone. We stayed in one of their basic rooms where the decor was a little dated and shabby, but very clean and comfortable. The facilities in the room were excellent with a good selection of teas and coffees, along with a kettle, teapot and coffeepot. I rarely find a hotel where the dressing table has a decent mirror and sockets close enough for your hair-dryer, but this was perfect. The bathroom was a little cold (but we were there on the coldest day in March) and although the windows were of frosted glass, we did feel that some blinds were needed as we over-looked the side road and felt a little uncomfortable.

The restaurant was excellent with friendly and efficient service for both dinner and breakfast. The food was fabulous and the chef certainly knows what he is doing and uses local good quality produce.

The staff were so friendly and helpful and we could not fault the service. Even George gave us a good welcome!

Room Tip: For a special occasion, perhaps choose a superior room.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

All relaxed, dog friendly and old fashioned ! Good value, no hassles! Tetbury itself is also a great little village with some nice places to walk eat and enjoy. Will return for a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AGBARTRAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed in the Snooty Fox for two nights with my wife whilst having a short break in the Cotswolds. We had a superior room which was very large and traditionally furnished. The bed was enormous! All very clean and tidy throughout the hotel and with a welcoming atmosphere. We ate in the dining room on the first evening as the bar was very busy. Good menu and fair prices. The food was excellent and the service friendly and efficient.
Breakfast was served in the dining room and there was a very varied choice of cooked breakfasts available together with fruit, cereals and continental items too.
We have stayed in this hotel before and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Norie003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

There was a set menu of two courses for £14:45 then there were specials. I chose a special of Welsh Black Beef Stew with cheese scones. It was more like soup than stew, the beef, such as it was (about 6 tiny cubes) was very tough and the cheese scones were 2 small thin biscuits. I sent it back! this was dealt with efficiently and with no fuss but with no apology. I then ordered fish and chips. When it came the fish batter was really greasy and not too crisp and the fish was full of bones. The chips were not very crisp. My partner had a starter of scallops and a main of home cured ham with chips and poached egg which she said was very good. I ordered Eves Pudding and the menu said with lashings of custard. the pudding was good but the custard came in the tiniest jug ever. So all in all not a good experience for me. I wouldn't go back and wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank yvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSnootyFox, General Manager at Snooty Fox Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your visit to us.

I’m very sorry that you didn’t enjoy the very popular weekend special, the Lobscow. It is in fact a Welsh Stew / broth and received many compliments for the few days we sold it. As soon as you made us aware that you weren’t enjoying your dish, Megan apologised and an alternative offered, with the dish being immediately swapped for your choice of fish and chips. This being a meal that we sell several hundred of each month and our most successful bar offer, I was certainly most surprised to read that it was ‘all bone, greasy and not crisp’. I am glad that your partner enjoyed his Ham, Fried Sherston Free range Eggs and Chips but I must point out that the Ham isn’t home cured, and we don’t state that it is anywhere.

Whilst the special board didn’t say ‘lashings of custard’, we do of course provide more if it’s required. Upon Paying the bill, Gracie checked that everything was alright for you and she was assured that it was, so understandably, I was surprised to read your comments on here. As always, any comments or feedback on the day always

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Loved this place, stayed on a saturday night with my husband and schnauzer dog, I booked it on the internet as the reviews were so good and I wanted to take my husband away for his birthday, we weren't disappointed. Stayed in a superier room which was large with a big sleigh bed. I would describe the pub\hotel as gastro bit shabby chic which all adds to the character. It has a great bar which is very busy and had a great atmosphere, with comfy leather chairs and open log fire, it seems to be fashionable to bring along your pooch!! lots of locals aswell as visitors, which is always a good sign. location of hotel ....fantastic, right in town square.

We ate in the restaurant at night leaving our dog in the room, after wearing him out all day. The restaurant was lovely, great food, plenty of choice and in cosy surroundings. The staff at the hotel are lovely really friendly and helpful, breakfast again was great, I had haddock with poached eggs and hollandaise sauce, yummy! I really have only good things to say. Oh also we went prepared with laptop and dvd's, but our room had a DVD player and there is a dvd library on the landing for people to use, really nice touch.

Must mention George the resident Great Dane, who wanders around the bar and reception area with a laid back look on his face, he wandered up to our minature Schnauzer who wanted to say hello and he managed to lower his head for a sniff but casually moved on by.

Tetbury was a great suprise, its full of lovely antique and quirky shops, the people there are so friendly, its also got the lovely Highgrove store, where we bought some lovely jams and pickles, the town is very upmarket, we loved it...........

will definately return and would recommend the snooty fox to anybody who wants to escape from the hustle bustle of daily life and sit in front of a log fire with the paper and a glass of wine bliss.......we will be back, schnauzer as well!!!!

Room Tip: we had room 10 on front of hotel superior large room, with spa bath
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

What a wonderful stay, right from the minute we walked in. Friendly fantastic fabulous staff, the evening meal was complemented by the most gorgeous wine!
We stayed in room 11, lovely character, which with two windows, provided great light on a corner room, with views of Tetbury high street. It was clean, warm, quiet ,the most comfortable bed, with a cafetiere too!! Best night's sleep in ages!!
The jacuzzi bath has a shower mixer, great for a spa relaxing evening. If you want a shower, chose a different room. :)
One of the best hotel stays, we've had in a long time! Great staff, great service!!
Well done Snooty!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tetbury
2.4 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Ormond at Tetbury
The Ormond at Tetbury
#6 of 6 in Tetbury
512 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tetbury
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Priory Inn
The Priory Inn
#4 of 6 in Tetbury
575 reviews
3.3 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
734 reviews
3.7 mi away
Best Western Mayfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snooty Fox Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snooty Fox Hotel

Address: Market Place, Tetbury GL8 8DD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tetbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Price Range: $141 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Snooty Fox Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Famous coaching inn at the heart of Tetbury’ ‘The Snooty’ is all that a quintessential English inn should be. Its 12 bedrooms are intimate and stylish, while its ground floor boasts a very popular bar and restaurant. British food and an excellent wine list complete the picture. Feel free to make a fuss of Fred, the resident Great Dane as you pass by. Tetbury with its royal heritage, is ideal for browsing for antiques and exploring the local area. ‘The Snooty’ is located at the heart of this bustling market town and is a popular destination for many locals and day visitors to the area. The bar offers a tempting range of real ales, local ciders and a selection of Ports, Cognacs, Calvados and Armagnac’s all personally selected by the manager. The hotel is renowned locally for the quality and variety of its food offer, from coffee and cakes in the morning, leisurely lunches, traditional afternoon teas to candlelit dinners and wholesome bar snacks. The Grafton Room located towards the rear of the hotel is an ideal venue for private dining, family celebrations and small discreet meetings.Yet one reason why The Snooty Fox is a great favourite with visitors to this most Royal part of Gloucestershire is the intimacy and style of the bedrooms. All different in shape and size they have been dedicatedly refurbished to allow you to be refreshed from a good night’s sleep and enjoy another great day in the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Snooty Fox Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing